We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Triton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Best Triton to your Saves list
Best Triton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Antonio Machado 29, 28630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel and would never consider going back. The only good thing about the hotel is the food which is great. The bad things are many. Mainly when arriving at 12.20 (lunchtime) we were told our room would not be ready until 2.00pm and the reception person suggested we go for lunch and return at 2.00pm. Returned at 2.15pm to be told room still not ready, perhaps we would like to sit in reception for a few minutes. All the time we were waiting other guests were arriving and being sent up to their rooms. By 2.45pm (having been on the go since 3.45am) my husband got cross with the reception peopled who were rude and unhelpful. He was given a voucher for a drink each and told to go to the bar for a little while. This was not acceptable and when at 3.00pm we got really annoyed the reception person changed the room allocated for us to another room and we were given a key. When we went for our evening meal we asked if we could charge drinks etc and pay at the end of the week. Told no unless you were with SAGA. We had gone to the trouble to obtain a BEST card which you could use for a discount but this had been a waste of time. The bar staff were miserable and would not even pass time of day with you .. I wanted to ask a question about the pickup times as the JET2 folder was missing from reception. The person on reception said he could not help and if the folder was not there we would have to contact JET2. Whilst the room was kept basically clean, we noticed on our second day a large dead insect near the wardrobe and that insect was still there on the day we checked out

Room Tip: Just hope you do not have to ask reception any thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Best Triton, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

First of all, thank you very much for your review.
We have been reading carefully your comments and I would like to apologize for what happened at your arrival. Normally we do not give rooms later than 2.00 pm.
What happened to you it is not usual at all.
Concerning about your comment about SAGA, it should be a misunderstanding, all our guests can sign for the drinks in bars and restaurant as long as they give their credit card details at recepcion just as a guarantee.
We appreciate your comments because they help us to improve our service.

Yours faithfully.



Víctor Alonso
Director
Hotel Best Triton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    362
    171
    70
    36
See reviews for
263
407
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
prestwick
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on a half board basis for 7 nights from 5th June, a party of 7. Within our group were a number of elderly persons with more limited mobility.
We were put into the annex building which is linked to the main building by a corridor roughly 100 mtrs long with three sets of stairs numbering about 36 steps, this proved to be a problem for some of our party.
Good points:
1. Location, on promenade near to marina, shops and bars.
2. Rooms, large clean with fridge excellent view from sea facing room.
3. Breakfast, good choice hot and cold plenty available.

Bad points:
1 dinner, poor choices more suited to Spanish clientele a lot of seafood.
2. Staff , need to learn to smile, sometimes surely and tend to ignore you when there are Spanish customers to talk to
3. Annex building for elderly guests, just not suitable due to stairs.

Two of our group could not manage the corridor and stairs and in fairness to the hotel they were moved to a more suitable location in main building, but due to their ages which the hotel had on booking should never had been there in first place.
Would we go back? Probably not 4 star rating not met, better hotels in same area..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Best Triton, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review. Just a few words to say that we always try to allocate guests with limited mobility in the main building, we know that for this kind of customers stairs are a huge problem. It is very important for us to know these circumstances in advance (sending an email to our booking dept. or though your travel agency with a note at the booking for example), so we can give them a room in the main building.
As you could check we are an international hotel and we try to cater for everybody. We are working very hard to improve our service.

Yours Faithfully.


