We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spring break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Beach Club to your Saves list
Sunset Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Sol 5, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely spring break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We arrived late afternoon. We had requested a sea or mountain view. No sea views were available but we were given the choice of 3 rooms - 2 on lower floors and the one we choice - a mountain view on floor 13. The room was smaller than expected but adequate. The bedroom was small without a window but we slept well. Our son slept on the couch and slept well. The kitchen was tiny but we only used the fridge for drinks as we were bed and breakfast and ate out for lunch and dinner. The breakfast was ok with plenty of choice. The hotel was full but didn't seem overly busy due to its size. The pool area was lovely, very large and clean. The supermarket within the hotel was the largest I have seen in a hotel complex. We walked to the marina every day. There were lots of lovely restaurants here and we enjoyed all our meals. The weather was ideal for a spring break. We went up the cable car which was a lot higher than I expected and there was a bird of prey show at the top and this was very interesting. We also went to the old town which was lovely. As we were only there for 5 nights we used taxis to get around. It cost 28 euros from the airport to the hotel and I think it was 8 from the hotel to the old town and to the cable car.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and for your kind comments about our hotel.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your holiday with us (although you’ll have to stay longer next time) and that you got to see some of Benalmadena. I fully sympathise with you about the Cable Car, I’m not too keen on heights and must admit the trip up the mountain felt a lot longer than the 15 minutes it actually takes!

I hope you’ll come back and visit us again soon,

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    542
    201
    54
    47
See reviews for
693
490
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Kerry, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Location is a long walk from Benalmadena centre and the marina. Too l8ng to walk with young kids. Shame because the std of bars /resturants in the vacinity is only average and there isnt much atmospherecin the locality. That said we had a car for the week which is probably the best option if staying here.

Rooms are small. Described as one bedroom apartments but in reality the bedroom is more of a bed in an alcove with shutters dividing it from the rest of the aoartment. Kitchenette is also small. Double sofa bed is not recommened for sleeping if u value your spine. Best to treat this as a single and sleep on it in as a sofa much better. That said the rooms are well appointed, very clean and in good decorative order. Have programmable air con. Sat tv with bbc itv sky news.

All staff are very friendly and helpful

Oasis terrace resturant serves excellent if pricy lunch food

We stayed b&b breakfast is a buffet consisting of deep fried pig products and tinned/preserved fruits etc. Only ok I guess.

Supermarket onsite is large and well stocked

Pool area with huge jungle gymfor the kids is the real plus. The area is very attractively laid out, pools were spotless. Best pool area I have seen by far, Happy kids = relaxed parents!

Free Wifi is only available on the reception level (6) in the bar. This overlooks the pool area so it was possible to connect by the pool. Ocassionally I was also able to connect from room balcony (floor 6)

Overall we had a great stay - its a pity the hotel is not walking dist from the center - but dont let that put you off

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the Sunset Beach Club In March 2013 using timeshare. It was well located on the public bus route so moving around was easy.We did not use any of the facilites as we used this as our base to tour.
We had a one bed unit facing the pool area. The bedroom is like sleeping in a large box or cupboard with no windows and only space in between the two single beds was a tiny pedestal. The kitchenette was also tiny and can only accomodate one person at a time, but served it purpose. The sleeper couch needs serios replacing! You actually sat on the mechanical parts of the sleeper, the pillows were just too old for use. The unit was serviced every other day only which excluded the kitchen. On holiday you had to wash your own dishes if you chose to eat in!

Certainly would not give it the rating RCI has as its standard is under par.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I’m sorry you were disappointed with the size of your room; I understand that for some guests who come through RCI and are accustomed to larger units in their home resort our apartments might seem a little smaller; however, we do try and ensure that you have all the amenities you would expect from a 4 star hotel.

I have made a note of your comments about the sofa bed and apologise for this. We are actually in the process of replacing the older sofa bed units.

It’s a shame you weren’t able to make use of all the facilities our hotel has to offer; I’m convinced you would have taken away a much better impression of Sunset Beach Club. I just hope you’ll come back and visit us again so that we can get the opportunity to demonstrate why we receive such positive reviews here on Tripadvisor.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have just returned today from a lovely holiday at the Sunset Beach Club,
we stayed on a B & B basis and the food was fab.

We were so lucky with the weather it was hot all week.
the cleaners work so hard and keep the hotel so nice they are a credit to the hotel.
We will be back maybe I will spend a little more and have a sea view!!!

