We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“returned back here but not entirely happy this time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Beach Club to your Saves list
Sunset Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Sol 5, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“returned back here but not entirely happy this time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

went to this hotel last year for my hen party and was delighted , all was fab. so much so that i ranted to my hubby about it and we decided to visit here for ten days with our son during midterm.
check in, perfect, allowed check in at 12, room all ready, cleaned. cleaned every day, cleaning ladys amazing.
kids club, fantastic thank you to all involved running it. my son had a fab time. the entertainers do a great job.
went to beauty salon for a facial and head massage, again brilliant. pool could maybe be heated as it was freezing but my son and hubby still swam in the rain.
food in restaurant is great, try the chateu briand AMAZING.

bad parts..... we got a call off the "guest services" after 3 days asking did we get a bottle of champagne? we said no and she asked could she pop up. we were delighted, thought maybe because we were on honeymoon it might be for that. so up she comes, asks us is everything ok, all rooms cleaned, happy enough, if we were there before. happy enough there. then she asks would we come back and we said of course, i was here before and we were delighted wiht hotel. so she tells us she is inviting us up to the vip lounge with internet access always available for kids to let us know about the amazing offers in the hotel for next year and show us the new 2 bedroom apartments and the 5 million euro renovation in hotel. she also said we would get a free lunch voucher on arrival. so up we go the next day and straight away you know its a time share set up. they took my son over to play on laptops (which obviously arent for use every day for vip) and out comes a man to use. tells us all about the 5 million euro renovation (in a water type park further away from hotel). he asks us what we do for a living and we said were both college students, he says "oh so how do i make the spondoolies from you" its a time share thing and your obviusly not interested. we have never been so insulted in our lives. because we dont work he assumed we were broke and couldnt afford this "amazing deal".
he shook our hands, walked off and didnt want to give us the meal voucher. i was so insulted and infuriated. we were lied to, told we would be advised on discounts for booking next year (which we were going to book) and it was nothing of the sort. im guessing she wasnt guest services but worked for this company DIVERSIFIED

other bad thing was although the room and hotel was spotlessly clean, for the last couple of days my son and husband woke with bites everywhere. my son still has them on his face, fingers and bottom.

overall i would have loved to return to the hotel next year, was even going to book for my mam and dads wedding anniversary but now, DIVERSIFIED ruined it for us. we were lied to, cheated and made feel cheap and so small.

sunset beach club, you should sort this out and not have dealings with them again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sunset Beach Club and for your compliments about our hotel facilities and service.

Although it seems you enjoyed most of your holiday, I was very concerned to read your comments about your experience with the team from Diversified. They are a company operating within the hotel premises that provide holiday ownership products and are a completely independent company; that being said, they have been in operation for over 15 years and have a very good reputation within the industry. I assure you the experience you describe is not the norm and consequently I shall be passing a copy of this review on to the relevant parties so that action can be taken to ensure this does not happen again.

I sincerely hope this unfortunate incident does not deter you from coming back to Sunset Beach Club again in the future.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback,

Yours sincerely,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    539
    196
    53
    47
See reviews for
687
483
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just back from a week at sunset beach club. The hotel is lovely but don't go here if you are looking for a peaceful week. You can hear everything in the other rooms and they are quite small. I couldn't imagine 4 people in this apartment. A pair of slippers for women and felt pads on the bottom of the furniture wouldn't go amiss either! The staff are helpful and friendly and food in restaurant good. Good if you have children but not for couples looking for a peaceful break. Don't think I would book here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and for your kind comments about out hotel.

I’m sorry you found your stay a little noisy. I don't know the exact dates of your stay but assume you stayed during the half term break and at these times the hotel is popular with families and is therefore at full occupancy. For couples looking for a more peaceful break, I would probably recommend staying at a quieter time of year (when there are no school holidays). That being said, we do get lots of couples who come and stay with us when the hotel is busy and enjoy the fun atmosphere around the hotel; it just depends on what you are looking for.

I certainly hope you will contemplate staying with us again at a quieter time of year.

Thank you once again for your feedback,

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we went to this hotel with our son and daughter in law and 3 grandchildren all aged 11 (triplets)on the 20th oct for 10 days .we arrived there at 11 in the morning and even though it says that u cant check in till 4 our apartments were ready .the weather was a bit hit and miss but we all enjoyed the time together and the children loved the mini disco and the entertainment that was on as well .the maid came in everyday and gave us clean towels and made the beds and tidied round ,and also the sheets were changed 3 times while we were there .we will certainly go back again

Room Tip: we stayed on the 3rd floor and found this to be ideal over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was a great value holiday, there was plenty to do in the hotel if you did not want to venture out too far. The views were beautiful with the new promenade around the hotel, and it is clear why the hotel was granted an additional star in 2010 it is even lovelier now than it was the last time we went with the new bars on the beach, next time we shall go in season when these bars are open to get the full ambience of the perfect holiday resort for a family.

