We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Sunset Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Sol 5, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 47 hotels in Benalmadena
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I've stayed here 12 times and have never been disappointed. It's easy to get to from the airport, and is in a great location. Don't get me wrong it's not a five star fancy place but its got what it got and they make the best of it.

Staff are very helpful speaking full English too, which is always a bonus because English people mostly don't learn any Spanish before visiting. The rooms are spacious and well equipped kitchen. There is a supermarket opposite to stock up on. Their bar is big and good value for money.

Alway good here and will return soon :)

Room Tip: Sea view is the best, it's quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and indeed, for your kind comments about our hotel and facilities.

It’s great to hear that you’ve stayed with us 12 times and I only hope that you’ll continue to choose Sunset Beach Club for your holidays.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    664
    486
    180
    44
    43
See reviews for
614
444
12
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, CT
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at the Sunset Beach Club apartments over the Easter weekend May 29 – April 1 2013. Weather was fairly nice at around 18 – 21. Some rain on the 31st.

We rented a car and found it easy enough but our GPS did not recognize the address so we kind of had to look out for it.

The resort was a lot busier than I expected but not crowded or too busy. I was surprised and pleased with the onsite services and amenities. Wifi was only in designated areas and for this reason alone I have knocked off a star. It was very inconvenient, especially with a small child, to have to leave our room to access e-mail or view a place we wanted to visit. Entertainment was on going all weekend due to it being Easter.

All staff that we encountered were very nice and helpful. Housekeeping did a good job; they do not clean your kitchen or dishes.

The apartment – We had apartment 1015 which was an exterior view apartment that was facing towards the sea. The apartment was a nice size, perfect for a family of three. I think it would still be good for a family of 4 if the children were small enough. With older teens it might seem cramped. The AC worked well. The view was really nice and the terrace an awesome retreat. It had a table with 4 chairs and was a decent size. There was a nice big closet in the room to store luggage, etc. There were even English channels on the TV!

The bedroom had two twin beds which we pushed together and our 4 year old son slept on the sofa bed. There was plenty of bedding. The beds were fairly comfortable. No real issues with the beds. There didn’t seem to be a lot of noise at night. We slept well enough.

The bathroom is tiny but does have a bath tub and shower combo. There was plenty of room to place your items on the counter by the sink. The shower had fine pressure but needed a new shower head desperately. We were only supplied two towels the first day but afterwards the staff realized we were three and left extra towels without being asked.

The kitchen was tiny but functional. The fridge worked well. The apartment had adequate means to cook with and eat with. The coffee pot was a mess of parts that didn’t normally go together but it still made a pot of coffee. We were not supplied with any washing liquid but you are given a kitchen towel.

The onsite grocery was fine and I didn’t think it was extortionate but you can find cheaper if you’re out and about. It was very handy though. The only thing you won’t find in this shop is meat such as chicken, mince, pork, etc. You have plenty of luncheon type meats to choose from.

This place has a spa but no appointments were available for us so cannot comment on that.

There was a kids club and at one point it had a bouncy castle which we just missed.

My 4 year old loved the play area.

It was too cold for us to use the pools. They are not heated to my knowledge.

We did not use the fitness club or indoor pool.

We thought the restaurant was good and decently priced. We ate one dinner and one lunch there. We did not eat breakfast so cannot comment on that.

We would recommend this place and we would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This is our fourth stay at this resort, and we found it to be very similar as before, we would like to have been entertained more than only three evening in the week in the moon light bar, the wifi needs improving, the restaurant needs to provide more choice,be aware the maids only empty bins each day, change towels and bedding in the middle of a week
Devore very good facilities well maintained and entertainment what was on was very good
We would thoughly recommend and will definitely return,
Thanks to the staff who were alway very helpful and cheerful

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 22nd March until 28th 2013 hotel is lovely nothing for kids to do though,the English reps/staff were arrogant & unfriendly, Got big faces on wen we refused to buy a time share holiday that they were pressuring us to buy never had anything like that before wen we have been on holiday! Great value for money but would never stay there agen due to the rudeness & unfriendly atmosphere, the hotel restaurant was very expensive & not a great variety of food on offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

