We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Palmasol Benalmadena” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palmasol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palmasol to your Saves list
Hotel Palmasol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Mar 7, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Essex, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hotel Palmasol Benalmadena”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have just got back from a 10day holiday at the Palmasol Hotel, the hotel is very basic, we went all-inclusive, the reception was very nice, we went up to our room well the toilet was under the SINK you had to sit sideways, we had 2 single beds pushed together, other people in hotel had 2 double beds in their rooms, balcony was nice, we was overlooking the outside seating area, food in the dining room was ok, the tables in the dining room was'nt cleaned after every meal so all the plates and bowls was piling up,they only had ONE BAR open every night,so you can imagine the queue in the evening 2 people were serving, it took ages to get served,then we had to sign for everything we wanted even a bottle of water!!!!!!!!! The seating area was'nt cleaned daily, the maid cleaned our room every day, the the first weekend we had a strike on at the front of the hotel for 3 days, bongos going from 9-00 til 6-00 what a noise, but saying all that it was handy to get to the marina, through the gate at the back of the hotel, you walk just over the road wonderful that was, the hotel staff were nice and polite, swimming pool was freezing didnt swim at all, sunbeds were dirty and smelly, dont think i will be going there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    171
    129
    64
    57
See reviews for
122
203
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mrsmanager1
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

A Good base near to the square if you like nightclubbing, near to the harbour for shopping and nice restaurants and near the beach for sunbathing. Food good servive good and rooms perfectly adequate. Nice pool and surroundings and clean.
watch out for local crime though especially in the square. heard at least three people who were pick pocketed and one had their bag pinched under her nose sat outside the local Mcdonalds with her bag on the floor at side of her. So stick together.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

i visited this hotel about 4 years ago ,and went back in september 2012,this hotel has went downhill,pigeon droppings over seats on the outside seating area,and were hot cleaned till the last day of a 9 night holiday,the room was cleaned but not to a good standard,entetainment was poor ,the food in the dinning room was a good choice but sometimes the food was not warm .afraid i will look at other hotels in benalmadana in the future ,im not a fussy person ,but sadly this hotel needs to have a good look at its self and bring there standards back up.beware of sunbeds to say they are dirty would be an under statement

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a week at this hotel and we found it perfect for us. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the road, (but had afternoon sun) and a good view on the left handside of the balcony of the lovely port. Okay there is a derelict building opposite, but that is not the fault of the hotel. Our room had two double beds which were very comfy and there was plenty of wardrobe space. It was kept spotless by the friendly cleaners and we had clean towels every day which we did not ask for. We thought the food was very good, something to suit everyone. Breakfasts were great if you like a full English and there was plenty of other meat, cheeses, loads of bread, rolls, croissants and preserves to die for if you didn't. I will admit the elderly Spanish seem to take over the hotel and expect to get preferential treatment, which they probably did and were not the most friendly, but on the whole we found the staff very friendly if you made the effort to talk to them and most had a sprinkling of English so it was fine.
I do not understand why the people who expect 5 start treatment don't go to a 5 star hotel, as far as we are concerned we have no complaints so don't be put off by negativity from moaners. I have stayed in other hotels in Europe that are not as good as the Palmasol and they cost a lot more and were not all inclusive.
The pool and garden area is lovely, alright some of the beds have seen better days, but they are only used for a while so does it really matter all that!
My advice is to anyone visiting the Palmasol, chill out and enjoy. We did!

Room Tip: We asked for a high room but got one on the 2nd floor which was okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Good points- rooms clean, pool area ok.

Bad- the service was awful, too many issues to go into in detail but they really are a 3 star hotel trying to be a youth hostel. Staff were very rude and unfriendly, and everything was too much trouble.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My Stay - 31/08/12 - 08/09/12
Where do I start? If your room is at the front of the hotel you have a lovely view of a derelict hotel... graffiti included.
The majority of staff are very slow at serving at the bar, and half of the time there are no glasses, so you end up with plastic.
The hotel itself is clean, and the food is perfectly fine... if you get to the restaurant as soon as it opens, otherwise you end up in a huge queue.
The hotel seems to be a retirement home for the Spanish! I wouldn't advise goung all inclusive, as if you stay at the hotel in an evening it is extremely boring, the only music played is Spanish.
Also, if you stay at the hotel during the day, be wary of the sunbeds, they are in desperate need of replacement!!!!!

Good Points - Close to the beach.
Room cleaned daily

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

31/08/2012 to 08/09/2012 party of four.
To be honest I was really mixed on going to this hotel due to comments that had previously gone on, however note to everybody going do NOT listen to all the negatives that everybody has put about it cause to be honest it really isnt as bad as some people make out.
The room was basic but clean 99% of the time when we first arrived it had hairs in the bathroom but since that it was always clean. The hotel isnt modern but its a typical spanish hotel isnt that why you go to spain? Food was excellent really could not fawlt. Swimming pool was fab. Location AMAZING so much to do also.
The only two negatives I could say would be not all staff were friendly infact some were really rude, this hotel has potential but it deffinatly needs to train its staff in customer service. A certain bar staff member "tut"ed when we asked for drinks which was really disappointing.
Secondly we were unfortunatly the unlucky ones who got the view of the derelict building but what can the hotel do about that?!

Room Tip: pool view in order not to get the derelict building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palmasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palmasol

Address: Avenida del Mar 7, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palmasol 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palmasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Palmasol Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Palmasol Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palmasol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.