Room Tip: Try not to get the groundfloor you cannot get a clear view of the sea due to the bushes in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend and we had a one bedroom studio apartment. The apt was lovely and big enough for two. We had a side view of the harbour and it was great. At this time of year there is a breeze at night and the side view gave some shelter.
Unfortunately the apt smelt of stale cigarrette smoke and that was a pity. The staff gave us air vapourizer but it didnt help really. Perhaps the hotel should have non smoking rooms specifically for this reason.
We stayed room only so cannot comment on the breakfast. The pool, spa, gym supermarket are all great and just a lift ride away. Really enjoyed the hotel. The bar staff were a little rude but we ate out and drank in local bars. Can not comment on other staff as we had no contact with anyone else. The front desk staff were polite on chek in and check out.

Room Tip: side view was great and the apts was good size for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sunset Beach Club and for your kind comments.

I was sorry to hear that your apartment smelt of cigarette smoke; this is surprising as our hotel is non-smoking. It is possible that previous guests had smoked on the apartments terrace and that the smell had made its way into the apartment. I apologise for this and hope this did not inconvenience you too much.

I am also sorry that our bar staff’s attitude did not live up to expectations. We work hard to ensure that our staff are conscious of the importance of being friendly and approachable and I’m just sorry that on this occasion this was not the case; rest assured I’ll be passing your comments on to our Operations Director.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and I hope to welcome you back to Sunset Beach Club again in the future.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My family stayed here in October 2012 and had a lovely time. We found our apartment on the ninth floor to be perfect for our needs. Beautiful view over the sea. Brilliant choices for breakfast (all buffet). The apartment was spotless and had plenty of storage for our cases and clothes etc. The bathroom was lovely and clean also. The kitchen also was very well equipped. A couple of nice touches included being able to print out the boarding passes from a computer at reception. Also they have a really good weighing scales on the 6th floor. Very handy for avoiding paying over weight charges. Great facilities including supermarket, hairdressers, beauty salon. Definitely a great place for families with younger children. Will be back!

Room Tip: the further up you go the better to avoid noise from weddings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

we stayed here 3 weeks ago for one week in an apartment on the second floor. one problem we found was that the reception was on the sixth floor, a bit perplexing and awkard as having to get into the lift at any stage you wanted to go out of the hotel, we asked for 2nd floor as my wife does not like lifts but this threw a spanner in the works. The hotel was nice and the service was good. We got room 229 spacious spotless and tidy. The only other problem the room was just over the pool restraunte whichhad music playing until 10 or 10.30 each night. The bar big and spacious. This hotel is a bit away from any of the local bars and on a bit of an incline. Also be very wary on the buses on Sundays. Buses do not stop at all stops only when you ring the bell which is located at the exit to my horror,and i had my wallet stolen while coming from Torremolinos.

Room Tip: stay away from 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunsetBeachClub, Community Manager at Sunset Beach Club, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing Sunset Beach Club for your holiday and for writing a review of your stay.

I’m pleased you found your apartment spacious and clean; however, I’m sorry you found the layout of our hotel a bit perplexing. Due to the location of the hotel and the way it is built, the entrance and reception area are indeed on the 6th floor and although a little different than most hotels does give us the advantage of amazing views from the reception area and the Panorama Bar located on the same floor.

Thank you also for your advice about the local buses; I’m sure other guests will take note of these points and bear them in mind if they plan on travelling by bus. Did you report the stolen wallet at the police station? Unfortunately, as in most tourist cities, there are pick pockets that try to take advantage of unsuspecting tourists. Thankfully it’s not something that happens often; however it is important to be vigilant and take precautions to avoid such thefts - I sincerely hope the incident did not spoil your holiday.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and I hope you’ll come back and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Justin Thompson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Club

Address: Avenida del Sol 5, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#7 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Beach Club, Benalmadena, is a popular beachfront 4 *** resort featuring: two spectacular open-air pools, bars, restaurants, shops, a bakery and much more! The perfect setting to enjoy Costa de Sol´s immaculate climate; year round live entertainment; modern and fully equipped apartments with one bedroom, private balcony and individual climate control. Sunset Beach Club, your complete holiday destination on the Costa Del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Club Hotel Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Benalmadena
Sunset Beach Spain
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Club Spain
Sunset Beach Club Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.