We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday, Good Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palmasol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palmasol to your Saves list
Hotel Palmasol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Mar 7, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Holiday, Good Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

The hotel was perfect for what we paid; ideally located with easy quick access to the Marina and the 24 Hour Square. A short stroll and you are on the beach. The pool is lovely and set in some nice, yet small, grounds. Generally the hotel is quiet, and the pool facing room was great - small and simple, but we we rarely in the room so this was not a problem. Nice bathroom, good shower. Hotel staff friendly, although was difficult trying to get a taxi from one of the receptionist - not sure they understood or spoke much english! Overall, the hotel accommodates a mixed european clientele, mainly German and Spanish although a few more English turned up on our departure.

The Palmasol is a nice hotel, simple and clean and very well located. Breakfast needs to improve however, especially for English! No bacon on the bacon.... and i mean no bacon.. just fat! But the Murphys bar down the road does a cracking full english and the barmaid from whitby is hot!! :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    159
    121
    59
    57
See reviews for
112
185
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool, england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Booked this hotel through thomson in the uk as part of a package deal for a weeks break in thr sun and as we were on a budget we were aware that it wasn't going to be the ritz however felt that we had to rely a lot on the tour operator for assistance as opposed to staff at the hotel.

After reading the reviews on the website we were a little concerned due to the mixe comments but think overall if you expect what you are paying for then you won't be dosapponted hotel wise however the location is excellent.

Positives- the hotel is ideally located for the port of benalmadena. Located down a side road off the main road (though no noise, very quiet) it is less than 2minutes from the front entrance of the hotel as you turn left and walk into the port. Excellent choice of restaurants are available here along with a large supermarket, various tourist shops and activities or children. Follow the port around and there are a plethora of bars and clubs for older visitors lookin for a night out but which are all child friendly. The port is a delight and a
must see of an evenig with boat trips out from the area though would advise comparing prices. Bear to the right and a small tourist train leaves on te hour to go along the main street and will take you to selwo marina and tivoli world and the cable car for 4euro eaxh return excellent value for the trip though everything is within walking distance in half an hour. Glorious beaches are 5mins from the hotel past the bars with plenty of eateries located on the way.

The hotel itself is clean, bright and staff are friendly with excellet english for the most part. On arrival late on a Friday evening we were cheked in with ease however had been given a room on the first floor with a balcony door Whig did not lock and opened onto a flat roof, facing the main road and easil ccessible across the roof or from
next door should it be that way. Woul not advise a first floor room- too noisy from bar downstairs. Asked to be moved and was told not possible. After we went back a second time explaining our concerns. Re the lock were told not possible all rooms don't lock on thr patio! After callig uk tour rep we were then moved 2hrs later (now approachig midnight) to thr 3rd floor bit not a balcony view Whig we had paid for, instead with a room with a window which looked onto an outdoor air con unit! We were told this was all that was free until Sunday at midday so we would have to stay for 2nights. With no safe in the room we requested access to one the next day but were told none were available. At midday Sunday we were moved l the fifth floor overlooking the bar which has pleasant views. Rooms are basic (we tried 3) but for three star they are large. Rooms were always clean and came with flay screen tv, air con and shower UNITs and hairdryer. Staying half board the food does get repetitive after a few days and the retairant is always iercrowded so best get there early!

Overall the accomofation is 3star and is basic but it is clean, staff are friendly and it does look like it had been modernised. We went for a romantic break on a budget and had a lovely time-the location cannot be faulted and is excellent! Staff are friendly with the odd exception but overall try ad help when they can. The rooms are basic but as a base It is worth the money and is clean and open.

Good if your on a budget but don't want to compromise.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Just got back from 2 weeks at the Palmasol.....here goes!!

Got to admit was a bit worried about this hotel after reading other reviews...some things in the reviews are correct others I wouldn't agree with..it's not that bad though!!

We had a room on the top floor and a pool view some nights we did hear some noise each morning normally any time after 5.30 I think there may be an arranged pub crawl that finished somewhere near the hotel which involves a sing song at the end of it that did only happen during the first week heard nothing after that.