Room Tip: sea view rooms and higher up rooms are best as you will get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Sunset Beach Club is a 4* apartment hotel situated right on the coast at the western end of Benalmadena with friendly staff and good facilities. We stayed for one week at the beginning of April 2013 and found that check in (and out) was quick and efficient and our room was ready even though we arrived at noon. The room itself was spotlessly clean and had all the facilites most people would need for a sunshine holiday, there was a small, separate kitchen area with microwave, hob and oven. Our 8th floor apartment had a single bedroom, this had a thickened floor which meant that there was no noise heard from the bedroom above, a definite plus but with the minus of a step up into the bedroom. There was no risk of tripping over the step in the dark as there was a permanetly on yellow LED strip at the edge of the step but this mean't that anyone sleeping on the convertible double sofa in the living area has to sleep in yellow light.
There was a large restaurant serving reasonably priced food for a 4* hotel, buffet breakfast was 9 euros but you could buy 5 breakfast vouchers for 30 euros saving 33%. We only went to the restaurant once for dinner, this was reasonable quality and the entertainment was good.
There is a large supermarket right opposite the hotel entrance but for most holiday essentials the shop on the club's first floor is nearly as cheap and the selection available is surprisingly good.
The hotel has outdoor pools and a heated indoor pool but we didn't use these, the outdoor pools looked good but were not very busy in the week we stayed as the weather was not very good on a few days. There is free wi-fi in the public areas, reception was patchy but it was adequate for keeping up to date with e-mails and finding reviews of nearby attractions.
Nearby attractions include Palomo Park (Nice but not fully open when we visited) and Selwo Marina within 10 minutes walk, Tivoli World and the Benalmadena cablecar (15 minutes cablecar trip up the mountain, good falconry display, fantastic views) within 20 minutes walk, beaches (Right outside the hotel for miles in each direction, good beachside restaurants nearby) and Benalmadena marina (Beautiful marina, loads of places to eat, great place to visit at night) and Sealife Centre witihn 30 minutes walk, all these can also be reached on the local bus services which stop just outside the hotel.
If you are staying in the area a must see is the beautiful city of Malaga (30 minute trip on the local bus from outside the hotel for under 2 euros), in the city centre the cathedral, Alcazaba and Gibralfaro (Both have free entry on Sundays after 2pm) are all within a few hundred meters of the bus station and after visiting them it is a short stroll to the new port area where there is a wide selection of good quality restaurants. Torremolinos, Fuengirola (Bioparc was great), Marbella (Lovely promenade and marina, good selection of restaurants) and Puerto Banus (Fantastic marina and restaurants, great place to see exotic cars) are all near enough to visit.
Near to the hotel there are plenty of restaurants and cafes, of these I must mention Santini's Italian restaurant (Around 400m east of the hotel) where the food, service and prices were great (The best Penne Arrabiata I have ever had) and Amigos (Around 200m west of the hotel) which serves Indian and Mexican food, we only tried the Indian food but it was lovely and the service was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review of your stay and for your kind comments about our hotel and facilities.

It’s great to see that you managed to get out and see some of the wonderful tourist attractions we have here on the Costa del Sol… you certainly kept busy!

I’ve made a note of your recommendation about Santini’s Italian restaurant…love Penne Arrabiata.

Thanks again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sunset Beach Club again soon.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was lovely and clean, the maid was friendly and her English was pretty good. I went to the panaroma bar and one of the bar staff were arrogant and very rude in his tone, wouldn't drink in the bar again. The hotel has everything you could wish for but unfortunately not an all inclusive establishment and the meals could be quite costly, overall had a smashing holiday, if you like self catering this hotel is ideal it really does have a lot to offer. If you have been contacted within the hotel for a cheap holiday don't expect the room you were originally shown, it's a con you get a basic room and not what you were originally shown so don't get your hopes up.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you want a view and a sunrise like never seen you must need to be accommodated in this hotel.
Necessarily have to opt for the upper floors, attention the reception is on the 6th floor.
Services are not exactly what you expect, but if you and the beach and pool all together, or if you want to make trips, is a good choice.
Pay attention to the kitchen ... the housekeeper will not clean for you, is like it not belongs from the room and shower gel and shampoo you have only one dose per week, regardless of how many people you have in the room.
Do not think about the breakfast, it is very poor and the same every day ... almost nothing you can choose, nothing natural, only preserved ....
As the site is far from any attraction of the resort, and you need taxi (7-8 euros to the Marina).

Room Tip: Sea view, and upper than 10 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Club

Address: Avenida del Sol 5, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#8 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Beach Club, Benalmadena, is a popular beachfront 4 *** resort featuring: two spectacular open-air pools, bars, restaurants, shops, a bakery and much more! The perfect setting to enjoy Costa de Sol´s immaculate climate; year round live entertainment; modern and fully equipped apartments with one bedroom, private balcony and individual climate control. Sunset Beach Club, your complete holiday destination on the Costa Del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Club Hotel Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Spain
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Club Spain
Sunset Beach Club Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.