We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just acceptable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alay to your Saves list
Hotel Alay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Alay 5, Puerto Marina, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Belfast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just acceptable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the location, right by the beach and harbour, close to all the night-life as well. The staff were mostly ok, but one of the waiters was a bit sleazy, and one receptionist was rude. Hotel mostly used by groups of male golfers.
Room was great as we had a suite, Food was just average. Great for a base. My friend and I just like the beach everyday. Nice quiet garden to lie in too. Would recommend the cable car trip up the mountain to an amazing bird of prey show.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    93
    89
    41
    26
See reviews for
31
120
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Stayed here with 6 friends for a long weekend at the end of Sept 2011.
This is a no frills hotel in an amazing location and close to lots of amenities. It is in need of some TLC but to be honest as it was only a base for us this fact wasn't a concern.
Staff members were polite but not overbearing and left us to get on with things. Our rooms were all close to each others which was helpful too. But the view from my room was dreadful and looked out onto a derelict pool and building.
The breakfasts were very good and included hot food, but the 'Fruit' juices tasted like powder so keep clear of these.
Definitely not a 4* as it advertises itself but a decent 3*.
The pool area has a garden which was well kept and tidy and had decent views.
As this was just a base for us we didn't spend too much time within the hotel. Its location though is worth much more than what we paid for our short break. If its quality you're looking for you may wish to consider somewhere else. But if its location this place is ideal as its only a minutes walk from the Marina.

Room Tip: For a cheap no frills base this place is ideal. With a good breakfast too. Try to request a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I hated this hotel from the minute came to reception and was greeted with ignorance i honestly felt like a nuisance. We had to pay for wifi 12 euro a day , this is free in most hotels it should definitely be free in a 4 star hotel which this definitely not, its a bad 3 star hotel. The rooms were dirty and so old looking badly needs new furniture.There was a thing for ice looked so dirty i nearly got sick. I could hear every noise and every door close, the walls must be paper thin. The only good thing was the view and location. The staff in my opinion, don't like the Irish.When we asked if wifi was free he started laughing at us.I would recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. I was so glad we were only there for 2 days.

Room Tip: dont go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Our room was clean, clean towels every day.

Fantastic views we were on the 12th floor and watched the sun come up every morning.
I asked for a sea view and I got one. I thought the staff were good. We were only bed and breakfast but that was good value for money, there were plenty of places to eat at night.

The pool area was a bit tatty, but the beach is just over the road so that did not bother us.
perfect location for everything. will definately go again. Very pleased for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view,4th floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is hotel is excellent, our room had a sea view on the 11th floor, the staff are very friendly and the rooms very clean with maid service daily. The location is excellent 2 mins from the beach, and the marina. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: High floor has a fantastic view and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Traditional Spanish Hotel,clean and comfortable,small but adequate balcony with lovely view over marina and beach area.Breakfast nice with good choice of hot or cold foods.Central location which suited us for short break.Not luxury but absoloutly fine for few days.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Athough it needs an upgrade decor etc, we found this hotel very comfortable clean , breakfast very good, and the rooms and beds were vey comfortable and most of all the airconditioning worked,staff at front desk were very co operative and they had no problem booking a taxi for our return trip to the airport. depending on where you stayed in the hotel it could get very noisy out side on the street at around 2 or 3 in the morning. this hotel is centrally located very close to the beach and to the marina which has superb quality restaurants ie the harbour restaurant .

Room Tip: choose a room around the fourth floor where we stayed facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alay

Address: Avenida Alay 5, Puerto Marina, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#18 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alay 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alay Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Alay Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.