We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed view of triton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Triton

Save Saved
You added Best Triton to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Triton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Antonio Machado 29, 28630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
prestwick
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Mixed view of triton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel on a half board basis for 7 nights from 5th June, a party of 7. Within our group were a number of elderly persons with more limited mobility.
We were put into the annex building which is linked to the main building by a corridor roughly 100 mtrs long with three sets of stairs numbering about 36 steps, this proved to be a problem for some of our party.
Good points:
1. Location, on promenade near to marina, shops and bars.
2. Rooms, large clean with fridge excellent view from sea facing room.
3. Breakfast, good choice hot and cold plenty available.

Bad points:
1 dinner, poor choices more suited to Spanish clientele a lot of seafood.
2. Staff , need to learn to smile, sometimes surely and tend to ignore you when there are Spanish customers to talk to
3. Annex building for elderly guests, just not suitable due to stairs.

Two of our group could not manage the corridor and stairs and in fairness to the hotel they were moved to a more suitable location in main building, but due to their ages which the hotel had on booking should never had been there in first place.
Would we go back? Probably not 4 star rating not met, better hotels in same area..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Best Triton, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review. Just a few words to say that we always try to allocate guests with limited mobility in the main building, we know that for this kind of customers stairs are a huge problem. It is very important for us to know these circumstances in advance (sending an email to our booking dept. or though your travel agency with a note at the booking for example), so we can give them a room in the main building.
As you could check we are an international hotel and we try to cater for everybody. We are working very hard to improve our service.

Yours Faithfully.


Víctor Alonso
Director
Hotel Best Triton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    259
    132
    64
    27
See reviews for
171
298
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DL13 5RQ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel very nice, there are a "few" steps to go up and down,but as i am fit and healthy ,they were no problem.Also steps from the hotel to the prom. . Rooms good and clean. Restaurant was good and clean, A very good choice of fresh meat and fish on the show cooking. People were complaining about the food, but I do not know why, there was plenty of choice, hot and cold, and loads of it. Bar and restaurant staff , which were the same people,were not friendly, and service at the bar was extremely slow. We were all inclusive, and the choice of free drinks was not the best that i have had, only local stuff, no brands. The entertainment was dire, no background music on in the bar, and either stupid quizzes ,or bingo, one night was a comedian all in spanish, and another a very poor magician, the final night was "flamenco", 2 girls and a boy who jumped about like a bull, none of which started until 10pm for 30 mins.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony facing the sea, mine faced the car park, next to the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just back from five days. The best location in Benalmadena. Beach in front of you. Marina five mins walk. Lot of bars, shops and restaurants outside your door. We booked a frontal seaview room with Beatriz. Paid a premium and worth every penny. Huge balcony, sun until lunchtime, panoramic sea view. Room was spotless and had been upgraded. ITV and BBC 1 on the flatscreen TV. Free use of fridge. Two large queen sized beds. Aircon worked fine. Breakfast typical buffet but seemed to cater for every taste. We ate out after that because there are so many restaurants nearby.Had stopped staying here a few years ago because they staff were so obnoxious and totally unhelpful.They seemed to genuinely resent their guests. This time we found a big change in the staff. Reception were very polite and helpful and Beatriz was very helpful with our booking and we got exactly what we asked for. This is the first time this has ever happened for us and we've stayed here five times! Overall we had a fabulous holiday and will be rebooking for September.

Room Tip: Frontal Sea view. You pay a supplement but it's worth it. Huge balcony with sun beds. Sun until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a nice hotel on the sea front, with lovely pools, glass lifts and a nice little promenade leading to a lovely harbour. The hotel is clean in all public areas as are the rooms, which are a decent size. Staff are helpful and polite. There is also a nice beach in front of the hotel.
Surrounding area has some nice bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Staff were very unhelpful. The Air conditioning did not work, and they did not fix it, nor let me move room. I ventured to the spa to get my hair done, and they did not know how to dry hair. Maybe 4 star in the 1960s, 2 star now. Only thing positive was the weather.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just returned from an 8 night stay at the Triton.
We have stayed in Benalmadena before but not at this hotel. We found it spotlessly clean and the room very comfortable.
We went half board, and the choice of food at the buffet both at breakfast and in the evening was extensive, interesting and plentiful.
The guests were mostly of a more mature age, which was quite novel for us, it obviousl;y attracts the more mature holdaymaker.
One reason for choosing the hotel was my mobility problems, so I found the lack of hills very helpful ,near the puerto for lovely ice creams and local bars/restaurants.
The entertainment was not always to our taste but there are plenty of local bars to choose from for a change.

