We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for a short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alay

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Alay 5, Puerto Marina, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 47 hotels in Benalmadena
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
“great for a short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

hotel is dated yes tho it is very clean and in a great location.myself and 15 golfers have stayed here twice,and hotel is fine for what we need,with a good breakfast and excellent staff, both harbour area and centre of town are 5 mins walk

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    87
    80
    32
    26
See reviews for
28
102
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Weekend break.. Clean, tidy and well located.. Prob would stay again if i was back that way.. But I wont be back that way.. Benalmadena would not be for me.. The area is not great.. Bars and eateries and far to many people trying to sell you something, anything... Mind you, there is a great steak house in the marina (Argentinian)..:-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed at the Alay for the 5th time this year during our golf trip - always ok - rarley get to breakfast - but on the occassions i have its always been ok - agree about the cold beans! very polite staff, clean room - comfortable, will stay again - good value for money.

Room Tip: stayed in room 453 - close to the lift - good for hauling your clubs into!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

great hotel, all of us loved it. Clean, friendly, very quiet at night so not disturbed at all. Agree with all the comments about cold beans!! Fancy trying Portugal for next golf holiday but if we go back to Spain would'nt hesitate in booking Hotel Alay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. The staff are friendly and helpful. It is not a 4 star hotel more like a 3 star Irish hotel. The breakfasts are the same every day but there is plenty of choice. The rooms are basic but clean and tidied every day. Ask for a sea view room otherwise you may get a room that looks onto a cleared building site.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel is in a great location for the harbour, nightlife and it even has a local pub right next to it, alias the rovers, what a bonus!
We stayed for a birthday weekend and found the hotel clean, friendly and good value for money. Agree with previous review about breakfast, the beans were tepid, admittedly I didn't give this feedback at the time. Need to be less of a brit accepting things as ok.
For a large party (10 of us) the accommodation suited our needs and the rooms were of a good standard, the bed was very comfy especially after a night out on the pub trail, the zzzz zone was a sound one.
It has a spacious sun terrace, lots of sunbeds to relax on and is ideal for a large group, as well as a smaller one. You can see the harbour from this area, great aspect. We only used the pool once for an unexpected dip, very invigorating, it was quiet on the days we stayed.

The bar is a pleasant area and the drinks are reasonably priced for a hotel. Great for a couple of drinks before hitting the bars.

Overall a very good stay, looking forward to our next trip back already. Can't fault it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

very nice hotel very good position nice views over the marina but the English breakfast was always cold and there,s nothing worse than cold beans. rooms tidied and towels changed on a daily basis and the hotel is well situated close to the beach and shops and bars we went as a party of 16 men on a golfing trip for a week and I enjoyed my stay there so much so that I,m thinking of going back with my wife in august

Room Tip: I stayed in 554 and had a great view over the marina and the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Alay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alay

Address: Avenida Alay 5, Puerto Marina, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#18 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alay 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Alay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alay Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Alay Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.