We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay, had lotsa fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Beach Club to your Saves list
Sunset Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Sol 5, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great stay, had lotsa fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

was our first time in benalmadena and at the sunset beach club hotel. It was a great stay. my family and i have a lovely holiday. we just stayed a few days running up to easter weekend and i ordered exterior room and asked in advance for a sea view and thats what i got with no difficulties and hassle at the check in desk. facilities are great.we enjoyed the pools and kids loved the play frame in the evenings. shop was really convient with 2 little kids. room was cleaned every day but it did smell of cigarette smoke. overall hotel is very well maintained and kept up nicely. only down i would say is the single beds on the sea view rooms. but all round was a great stay and will be going back again. oh and breakfast had such a variety. well worth the price.

Room Tip: sea view anytime. was so relaxing. worth the money. higher better - not much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    535
    194
    53
    47
See reviews for
683
478
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just spent a lovely week at the Sunset Beach Club. The 1 bed apartment fit 2 adults and 2 kids brilliantly (we put the kids in the bedroom where there are twin beds and it worked well) and the facilities were great. It is a good 20+ min walk to the marina which suited us perfectly. The public transport is regular and cheap though.
The pool area satisfied the kids and the onsite supermarket and bakery were reasonably priced with a larger supermarket across the road.
The bus from the airport takes you right outside the hotel and for 3.50 euros is really good value.
We loved it and would happily recommend it!!

Room Tip: The moonlight bar is on the 5th floor therefore can be quite noisy late on when people are leaving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and for your kind comments about our hotel and facilities.

I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your holiday and sincerely hope you’ll come back and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our second time in Benalmadena, our first in the hotel. We stayed here for 7 days and we did not expect the hotel to be so nice. We had a small kitchen; witch had all the nesecetis and a good bathroom. The place was a bit small, so if you had a child i would want a bigger room, but this was just good enough for 2.

The beds were two twin beds, a bit disappointed, but it was no problem. The balcony faced towards Malaga and the Benalmadena beach, there was no sun and the dumpsters are on this side. If i were to go back i would ask for a room on the other side, with a sea view against the Torrequebrada hotel.

There is a shop at the hotel, big plus. They had all you need, food, meat, bakery, wine, beer, souvenirs, sunscreen, baby stuff. The gym was great and big, had all you need like treadmill, weights and machines.

One DONT is to go on the hotel trips, we went by our self the first time we were here and that’s much better. Pay the cab and go when and where you want, it cost the same. We went to a horse show, and the bus out was 1 hour, and with a cab its 10 min. And DONT go to the buffet dinner restaurant, the rip you off. We went to one on the hotel tour, and we left after they served the starter. I’ve eaten better food on a plane...

But go see the horse show, flamenco show and you Must go up the mountain on the Teleferico. The aria is safe, a little quiet and the beaches are nice :)
Have a great trip :)

Room Tip: If i were to go back i would ask for a room on the other side, with a sea view against the Torrequeb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Make sure that you choose a room on one of the higher floors overlooking the pool. On our recent stay we were disappointed with the first room we were given (341) which was located 2 floors over the Oasis Restaurant and in a dark corner which did not get much sunshine. We requested a move and, in fairness, they fixed us up with a room on the 14th floor (1411) with panoramic sea views and plenty of sunshine. Apart from these obvious differences we also felt that room 1411 was in better decorative condition and better maintained / cleaned and above all, was quieter.
As others have said the hotel is in a lovely location with plenty of amenities - a real chill out. The weather was mixed during our stay but we managed to do a lot of sight-seeing using the excellent public bus service which stopped right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of your stay at Sunset Beach Club and for your kind comments about our hotel and facilities.

I am sorry you were unhappy with the room you were initially allocated but also glad that the reception team were able to allocate you a room on the 14th floor. I have made a note of your comments about the decoration and condition of the first apartment and will be sure to pass them on to our Facilities Manager. It is quite possible that apartment 341 is due to be refurbished and that is why you may have noticed some differences with 1411.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope you’ll come back and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have been visiting the Sunset Beach twice yearly for the last 7 years. Its a great place to stay. Apartment really clean and the service to the apartments is excellent. Entertianment at night is great fun. The only problem is room location. In five of our visits we had to ask to move our room. We have been over the service entrance twice or three times, over the road a number of times but the staff are really helpful and will try their best to sort things out. The beach walk is lovely and the beach bar is grat. I would recommend the Sunset Beach. An indication is that we are visiting there in two weeks time and looking forward to our visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and, more importantly, for being such a loyal guest staying with us twice yearly over the last 7 years.

I am really sorry you’ve been unlucky with room allocation on prior visits. I see you are coming to stay with us again shortly and would urge you to contact our reservations department beforehand to request a room with a better view.

I look forward to welcoming you back in a few days time.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have just come back from 3 weeks at Sunset Beach, Benalmadena. Our apartment was spotless and the service we received was great. Pool area was immaculate and evening entertainment was really good, especially Ricky Lavazza who was a real professional. It was our second stay and would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed last week at the Sunset Beach Club. The location is good, we tended to go down the hill to go places but there are places to go the other way.
We had booked a room for three and so were disappointed to find that they had only allocated us twin beds and a sofa bed. They were able to change us to a double and a sofa bed but the service from the desk could have been better, they could have advised us prior to going to the room. Also make sure you ask abou the safe before you go to the room as we where not advised.
Room had a very small kitchen but was perfect for our use.
The bathroom was not huge but good enough, our big complaint was the maids keep taking the towels and only replacing them with two when it was quite clear that there was 3 of us in the room.
Accomodation for clothes etc was not the best especially with 3 being in the room.
Wi-fi available on the 6th floor and if you were lucky you could also get it when you are on the patio. Worked well most of the time but can drop out on occasions.
Drinks are more expensive than the bars down the road but are convienent if you have bad weather.

Room Tip: If you want a Sea View make sure that you ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to right a review of your stay and for your kind comments.

I was sorry to read of your disappointment with your room allocation but am glad that the reception team were able to quickly allocate you another room. I also apologise for the fact that towels weren’t properly replaced, the housekeepers list must have been incorrect and only showing two people occupying the room. I just hope this did not cause too much inconvenience.

Thank you once again for your comments and I hope you’ll come back and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Club

Address: Avenida del Sol 5, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#7 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Beach Club, Benalmadena, is a popular beachfront 4 *** resort featuring: two spectacular open-air pools, bars, restaurants, shops, a bakery and much more! The perfect setting to enjoy Costa de Sol´s immaculate climate; year round live entertainment; modern and fully equipped apartments with one bedroom, private balcony and individual climate control. Sunset Beach Club, your complete holiday destination on the Costa Del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Club Hotel Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Spain
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Club Spain
Sunset Beach Club Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.