We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Flatotel Internacional

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added First Flatotel Internacional to your Saves list
First Flatotel Internacional
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Ronda del Golf Oeste 75 | Urbanizacion Torrequebrada, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

great place to stay any time of the year because of the very welcoming staff,cleanliness of the rooms location and best of all value for money a bit out of the way this the good thing about it.
happy hour is a must for all prior to dinner in one of the many fine local restaurants I would give this place a try any time real good

Room Tip: 107 or 110 both with large patio's sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlatotelCostaDelSol, Community Manager at First Flatotel Internacional, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Dave,

Thanks for your recommendation. We hope to have you with us very soon. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page and enjoy our amazing discounts.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    87
    40
    10
    3
See reviews for
72
43
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the first week in October as a birthday treet for my wife. Six of us stayed in a three bedroom apartment which was very spacious. We had three bathrooms and two balconies. The room was very clean and linen changed twice in the week. The pool area was also very clean and we spent a few days relaxing in and around it.
We did'nt eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food...although we did use the bar at happy hour ! The bus stop was just outside the hotel and at €1:55 to the harbour was a snip and they run every fifteen mins.
All in all a very enjoyable week was had by us all and I would recomend The Flatotel to all. Oh and the weather was brilliant all week !!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlatotelCostaDelSol, Community Manager at First Flatotel Internacional, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are delighted to read your recommendation of First Flatotel International and knowing that you have enjoyed a pleasant stay with us. Our guest satisfaction encourages us to improve day by day. We hope soon to have you with us on your next visit to the Costa del Sol

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and me have just come back from a weeks holiday in benalmadena. We stayed at the Flatotel Intenational just a three to four minute bus ride into the town centre. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, from the pool area through to the restaurant, bar area, gym, and games room. The rooms also followed to the same standard with bedding changed twice a week and rooms cleaned every other day. The was a decent selection of food available ( we stayed half board ) and we were well looked after. There are plenty of attractions around the area, so there is always something to do and the beaches and beach restaurant are very good. Would definitely stay again without hesitation. And the weather kept a steady 30 - 34 degrees all week. A very enjoyable break..

Room Tip: If you don't like heights then try and book a lower floor as the hotel has 11 floors, the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlatotelCostaDelSol, Community Manager at First Flatotel Internacional, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for choosing First Flatotel International for your stay in Benalmadena. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you with us very soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in july 2013 there was 2 adults and 2 teenagers in our party.
The hotel is spotless and the rooms are huge, plenty of space for a family, we were in a 2 bed apartment. The downside to the rooms is the little amount of hot water you get, we had 2 teenagers and 2 adults and after running out of hot water on numerous evenings, we were told by the caretaker that each apartment has only 70 litres of hot water per day!!! Not a lot of water to bathe 4 people. Also the kitchen area is tiny but there again we only ate snacks in the room, wouldnt have attempted to cook a meal here as the kitchen was so small.
We were told the hotel has 2 bars and had entertainment, there was no entertainment and yes there is 2 bars but only 1 member of staff to work them both. So when the pool bar shut at 6 the other bar didnt open until the staff member had cleaned the other bar and made their way to the other bar. They advertised there was a happy hour from 6-7pm but by the time the staff made their way to the inside bar happy hour was over. The staff worked very hard and were very pleasant but there wasn't enough of them. The hotel charged extortionate prices for local produced alcohol. Be very wary of the burgers at the pool bar as many people complained they were undercooked.
The hotel was too remote for us, yes the bus stop is just outside the entrance but there are no shops or cafe's within a comfortable walking distance. The nearest supermarket is a good 15-20 min walk and up a hill.
The bus to benalmadena is the 110 and costs 1.15 euros each. The bus to fuenguerola is the 120 and cost 1.20 euros.
WE ATE IN THE HOTEL RESTAURANT FOR BREAKFAST ONCE WE WERE CHARGED 9.50 EUROS EACH, IT WAS A BUFFET STYLE BREAKFAST WITH A CHOICE OF GREASY BACON, FRIED TOMATOES, OILY CHIPOLATAS AND FRIED EGGS, ALL WERE COLD. THERE WAS ALSO CEREAL AND FRESH FRUIT, BUT IT WAS NOT WORTH 9.50. WHEN WE ASKED A STAFF MEMBER ABOUT THE EVENING MEAL WE WERE ADVISED TO GO INTO THE RESORT AS AN EVENING MEAL WAS 15.50 AND IT WASN'T VERY GOOD!!!!
THE RECEPTION STAFF WERE VERY HELPFUL AT ALL TIMES. THE WI FI WAS VERY VERY EXPENSIVE, ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU HAVE 2 TEENAGERS WHO ARE BORED AS THERE WAS NOTHING FOR THEM TO DO AT THIS HOTEL.
THIS HOTEL WOULD SUIT PEOPLE WHO ARE LOOKING FOR A GOOD HOTEL THAT IS EXTREMELY QUIET BUT DONT MIND WALKING A GREAT DISTANCE.
EVEN IF THE HOTEL HAD A LITTLE SUPERMARKET IT WOULD BE A BONUS.
WE WERE WARNED THAT CHECK IN WAS 5PM WE WERE A LITTLE CONCERNED AS WE ARRIVED AT 1PM BUT WE WERE CHECKED IN STRAIGHT AWAY BUT WE DIDNT KNOW ABOUT THE 60 EURO DEPOSIT FOR THE ROOM KEY AND THE 6 EURO DEPOSIT AND CHARGE OF 2.10 PER DAY FOR THE SAFE, TV REMOTE AND AIR CONDITIONING, WE HAD BEEN TOLD THIS WAS INCLUDED BUT ITS NOT SO BE WARNED.
THERE IS A ONE RESTAURANT ACROSS THE ROAD THAT OPENED VERY RANDOMLY IT IS CALLED JULIOS AND IN A LOVELY SETTING BUT EAT THERE AT YOUR PERIL!!!! IT IS FILTHY AND WE ALL WERE ILL THE NEXT DAY.

