We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, shame about the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playabonita Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Playabonita Hotel to your Saves list
Playabonita Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crta. N-340 Km. 217 - Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29639 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, shame about the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely all-inclusive week here at Playabonita. It is a lovely hotel, although have to be honest, is in need of some updating in parts; it's in a good location with a lovely beach frontage and pool area; all rooms have a sea view. One evening around 7pm we just happened to be sitting on our balcony and spotted Dolphins swimming close by in the bay, a lovely sight. We had a Superior Bedroom on the 9th Floor which was spacious, immaculately clean and with twin double beds which were very comfortable and clean with complete mattress covers under the sheets as well as pillow protectors under the pillow cases; an essential requirement in our standards. Sheets etc were changed regularly in just the 1 week we were there. If you like the hustle and bustle of night clubs, bars, restaurants and shops, this is not the area for you. It is located in a quiet area just outside Benalmadena but the local buses run every half hour into all the resorts, eg Benalmadena, Torremolinos, Fuengirola, etc. with fares only costing around 1.50 Euro each way; we found it to be a good service with the bus stops just outside the hotel. Taxis are also available. As well as the Hotel shop, there is a local small supermarket which also sells souvenirs, and there are a couple of small quiet bars just a short walk from the hotel as well as a restaurant on the beach area if you needed anything. From our own experience of staying in 4* hotels, unfortunately we did not find the choice of buffet food to be of 4*quality. Some days there was a reasonably good choice, others were not so good but at least we didn't starve as there was plenty of salad choice and sometimes good cold meats selections available as well as fruit and nice desert choices. There is also a separate area where the Chef cooks fresh fish and chips, pork steaks and pasta dishes etc., and will also cook a crepe or omelette of your choice, but we found there was inevitably a long queue of people waiting to be served as there was only 1 Chef on at any one time who always seemed to be multi-tasking and juggling with various dishes. The chips were usually cold and inedible as they were cooked then left to stand for so long. To be honest breakfast was adequate with the usual cereal choices, cold meats/cheeses, pastries etc., as well as the chef cooking a plentiful supply of fresh bacon and eggs. Unfortunately the choice of fresh fruit for breakfast was very poor although they did have fresh orange juice, etc. and the coffee was always hot. We found most of the staff to be very helpful and pleasant and always spoke to us in English despite our feeble attempts to order our drinks in Spanish; there were only one or two who didn't meet the required good standards. There was a wide variety of nationalities staying in the hotel when we were there, lots of British people, and we applaud the staff on their ability to be able to cope with so many different languages and cultures. We do think the Wifi provision could be improved upon for all guests, only 1 hour free per 24 hours is inadequate, in our opinion. All in all, a lovely relaxing and quiet holiday for my husband and I, just what we needed.

Room Tip: The Superior rooms are an excellent choice and worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
DearGuest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.


Diego Aquaro
Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    283
    171
    50
    43
See reviews for
488
130
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Dear Senor Aquaro, We have been looking at the reviews for the hotel and are pleased to see that most of them are very positive. We are looking forward to being with you all again on 5th August, our 11th holiday at the Playabonita. We have not missed a year since 2004. Your teams of staff have always made us feel very welcome and we are looking forward to seeing them again.We like the location of the hotel. It is tranquil and relaxing, exactly what we are looking for and look forward to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
DearGuests,

All the staff at Playabonita Hotel are waiting for you and hope you a good trip. We will try to offer, once again, the best possible holidays.

Diego Aquaro
Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is my first review on tripadvisor.com ever and I would be more than happy to give the Playabonita Hotel five points in all categories. But I could´t. I have been to many resorts in Spain and Canaries in my childhood and despite the fact I kept in mind the treatment received as real guest, not as a "child guest". Staff, no matter in which department, was always smiling, welcoming with willingness to help you. Since then the Spanish people set the high hospitality standard for me, having something that cannot be taugh, what has to be a part of your personality, of your behavior... It looks like the times have changed there dramatically. I know - Spain has been hit hard by financial crisis, many people had lost their jobs and still must pay their bills. But that happened to many countries in Europe! This is just another excuse for me. Why they cannot serve the people with smile on the face? Effortlessly! If I am not mistaken, the guest brings you money all the time, regardless the hotel star rating and age. You NEED to serve them best as you can, to come to your hotel again and again. If there will be no guest...