I was sorry to read of your experience with the holiday sales staff. We do indeed have a holiday ownership club here at Sunset which has been in existence for over two decades. It is operated under strict rules of conduct which could in your case have been infringed. I have passed a copy of your review on to the responsible parties so that they are made aware of the situation and may act accordingly.
I’m sorry if this issue affected your holiday enjoyment and would like to reassure you that these incidents are few and far between. I certainly hope you will consider returning to Sunset Beach Club again in the future and give us the opportunity to change your perception of our hotel.

My apologies once again and thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

was our first time in benalmadena and at the sunset beach club hotel. It was a great stay. my family and i have a lovely holiday. we just stayed a few days running up to easter weekend and i ordered exterior room and asked in advance for a sea view and thats what i got with no difficulties and hassle at the check in desk. facilities are great.we enjoyed the pools and kids loved the play frame in the evenings. shop was really convient with 2 little kids. room was cleaned every day but it did smell of cigarette smoke. overall hotel is very well maintained and kept up nicely. only down i would say is the single beds on the sea view rooms. but all round was a great stay and will be going back again. oh and breakfast had such a variety. well worth the price.

Room Tip: sea view anytime. was so relaxing. worth the money. higher better - not much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just spent a lovely week at the Sunset Beach Club. The 1 bed apartment fit 2 adults and 2 kids brilliantly (we put the kids in the bedroom where there are twin beds and it worked well) and the facilities were great. It is a good 20+ min walk to the marina which suited us perfectly. The public transport is regular and cheap though.
The pool area satisfied the kids and the onsite supermarket and bakery were reasonably priced with a larger supermarket across the road.
The bus from the airport takes you right outside the hotel and for 3.50 euros is really good value.
We loved it and would happily recommend it!!

Room Tip: The moonlight bar is on the 5th floor therefore can be quite noisy late on when people are leaving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and for your kind comments about our hotel and facilities.

I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your holiday and sincerely hope you’ll come back and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our second time in Benalmadena, our first in the hotel. We stayed here for 7 days and we did not expect the hotel to be so nice. We had a small kitchen; witch had all the nesecetis and a good bathroom. The place was a bit small, so if you had a child i would want a bigger room, but this was just good enough for 2.

The beds were two twin beds, a bit disappointed, but it was no problem. The balcony faced towards Malaga and the Benalmadena beach, there was no sun and the dumpsters are on this side. If i were to go back i would ask for a room on the other side, with a sea view against the Torrequebrada hotel.

There is a shop at the hotel, big plus. They had all you need, food, meat, bakery, wine, beer, souvenirs, sunscreen, baby stuff. The gym was great and big, had all you need like treadmill, weights and machines.

One DONT is to go on the hotel trips, we went by our self the first time we were here and that’s much better. Pay the cab and go when and where you want, it cost the same. We went to a horse show, and the bus out was 1 hour, and with a cab its 10 min. And DONT go to the buffet dinner restaurant, the rip you off. We went to one on the hotel tour, and we left after they served the starter. I’ve eaten better food on a plane...

But go see the horse show, flamenco show and you Must go up the mountain on the Teleferico. The aria is safe, a little quiet and the beaches are nice :)
Have a great trip :)

Room Tip: If i were to go back i would ask for a room on the other side, with a sea view against the Torrequeb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Club

Address: Avenida del Sol 5, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#8 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Beach Club, Benalmadena, is a popular beachfront 4 *** resort featuring: two spectacular open-air pools, bars, restaurants, shops, a bakery and much more! The perfect setting to enjoy Costa de Sol´s immaculate climate; year round live entertainment; modern and fully equipped apartments with one bedroom, private balcony and individual climate control. Sunset Beach Club, your complete holiday destination on the Costa Del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sunset Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Club Hotel Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Spain
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Club Spain
Sunset Beach Club Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.