We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playabonita Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Playabonita Hotel to your Saves list
Playabonita Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crta. N-340 Km. 217 - Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29639 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was worried after reading some negative remarks however I can not fault the hotel or staff!! Everyone was pleasant and helpful even though English wasn't to good for some they really made an effort , can't believe some reviews are negative about not English enough!!! You are in Spain!!!!! Gorgeous views lovely beach, indoor pool is really nice and due to not much sun a godsend for my 5 year old!!! Bar staff are very attentive and friendly, rooms and bathrooms are nice and beds comfy, cleaned daily. A short bus ride to neighbouring towns. Overall a great place to stay! Will return in summer definitely

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions,

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    298
    179
    51
    45
See reviews for
502
143
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel has indeed a nice view of the sea, as it is on the beach basically. The restaurant benefits from an impressive sea view as it has large glass windows. All rooms have sea view, which is also very inspired. The food is ok. The outside pool is ok.

The rooms are not clean, the towels are washed without detergent i think (they smell awful even when they are 'clean'), the inside pool is dirty and jacuzzi are dirty, the hotel staff is totally unfriendly and unhelpful.

In order to use the beach beds in front of the hotel you have to pay 9 euro for two beds/day. I would have imagined that a 4-star hotel on the beach, with all-inclusive board, would cover the beach beds in front of it. But i was wrong :)

The hotel is quiet isolated. The advantage is that it's only 10 minutes walk from the train station - and from there you can go anywhere you like including the centre of Malaga (in 30 minutes by train).

The holyday in Andalusia was really nice, but this hotel was not exactly the best choice.

Room Tip: all rooms have sea view but higher floors are better on the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We thank you for your comments to which we will bear your impressions in mind, we will work in improving the marked points in order that in a next visit your perception of the products received is totally satisfactory.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is almost 3km from the centre of Benalmadena and very close to the entrance to Fuengirola. The hotel has a beach front location. Reception staff could be more welcoming and friendly. Food and service was very average for a four star hotel. Not happy with the swimming pool location. Overall, disappointed and will not be returning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

I would have been charmed with greeting him personally and treating everything on what you comment in your writing, I am sure that you would have left with another impression of our establishment.

Concerning your comments about the variety of food, we would like to inform you, that our menus have a 10-days cycle, in which the salads and fittings could be repeated but not the main plates. Also we include the “Show-Cooking”, where you can find different kind of fish, meat, vegetables, Crêpes, pasta, and the typical Spanish “paella”.
Every day we are working to continue with our quality and not only obtaining and investing in the product, rather in the permanent formation of the staff.

We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a fab location that we specifically chose as we stayed close by last year, the beach is fantastic and the kids loved the pool. The food is ok there is always fresh fish etc which we love but for a Spanish hotel there was not much Spanish food at all and the food lacks variety could do with pealla etc. staff are friendly and helpfull and the rooms are cleaned everyday with clean towels. I have to say tho the entertainment in the night is really really bad it's dire infact kick out the animation team and get some fresh entertainment as at the moment this really lets the hotel down. The other thing is if you are not all inclusive the drinks are very expensive. Would I stay again? Well yes but for the location and to be fair we had rubbish weather which never helps so maybe next time things will be better.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We booked this hotel as we wanted a relaxing week in the sun,and having been before,we knew it would be ideal. The hotel is on the outskirts of Benalmadena so you need a car or to use the local bus if you want to go into the centre - the bus is cheap,regular and easy to use and the bus stop is just outside the hotel.
The hotel seems to attract mainly spanish/french/russian guests and the food caters for the locals - we had one vegetarian in our party and whilst there wasn't much choice for a main, he always managed to find something.There are always lots of meat/fish choices and a huge salad bar.Breakfast choice is amazing.
My son joined in the kids club,although he was the only british child - the man running the kids pool activities spoke good english and encouraged my son to join in but he was finishing for the summer the same day we went home-shame as the others weren't as fluent in english!
The rooms are very clean and all have a small balcony with amazing sea views.We prefer a high floor as it's quieter - entertainment is on ground floor! Our towels were changed daily.
Ther beach is cleaned daily and the water shallow enough for the kids to play in.The pool area is lovely,and has a bar providing drinks and snacks including tapas,crisps and icecreams.There is a separate toddlers pool,water slides and varying depths to cater for all.
The staff are all very helpful but special thanks to Manoli (who my 8yr old son is in love with!!) and Manuel in the bar who helped us with our scrabble game as well as frequently bringing us drinks!
We didn't do any excursions this time as we were there purely to relax however if you want to explore,I would recommend fuengirola zoo,paloma park and the cable car up the mountain (bird of prey show at the top aswell as amazing views)
If you want a 'british' hotel in the centre of the action,this is not the hotel for you,however,if you want a relaxing,spanish holiday I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Entertainment goes on till midnight - higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guests,

It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay in our hotel as pleasant as you indicate. Your comment makes us feel proud of the work done on a daily basis, with the only aim of satisfying the needs of our guests.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions,

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

the hotel is situated directly on the beach but far away from any attractions and shopping possibilities.
If you book economice rooms, they are only cleaned twice a week. To get new towels, we had to ask every day even though the stuff told us that towels would be replaced every day!
We booked by "Luxairtours" a family room for 4 persons and we got a double room with two beds of approx 135 cm!
The quality of the food was poor and some of us even got stomach aches.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

I would have been charmed with greeting him personally and treating everything on what you comment in your writing, I am sure that you would have left with another impression of our establishment.

We thank you for your comments to which we will bear your impressions in mind, we will work in improving the marked points in order that in a next visit your perception of the products received is totally satisfactory.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I booked rooms for 4 adults (2 double or twin rooms) 3 teenage girls ( a 3 bed room). When we arrived we discovered that the room for the girls was a 2 bedded room. When I asked for a different room, I was just told that there was no alternative and would just have to accept what was given!!! The holiday was booked through Virgin, perhaps there was a communication problem. The brochure for the hotel does say that the rooms are suitable for up to 4 people. Obviously this depends on the composition of the occupants.The food was of a good variety, but not always served hot, or even warm. The TV was the usual poor choice, news programmes only in English, no entertainment TV. Only 1 telephone was working out of our 3 rooms. I mention this because I had need to make a call to the UK. Obviously the maintainance is not being properly carried out. Incidentally the phone call was very expensive. The location is not great, as it is just too far to walk to the nearest town, however the bus is every half hour in each direction, and not too expensive. The public beach adjacent to the hotel is very good and clean as is hotel pool. The noisy entertainment doesn't start until about 10 at night through to midnight. Despite my moans I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playabonita Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

Regarding to the type of room, indicate that all the double rooms have 2 beds of 1.35 metres x 2 metres, without the possibility of adding an extra bed.

I regret the incident suffered with the maintenance of your room, but would have thanked him to report at the reception to have been able to fix immediately.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.

Diego Aquaro
Gerente Playabonita Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playabonita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playabonita Hotel

Address: Crta. N-340 Km. 217 - Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29639 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#13 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Playabonita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playabonita Hotel enjoys a beachfront location, next to the pedestrianised seafront and 600 metres from Benalmadena train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Playabonita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playabonita Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Hotel Playabonita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playabonita Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.