Víctor Alonso
Director
Hotel Best Triton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel very nice, there are a "few" steps to go up and down,but as i am fit and healthy ,they were no problem.Also steps from the hotel to the prom. . Rooms good and clean. Restaurant was good and clean, A very good choice of fresh meat and fish on the show cooking. People were complaining about the food, but I do not know why, there was plenty of choice, hot and cold, and loads of it. Bar and restaurant staff , which were the same people,were not friendly, and service at the bar was extremely slow. We were all inclusive, and the choice of free drinks was not the best that i have had, only local stuff, no brands. The entertainment was dire, no background music on in the bar, and either stupid quizzes ,or bingo, one night was a comedian all in spanish, and another a very poor magician, the final night was "flamenco", 2 girls and a boy who jumped about like a bull, none of which started until 10pm for 30 mins.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony facing the sea, mine faced the car park, next to the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just back from five days. The best location in Benalmadena. Beach in front of you. Marina five mins walk. Lot of bars, shops and restaurants outside your door. We booked a frontal seaview room with Beatriz. Paid a premium and worth every penny. Huge balcony, sun until lunchtime, panoramic sea view. Room was spotless and had been upgraded. ITV and BBC 1 on the flatscreen TV. Free use of fridge. Two large queen sized beds. Aircon worked fine. Breakfast typical buffet but seemed to cater for every taste. We ate out after that because there are so many restaurants nearby.Had stopped staying here a few years ago because they staff were so obnoxious and totally unhelpful.They seemed to genuinely resent their guests. This time we found a big change in the staff. Reception were very polite and helpful and Beatriz was very helpful with our booking and we got exactly what we asked for. This is the first time this has ever happened for us and we've stayed here five times! Overall we had a fabulous holiday and will be rebooking for September.

Room Tip: Frontal Sea view. You pay a supplement but it's worth it. Huge balcony with sun beds. Sun until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a nice hotel on the sea front, with lovely pools, glass lifts and a nice little promenade leading to a lovely harbour. The hotel is clean in all public areas as are the rooms, which are a decent size. Staff are helpful and polite. There is also a nice beach in front of the hotel.
Surrounding area has some nice bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Staff were very unhelpful. The Air conditioning did not work, and they did not fix it, nor let me move room. I ventured to the spa to get my hair done, and they did not know how to dry hair. Maybe 4 star in the 1960s, 2 star now. Only thing positive was the weather.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just returned from an 8 night stay at the Triton.
We have stayed in Benalmadena before but not at this hotel. We found it spotlessly clean and the room very comfortable.
We went half board, and the choice of food at the buffet both at breakfast and in the evening was extensive, interesting and plentiful.
The guests were mostly of a more mature age, which was quite novel for us, it obviousl;y attracts the more mature holdaymaker.
One reason for choosing the hotel was my mobility problems, so I found the lack of hills very helpful ,near the puerto for lovely ice creams and local bars/restaurants.
The entertainment was not always to our taste but there are plenty of local bars to choose from for a change.

One small criticism- it would have been great to have had tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

Our other 'complaint' although this is not the hotel's fault, was a number of unruly and badly behaved children, especially small ones, running round the restaurant in the evening, getting under the feet of staff and guests- some of whom were not very steady on their feet. Parents seemed oblivious or just condoned this behaviour.
A suggestion that perhaps families with small children could eat earlier, when the general clientele is of a more mature age?
Listening to small children running around screaming is not my favourite way to spend a mealtime.

The staff on the whole were very pleasant and helpful, although the bar staff seemed a bit unfriendly.
We would visit again, the pool is lovely and plenty of room for sunbathing in the pleasnat garden area.
A most enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool or sea view, on a lower floor,we had a room on first floor which was great, quiet at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.1 mi away
Siroco Hotel
Siroco Hotel
#17 of 47 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
1.1 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#10 of 47 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 stars 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Benalmadena Hotel
Best Benalmadena Hotel
#19 of 47 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 stars 631 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#22 of 47 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 stars 1,797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Triton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Triton

Address: Avda Antonio Machado 29, 28630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#11 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Triton 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the well known "Costa del Sol", at the tourist centre of Benalmádena and facing the sea. It's just a few metres away from the harbour. Comfortable rooms with terrace, fully fitted bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, security door lock, telephone, fridge, heating, air conditioning and optional safe-deposit box. Buffet restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Best Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benalmadena Triton Hotel
Triton Benalmadena
Triton Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Triton Spain
Hotel Triton Benalmadena
Benalmadena Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton Costa Del Sol
Best Triton Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Triton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.