We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible weather but it didnt spoil our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Sunset Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Sol 5, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 47 hotels in Benalmadena
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“terrible weather but it didnt spoil our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Came here in november after buying this trip off kgb deals. Got the dates we wanted and a lovely room with everything you could want. Hotel was huge and supermarket a tad expensive but nice and clean and very helpful staff. The restaraunt was not a place id go back to as i dont want an artist singing when im eating or people dancing aound me, but again, the food was lovely, the place was spotless and i wouldnt hesitate to eat here again, just with back ground music next time. The weather was horrendous from the day we got here! But the storms at sea were amazing to watch from the balcony! If i had to be anywhere when the weather was this bad, this place was perfect. We dodged the storms to a little cafe near by and a supermarket and managed to get a seat in the bar evey night to catch the football and the happy hour.Beautiful views and a relaxing place for a couple or a family. Will definitely be coming back. My thanks to the reception staff for the speedy responses via email and lovely welcome.

Room Tip: side of the building overlooking the beach was a lovely view to the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor and especially for your kind comments about our hotel.

It’s a real pity that you experienced some lousy weather during your stay but I am glad that you were able to make the most of the situation by enjoying some of our facilities.

I have also made a note of your comments about the music in the restaurant. With such a large client base, it’s very difficult to put on entertainment that appeals to everyone but I assure you that we listen to all comments and suggestions and keep them in mind when planning future programmes.

I hope you’ll come back and visit us again soon, hopefully when the weather is a little more stable and you can enjoy some of the wonderful sunshine our Coast is famous for.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    678
    501
    184
    45
    43
See reviews for
634
447
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castlederg, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the sunset beach for 5 nights in April and found it to live up to the good reviews we had read.We arrived on Sunday morning and departed on Friday morning and everything went well and we found the hotel staff very friendly,and helpful.The outdoor pool area was lovely with loads of sun loungers.The hotel had a supermarket which was very convenient,and well priced.The apartment was very comfortable with an excellent well stocked kitchen.The hotel bar was inviting with very friendly and efficient staff and with the bonus of a very welcome happy hour.We ate in the hotel restaurant and enjoyed our food even if the potions could have been a little more generous,the meal was accompanied by a cabaret singer which created a good atmosphere and was very enjoyable as was all the hotel entertainment.overall a very good holiday and would definately return

Room Tip: choose a balcony room over looking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just back from a week here and would recommend it. Lovely hotel and everything kept nice and clean,, pool area hosed down every morning, a lifeguard on duty at the four pools, so very safe for children. The evening entertainment was quite varied and mostly very good, however I would strongly suggest asking for another room if you are given the lower end of floor 5. We were in 505 and the noise from the moonlight bar and disco was very loud till midnight, so children not able to get to sleep till after then. The hotel has everything you need on a holiday, is in a good position with bus stops outside, and lots of eateries close by. There is a lovely park just up the road from the windmill roundabout with lots of wildlife, the dolphin experience is well worth a visit, right next to the park, and the marina is just lovely, You can book all sorts of excursions at the hotel desk and the ladies have lots of knowledge of the area. Be aware however that the hotel only provides soap and toiletries on the first day which seemed very strange. If you need more then you have to provide it yourself. Don't know what would happen if you run out of toilet rolls, but they didn't get replaced as they were used, but we had enough to last the week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sunset Beach Club and indeed for your very kind comments about our hotel and facilities.

Unfortunately, the rooms located nearer to the Moonlight Bar are a little more susceptible to noise on evenings where there is live music. The bar is soundproofed but its difficult to cut out all noise, especially when guests are accessing the bar through the doors located on the 5th floor (These actually get locked at midnight so that guests have to use the external entrance to the Moonlight; this helps reduce noise).

I’m so pleased you managed to get out and see some of the great attractions Benalmadena has to offer – I must agree that Paloma Park is a lovely location for all the family to enjoy a fun day out!

Finally, although we do not provide toiletries on a daily basis, we do have a handy supermarket onsite where guests can find all items they may need. Toilet rolls are replaced by the housekeepers as and when needed.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope to welcoming you back to Sunset Beach Club again soon.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Arrived from Malaga Airport which is a 20 min taxi journey at about Eur28. Checked in at about 11.30pm and was allocated a room change request as I wanted to change to a pool view high up away from the reception area which is on the 6th floor.

As part of a large group, I saw the rooms allocated in the front (views of the 'mountains' inland - quite pleasant but spoilt by a Burger King and a Shell Garage below - but it is a busy town so expected). The rooms at the side of the hotel had a view of both the mountains, town and the sea, and the back rooms had a view of the pools below and of the sea. This receives the sun on the balcony in the morning, with the front (inland view) of the hotel getting the sun late afternoon. I did not see the 'interior' rooms so have no idea what they are like, but I suggest the extra cost of having a view is worth it. I have hear others complain about noise, but I was on the 12th floor (out of 14) and found it quiet.