I give you an example: I went to Puerto Deportivo de Benalmádena one day and coincidentally entered one of the *** aparthotels on my way. The lady at the reception there gave me sooo many attention and information, city maps of Málaga, coloured(!) map of Benalmádena, brochures etc. which I had never received during my stay at Playabonita hotel even when I asked. And I was not a guest there!!!

Nevertheless I have to add that not all of staff were having lack of customer orientation. Front desk manager and especially Virginia, long haired blond receptionist was very professional, ready to help you with a good local knowledge and command of foreign languages. And never seems to be bothered by you approaching the reception desk. So was her namesake.

The Food & Beverage department was quite a different story - the most friendly, attentive staff of this hotel. Starting from the F&B Manager, ending at the cook. Someone may find the food choice limited as I did, howewer the food was absoulutely delicious. Exactly what can you expect from seaside holiday destination. Not only tuna, salmon but also other seafood delicacies - don´t remember the names now :). And what a excellent service! Only one small issue: once they cleared dishes from the table with full beer glass by mistake, and was replaced promptly by a new one with sincere apology. Kudos for all of them!

Since I know the complaint is a second chance to improve services at any company, I would be glad to come to Playabonita Hotel next time to receive a warm, sincere service from all of the staff to create a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms close to the lifts - missing thresholds are causing a terrible noise in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.


Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Felt I should stand up for the playa bonita hotel here, given some of the reviews. It is a nice hotel, right on it's own private beach with a nice poolby the sea front. It may well be a little dated in the style of the rooms but it is typical of a Spanish seaside hotel and it is clean and comfortable. The staff are lovely and I have always found them to be helpful and polite. The food is good and varied and I can't believe even the fussiest of eaters could go hungry here. It is not in the centre of town but buses are frequent and taxis cheap. If a beach holiday is what you are after, go for it because that is exactly what they are set up for. My only advice to the hotel...yes, in this day and age you should be investing in proper, free wifi for your customers.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions,

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lido de Jesolo italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just had a very nice week staying in this four star hotel. Great place to chill out. Ten minute bus ride to centre. Hotel has all amenities- paper, night entertainment, kids club, HAPPY HOUR- the best- 2 for one! Gorgeous location- we ate lunch in a taverna down the road- Juan Paloma- lovely little place run by two sisters- made us feel so at home- their chicken skewers with tomatoes washed down with local wine made for a great lunch- all for half nothing. Hotel has full buffet facilities which we tried but didn't really suit us- bit of a cavalry charge. Our room was on 6th floor and we had a great view plus we were not too far from reception area..
Also near taverna is a good fish restaurant for night time eating- bit slow-but who was rushing.Little local shop stayed open all day and was reasonably priced- rooms in hotel all have a fridge- we took room only and it was a good decision.

Room Tip: go for 6th floor up- dont go too far away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

On arrival at reception the staff were so busy chatting amongst themselves that you were left waiting, and the same occurred every time we visited reception. We paid extra for a sea view & superior room to find all the rooms were sea view ! and, would hate to see what the standard room was like. The rooms and decor was very dated, and very basic, and smelt old and musty. To be fair, the room and bathroom were clean, and the cleaning staff were very very polite. The restaurant was like a cattle market, and the staff very very unhelpful and frankly obnoxious. The poolside cafe staff were very varied, and virtually insisted you addressed them in Spanish. We had emailed the hotel for a special request, which was acknowledged, but never acted upon which was very disappointing. There is very little in walking distance around the vicinity of the hotel, and you are reliant upon taxi / buses to visit anywhere of any worth. This was a once off visit, and I certainly would bother returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We thank you for your comments to which we will bear your impressions in mind, we will work in improving the marked points in order that in a next visit your perception of the products received is totally satisfactory.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

No comfortable outdoor seating. Pool bar was like a park cafe. Poor value for all inclusive. No snacks after 7pm and only tapas available. Food in dining room very limited. 10 euro deposit for each pool towel and then an extra charge for fresh towels.. Entertainment low buget.. WIFI only free for 1 hour and not available in many areas.Hotel has nice surroundings and my daughter enjoyed the pool itself. The hotel is remote but on a good bus route. Could be a good place to stay if the all inclusive was improved to match other 4 star hotels. As the poolside bar is away from hotel it needs alot of improving.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.


Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playabonita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playabonita Hotel

Address: Crta. N-340 Km. 217 - Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29639 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#13 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Playabonita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Playabonita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playabonita Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Hotel Playabonita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playabonita Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.