I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO PEOPLE WHO LIKE QUIETNESS AND WHO LIKE TO EXPLORE BY CAR AS THE HOTEL IS NICE, BUT FOR FAMILIES WE FOUND IT TOO REMOTE

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor have massive balconies but these are one bedroom apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We hadn't paid much for our apartment, and as a result, we're not expecting a great deal. However, when we arrived, we were SO impressed with the rooms; they were sparkling clean, generously sized and well equipped. The facilities in the hotel itself were also great; lovely swimming pool, the kids play area was fantastic (bouncy castle- nice touch!) and it was very pleasantly decked out.

Our only reservation was its location; it really is very far from the main Benelmedena Costa and Marina. We walked to the Marina and it took about two and a half hours as a round trip. For us, we didn't mind (we like walking) but for anyone who wants restaurants and nightlife close by, this perhaps isn't the best option. The beach directly over the road isn't great either, but stroll a little way along the coast and there are far better ones. There is also a bus stop right outside, so getting places isn't an issue really

Overall, we were well impressed though. Reasonably priced hotel that exceeded expectations.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlatotelCostaDelSol, Community Manager at First Flatotel Internacional, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Customer,

First we want to thank you that you shared your experience on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you have been very satisfied with our facilities. About the distance to the city center, as you mention in your review, there is a bus stop right next to the door of the hotel and runs every 20-30 minutes.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hotel was in very good location. Our apartment was very cozy and everything was very clean.The hotel staff was very kind.Housekeeping in our room was 3 times a week.Would definitely like to return in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I don't know what some folks are on about re Flatotel we have just returned from a ten night stay and we had a great time. There were 8 of us inc 3 kids and we were always full after the lovely breakfasts and dinners. There was a full cooked breakfast with continental and cereals too every morning which was hot. There was something different every night and although there was not a huge choice there was more than enough to stuff you full. The rooms are HUGE with a full kitchen which was fab as we had a fridge to keep everything cold and a washing machine, which my mum loved! There is free air conditioning which works, in my experience the air con is not always free in a 3* and if it is it doesn't usually work very well, so we had lovely cold rooms at night to sleep in. We did go at a peek time so there was sometimes a problem getting a sunbed however there were a lot of sunbeds out and plenty chairs round the pool so you can usually get one if you are patient. The pool is lovely because its not freezing but it's cool enough that you can cool off after sunbathing. The pool bar is great because there are plenty of chairs and tables and there is lovely food that can be purchased. I would recommend the pizza it's just great.
The area is lovely and quiet and the views are outstanding, across the road there is a small beach which is gorgeous because it feels private the sunbeds cost €4 each. The staff are lovely and very helpful they are all smiling and will answer your questions promptly.
One thing I noticed was that there was quite a few spanish people there which I think suggests that it's a good hotel too. The supermarket is about a 10 min walk away top tip is to take your smallest trolley suitcase for the big bottles of water as there are hills to climb with your purchases.
To summarise we had a great time and would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. I love benalmadena and this was my third holiday there.
Enjoy :)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Flatotel Internacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Flatotel Internacional

Address: Ronda del Golf Oeste 75 | Urbanizacion Torrequebrada, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — First Flatotel Internacional 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your First Flatotel Internacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flatotel Internacional Hotel Benalmadena
Flatotel International
Flatotel Benalmadena
First Flatotel Internacional Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Flatotel Internacional, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.