All the rooms were clean and comfortable enough - we paid about Eur 76 for the room per night, and I am happy that the quality of the room easily reflects the price we paid - all of us were more than happy with the cleanliness, decor and layout. Rooms were also cleaned daily.

We had breakfast in the dining room on the 1st (ground) floor every day at Eur7. Fruit, cold meats, cereals, breads and a full fry-up are all available with juices and coffee/tea. If you have a big appetitite, then it's worth it - if not, the large onsite supermarket provides everything you need to eat in your own apartment kitchen. If you prefer nice deli type foods, a supermarket up to the left across the road from the hotel (NOT the one opposite!) will more than satisfy you.

Pool area is kept quite clean. In May, only half the loungers were used (and there are plenty!), but I can imagine it being rammed in high season.

Entertainmemnt in the hotel every evening is a great addition - free for guests whether you are eating there or not, and I do recommend that you do eat there as the food is particularly good and well priced.

Plenty of beachfront seafood restaurants are available from 2 to 10 mins stroll from the hotel and if you choose wisely quite good. Taxis are always available and waiting outside the hotel.

There are a lot of grotty looking apartments/hotels along the beach front around this hotel, and I would say that overall look and feel of the resort hotel was far superior to those around it.

Generally a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Rooms to the West either front or back and higher up seem to be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been to Benalmadena 5 times, in the last 4 years, and always stayed here. The hotel is very nice, has a great location - right on the beach. The food in the restaurant is very nice too, the rooms are a good size, have all the ameneties to cook aswell, and cleaned everyday. A couple of negative things: the lifts are quite slow, they only have 3, so they are always very busy, and they need to seriously invest in some carpets throughout the whole hotel, rooms and corridors, its gets extremely noisy with furniture being moved about, and poeple running in the corridors late at night, also, they have put snooker tables in the lobby areas of some of the floors - we had a room right next to this and it encourages people to play at 1-2am and is very noisy. get rid of them! other than that its a very nice hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: get one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

hi, i was on a golf holiday and stayed at this hotel, on arrival our rooms where not ready so we decided to go down to the pool bar for lunch, with in the space of half an hour my bag was snatched from under table,all my money for the 5 days phones and passport where gone,the staff where so un helpful, the police would not come to the hotel either, "holiday ruined rite from the start", so beware

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I was sorry to read of the unfortunate incident in the pool bar when you arrived. I assure you we do our best to provide a safe environment for our guests with 24 hour security guard service and a CCTV system which prove to be effective deterrents for this kind of criminal behaviour.

I have looked into the issue as I was concerned about your comments that our staff were ‘unhelpful’. We spend a lot of time and effort on staff training to ensure that our team are well prepared to deal with this type of situation. Their job is to ensure that the guest is given all the support and help needed to ensure that traumatic experiences - such as having all your belongings stolen – are made as painless as possible. After speaking to the reception team on duty at the time, my understanding is that you were provided help in making a police report by phone and also in cancelling your credit cards and contacting the consulate. Unfortunately there is little more that we can do in these unfortunate circumstances. If you feel that this was not the case, I’d appreciate you contacting me to discuss the matter further.

I am truly sorry that this had to happen to you at the start of your holiday with us and sincerely hope that you were able to recover your losses through your travel insurance.

Yours sincerely,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a nice stay at The Sunset Beach club but we wouldn't return. The hotel is huge and so a little impersonal. However the rooms are lovely. All u need!
Its great for people who want to hang out af the pool and don't mind the music. Great for group holidays.

If you want a relaxing and peaceful holiday Away from it all it maybe isn't the place as its a busy hotel and hard to escape music/people noise even on your balcony due to its layout. You either have a room overlooking a busy road or a busy pool area. Due to location of some of rooms u may hear entertainment at night til about 12.

Can't fault hotel facilities or service. Very clean and felt at home in room.

Hotel food menu pretty simple.

Breakfast large buffet choices.

Beaches nearby ok. Sunsets can hire 9eur for 2. Busy road nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and facilities and for taking that time to post this review.

I’m sorry to hear you wont be returning, although a fully understand the reasons for this. Our hotel is large and might not appeal to everyone, especially in the high season when it is very geared towards families with kids. If you are looking for a quieter and less crowded experience, I’d certainly recommend you try and visit us in the quieter winter months when the hotel is not at full capacity and you are able to enjoy a little more peace and quiet.

Thank you for your comments and a sincerely hope you will reconsider your decision and come back to Sunset Beach Club again in the future.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Club

Address: Avenida del Sol 5, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#8 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Beach Club, Benalmadena, is a popular beachfront 4 *** resort featuring: two spectacular open-air pools, bars, restaurants, shops, a bakery and much more! The perfect setting to enjoy Costa de Sol´s immaculate climate; year round live entertainment; modern and fully equipped apartments with one bedroom, private balcony and individual climate control. Sunset Beach Club, your complete holiday destination on the Costa Del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sunset Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Club Hotel Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Spain
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Club Spain
Sunset Beach Club Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.