Restuarant is OK....breakfast has all the usual stuff........eveing meal ok, some nights better than others but that is usually the norm they do seem to have only one menu so if you are staying for two weeks you will see the menu repeated....I will say the food was always fresh but there wasn't a great choice.....waiters also seemed a bit slow to get drinks for you

Rooms ok, bathrooms are very small but the shower does always have loads of hot water but it does have the smallest shower screen ever and the floor does get quite wet, air con isn't brilliant and is quite noisy....we left a card in when we went out so the room was cool when we got back at least...beds are small I did find them comfy and lastly TV was a flat screen but only 2 channels to watch bbc world and MTV Austria!!!

The best thing about this hotel was the pool area.....loads of sun loungers and loads of shade under the trees for those who want it...there are a few umbrellas also...it's the only place I have ever been to that you dont have to get down early to get a lounger....toilets around the pool are always clean with a small gym area...the girl in the pool bar always has a smile on her face as does the new pool lifeguard who has only just started and loves to talk to everyone his English isn't great but at least he does try which is more that can be said for some of the other staff at the Palmasol.

Hotel is really close to the Marina and has a brilliant location probably one of the best in the resort and, also had a supermarket at the bottom of a small hill which was handy for newspapers etc

All in all had a great holiday didn't want to some home probably one of the most relaxing holidays I've ever had, would recommend it and would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

i stayed in this hotel from 12 to 22 june,and was not happy room toilet stank at certain times of the day air con was rubbish complained but nothing done.there was no fridge i asked for one and got one when some one returned theirs, i was charged thirty euros for the priviledge could have nearly bought a new one for the price.i also asked for a safe key which was already in the room and was charged another 30 euros,the tv was pathetic no english except bbc world news,the balcony was dirty and if you left the patio doors open,i had asked for a pool view which i got having heard from other reviews that this was advisable,i was put above where all the rubbish was put in a huge skip at all hours of the day and night. i had ordered a birthday pack for my wife through cosmos wether it was their fault or the hotels,idont know, but saw the manager the next and he had no paper work for it pointed out my reseveration had it printed on he said he would sort it out,the nex day 2 bananas 2 apples 1 pear and1 orange which i could have bought in the market for a uero. to cap it all the only thing good were breakfast,dinner,the toilet,bar when it was stinking,all in all the next time i go,i have been to benalmadena 3 times,iwill stay where i stayed before the hotel los arenas.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Ask for a ppol view room as other side is horrible. Great location for Marina but we couldn't find it at first as the road sign had been removed where they're building something. We had half board and the choices were amazing -all you can eat. House wines are tasty, restaurant is very pleasant to eat in. Only drawback - no brown sauce or vinegar! Rooms are comfortable but stag/hen parties can be noisy. There was a daily itinery but it was difficult to tell where some of the games were being held as no signs around the hotel. Some of the evening entertainment wasn't to our taste but it was nice that it was laid on. Bar prices a bit high but so were some of the local bars. Going in May was a good idea, quite quiet and empty beaches. We hired a car and plenty of nearby free parking at this time of year, Overall impression -excellent.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

I quite liked this hotel. The food is better than average, buffett style with loads of choice and a (freshly cooked in front of you fish and meat course every night). There are also pancakes in the morning as well as the usual cooked continental choices. Our room had been refurbished and was lovely. The hotel is very clean and the pool/garden area is lovely with loads of sunbeds and shady areas. There were a lot of Saga customers there but they are not all ancient! At weekend there was a boys football team staying all between 7 and 11 plus a few hen parties and it became very noisy. The rest of our stay was very peaceful. Its ok location wise but I think there is more choice of bars and restaurants at the other end of the resort and the Marina, although nice to walk round is touristy with a lack of spanish culture.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.k
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

food-very bad, room-ok but smelt of smoke,pool-clean but cold, indoor pool didnt smell clean, staff on reception very rude, this is a saga hotel its full of the older end, there's chess rooms not internet rooms,and bingo at night, if your under 40 dont stay here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palmasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palmasol

Address: Avenida del Mar 7, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palmasol 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palmasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Palmasol Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Palmasol Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palmasol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.