One small criticism- it would have been great to have had tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

Our other 'complaint' although this is not the hotel's fault, was a number of unruly and badly behaved children, especially small ones, running round the restaurant in the evening, getting under the feet of staff and guests- some of whom were not very steady on their feet. Parents seemed oblivious or just condoned this behaviour.
A suggestion that perhaps families with small children could eat earlier, when the general clientele is of a more mature age?
Listening to small children running around screaming is not my favourite way to spend a mealtime.

The staff on the whole were very pleasant and helpful, although the bar staff seemed a bit unfriendly.
We would visit again, the pool is lovely and plenty of room for sunbathing in the pleasnat garden area.
A most enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool or sea view, on a lower floor,we had a room on first floor which was great, quiet at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egypt
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed for 1 week in May on a family holiday here. The hotel is now part of the Best Group and was built in 1961; some of the public areas do not appear to have been given a facelift since then as there appear to be many original features. It was however kept spotlessly clean.
We were surprised to find one of the rooms for our party not ready upon our arrival and had to wait an hour for its availability. My wife and i had asked for a top floor room with sea/pools view ( thankyou trip advisors) and this was in our opinion the best outlook with panoramic views of the sea and coastline. The other side of the hotel overlooks a courtyard with a range of small bars and has side views to the sea and nearby harbour area – still quite nice. The room was well equipped with tv, fridge and 2 king size beds which were the most comfortable we have ever experienced on our travels. Only 2 criticisms of the room – firstly there is no air con in the hotel until high season which meant that the room was quite hot with only the air con fan to give any respite, secondly at the rear of the hotel is the main dual carriageway through the resort which is busy 24/7 and we found the noise level quite high overnight mainly due to a loose fitting patio door frame which let the traffic noise in,although we got accustomed to this after a couple of days.
The hotel is well situated with the promenade and beach directly outside its grounds accessed via a security gate activated by swipe card albeit this malfunctioned for a couple of days which made getting back in a little tricky! The harbour area is a short stroll away and there are plenty of bars and shops nearby. The grounds of the hotel are excellent with plenty of sun beds. The beach is also very nice albeit there is a charge for sun beds there.
One thing that we found to be quite annoying was that when on the beach or outside the hotel in the resort at night there are scores of salespersons who come around trying to sell cheap, tacky bracelets, hats, watches etc. Whilst some of them have the patter and can very funny they do get a bit monotonous after you have had to say no thank you for the umpteenth time.
The Saga Club was in residence at the hotel when we were there so the age group tended to be the more mature person and the entertainment was tailored to suit but there are plenty of places to eat and drink outside the hotel (try the Mombassa bar in the harbour area if you like it a little lively but not over the top). The hotel bar was nice and the cocktails are very good.
We stayed half board and the restaurant was always busy but the breakfasts were good and dinners likewise albeit a little repetitive towards the end of our stay.
There is a free gym that is well equipped and 2 tennis courts that we did not use but seemed to be used a lot by locals for tennis coaching. There is also a Spa, which costs 7euro p person to use, which has 2 Jacuzzis, steam room, sauna, plunge pool and swimming pools. It did not appear to be well used and when we tried it out we were not over impressed with the facilities as some were not up to standard. Of particular concern was 1 Jacuzzi that appeared to be steaming and when my wife put her foot in the water it was just below boiling point and she burned her toes. It would have been a hospital case if she had plunged in ! We reported it and an attendant put a small yellow sign there so I was not surprised when another young lady did exactly the same thing a little later!
All in all we had a good holiday here. It is a decent hotel but we would rate it below 4 stars, probably 3 plus if there is such a rating. Would we return? – yes, but would be more likely to try another hotel in the area.
PS – for a good day out take a trip to Gibraltar and see the monkeys, cavern and war tunnels. Well worth it.

Room Tip: If you like a good sea view go for one overlooking the pools .We went for the top floor which gave a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Triton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Triton

Address: Avda Antonio Machado 29, 28630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#12 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Triton 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the well known “Costa del Sol”, at the tourist centre of Benalmádena and facing the sea. It’s just a few metres away from the hardbour. Comfortable rooms with terrace, fully fitted bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, security door lock, telephone, fridge, heating, air conditioning and optional safe-deposit box. Buffet restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Triton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benalmadena Triton Hotel
Triton Benalmadena
Triton Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Triton Spain
Hotel Triton Benalmadena
Benalmadena Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton Costa Del Sol
Best Triton Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Triton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;