We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MedPlaya Hotel Bali to your Saves list
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Telefonica 7, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel and we will not be in a hurry back. The room for two adults and 1 4year old child was tiny there was hardly any room for the buggy. The room was beside the lift so we were kept awake at night with the noise. The hotel could do with a fresh coat of paint. The room was clean and we had a good view pillows were very hard. Restaurant staff were excellent and very friendly. The food was adequate not very hot. The children's food choice was sad. Entertainers were very good. This hotel is up a very steep hill but then most of benalmadena is.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view but not near the elevators as they make noise all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    603
    351
    112
    89
See reviews for
564
535
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned from my 3rd visit to this hotel but have to admit that I may not be in any hurry back. I found most aspects of my stay here quite good, the food was good with plenty of choice and I always found enough to eat at meal times. The room was an adequate size for 2 people and was cleaned every day with the towels changed also. The best thing about this hotel is the staff, every member of staff I encountered on my visit was polite and helpful and very hardworking, they really are a credit to this hotel. The Entertainment Team, which comprised of 8 girls and boys, were very hard working and put on the most fantastic shows each night and during the day they kept us entertained with their various games and activities. My only complaint would be the disgusting state of the area outside the "Sunny View Café", This area was "home" to the resident pigeons and no matter when you went into it to have a drink or just to get some shade from the sun, you would be pestered with these stinking creatures. Needless to say the whole area was covered in pigeon droppings which was very off putting anytime we went in and it was difficult to find a clean table to have your drink on. This was not a problem on my first 2 visits to this hotel but on this occasion I have to admit it has put me off going back.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor as lifts are difficult to get at busy times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear rugby 276,

Thank you for your recent review of the Medplaya Hotel Bali. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your family stay with us and we would like to thank you for your kind words and for the time spent in writting your comments in TripAdvisor. We are especially gratified to learn that you will choose us again for your future stays in Benalmádena Costa.

Thank you for trusting us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Hotel Bali.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

we stayed at hotel 10 nights and everything was fantastic food was lovely we was all inclusive and did not need to eat any where else as food was lovely, rooms was cleaned and fresh towls everyday, the bar staff was really nice and friendly the entainers where great my 2 children loved the evening shows all staff worked really hard, we was a few min walk from beach what was lovely and plenty of local shops, we r booking again next year to go inclusive as it was a great value for money and have recommened hotle for a few friends we had a great holiday at the bali.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Bali, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience at the Medplaya Hotel Bali. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your All Inclusive holiday and that you found the hotel to your liking.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 10 night holiday as a group of 4 adults and 2 kids , had a wonderful holiday and we couldn't really fault anything . Animation team were excellent really friendly to both adults and kids and the night shows were excellent . All staff were helpful and friendly and the resort itself was good , would certainly go again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Have just returned from 10 days All Inclusive, The food was excellent can't fault any of it plenty to choice from all was fresh if you didn't like anything you must be very fussy. The rooms were cleaned every day clean towels etc.
The entertainment team worked very hard and they were very good with the children, we were 4 adults & two children aged 6 years & 3 years. They both loved the evening disco & the show after.
The life guard around the swimming pool was very vigilant and good never took his eyes of the pool. It was first time we went all inclusive and really enjoyed the holiday can't wait to go back next year .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights, in a double standard room, which was very nice. The room was neat and tidy upon arrival, and was made so everyday by the cleaners. Staff at the hotel were very helpful and welcoming whenever they were approached. The hotel itself is in a great location, 2 minutes down to the beach or 5 minutes up the road into Arroyo de la miel, ideal for people wanting to do what they enjoy. The thing that let it down was the food, it wasn't very appetising, tasted bad and I got the impression any leftovers were saved for the following day. Instead of eating at the hotel I went out to some brilliant Spanish restaurants/bars to have better quality food than the 'mush' at the hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We agree with all the positive comments made about this hotel but we do question security. On our last day we were pickpocketed in the lift by a gang of four, 3 men and a woman. They had previously been seen by other guests, one of whom had had his wallet taken. It would be good to see a security presence in the hotel in order to deter thieves. Such a good hotel and holiday but with a very disappointing end.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Bali

Address: Avda Telefonica 7, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Bali 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hotel And Studios
Hotel Bali Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Benalmadena
Bali Hotel Costa Del Sol
MedPlaya Hotel Bali Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.