We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor for 4*” 3 of 5 stars
Review of THB Torrequebrada Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added THB Torrequebrada Hotel to your Saves list
THB Torrequebrada Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Sol s/n, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Poor for 4*”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a 3 night visit after a week in another area. We know the area well and we wanted to stay there due to the on site casino. Our booking confirmed a double room but we were firstly given a twin room. Returning to reception to sort out a new room, we were told there were no double rooms available. As we had arrived in good time I stood my ground and again pointed out our booking details, at which time they magically produced the key to the room next door to our previous one which was double! No apology or attempt to explain why we had not been given the room in the first instance. The room was large and had plenty of hanging space, a fridge and a TV with only a couple of English speaking channels but we are on holiday so not a big issue, but the rooms are very dated. Unfortunately neither of us managed to have one shower without the temperature alternating between very hot and very cold during our entire stay.
The gardens are very nice and you can walk along the beach or the road into the town which takes about 20 minutes or so. The beach exit needs some work as it is very run down with dead plants and walls covered in graffiti.
No surprise that reception did not bother to ask if we had enjoyed our stay when we left and there was no evidence of any feedback forms anywhere in the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Frances, thank you very much for tell us about your experience. First of all I want to tell you that we do not have single rooms in THB Torrequebrada, we have double rooms with twin beds, and double rooms with double beds. Sorry about the inconvenience caused to you about beds type. About the hotel just tell you that we are closed for 3 months during the Winter and by this time we update hotel facilities every year. Another thing to tell you is that the City Hall from Benalmádena has started one week ago the building work for the new way to the beach and Puerto Marina. Best regards and we hope to see you son in THB Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    240
    146
    65
    34
See reviews for
136
291
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury Uk
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We came here on a tour with Julia Travel which was good and the other hotels selected were great but this was not!

First the good – the room was large and clean with a nice balcony; the outside pool area seemed nice.

Other than that this is one of the worst hotels I have ever been to. Admittedly I am used to hotels in cities and not holiday ones but the basic premise of being polite and providing a welcoming rather than a hostile environment remain.

Whilst the room was nice the TV, safe and hairdryer did not work and the cistern in the toilet was constantly running.

Check in provided an indication of what was to come. It was a grumpy distrustful process. The area around the hotel was like a war zone. Graffiti everywhere, seats broken rust lamp posts fallen into the sea – there is no beach. Most exits from the hotel are broken and rusted shut.

The gym was four bits of equipment – two with notices on them saying they were malfunctioning.

The food was awful – just really badly done and there are notices everywhere saying ‘Don’t take too much food’ ‘Don’t take food or cutlery out of the Dining Room’ – this is a hotel not a correctional institution! The waitress also refused to give us water for the table without charging for it – never had that before.

We arrived for breakfast at opening time and as noted by other reviewers the hot breakfast was cold – in fact just the wrong side of tepid.

This is not a Four Star Hotel but feels more like a Two Star Open Prison!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Dear Stuart,
first of all we want to thank you so much for taking your time giving your opinion about your stay with us.
We keep every year improving our services and refurbishing areas and rooms, reception area is brand new since last year.
About our All Inclusive service we offer two tipes the basic one cheaper whith limited food and drinks and the All Inclusive Plus whith more kind of food and drinks. About food we do have 5 thematic dinners per week american, italian, mexican, andalusian and asian nights.
We hope to see you again soon here in THB Torrequebrada or any other THB Hotels.
Best Regards.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

This hotel has a lovely position right on the beach and great views. Pool area has loads of room and plenty of sun beds. As for the pool bar ( IT IS NOT OPEN ALL WEEKEND) like the hotel management have said. We have just returned from this hotel (17th oct ) and the pool bar only opened once while we were there. The people who run this hotel should realise that if they want people to visit and pay good money even at the backend of the season they should provide the same service. Lets talk about the entertainment, well folks that was quick there wasn't any. now lets talk about the day time activities, don't bother, same again, If you like a very peaceful and extreamly quiet holiday then by all means go to this hotel, but if you want an exciteing rememourable holiday please go somewhere else. the hotel is very clean, the staff are all very helpful, rooms nice, food very average for 4*. The hotel is a bit out of the way bus stop out side. watch out for taxi drivers who rip you off

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Dear Wol,
thank you very much for your comments. We are happy to ear from you that your stay has been successful. Pool bar is open daily in high season but in low only weekends. We work hard every day for excellence and good service here in THB Torrequebrada and we hope to see you soon with us. Best Regards. The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal,Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Very big hotel right on seafront-lovely pools and gardens but both pools very deep-not suitable for small children.Pool bar only open for Fri,Sat,Sun and only drinks not food available to A/I customers.Bedrooms comfortable and clean but minibar is a fridge !!,even though we had A/I plus we would still have to pay to get it stocked.Restaurant can be chaotic,poor hot food choices-word of advice ,find a table and order your drink before getting your food( table near a cleaning station can be useful for getting a waiter).Finally the Saphir bar - absolutely dreadful -waited 30 mins one night to served and always had at least 10 min wait.Found others served ahead of us particularly the Spanish speaking.A/I plus did not include a choice of cocktails.A/I serves beer,wine and local spirits ,no A/I packages served in Piano Bar or Casino and no other restaurants other than Mediterraneo and Saphir bar were open.Entertainment was almost non existant.I had read other reviews and thought maybe it was'nt so bad -how wrong I was!Would not recommend or return to this hotel-go to Bahia Principe in Costa Adeje Tenerife for same money they know how to run and an All Inclusive.

Room Tip: High floors are quiet, this hotel has 2 separate towers,rooms facing Malaga or Fuengirola have nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Dear Patricia
thank you so much for taking your time and post your opinión about us. It is very important that we know how guests felt during their stay here in THB Torrequebrada.
Sorry about the inconvenience caused to you about the all inclusive plan details for your travel agency, they have all the info about it since the beginning of the season.
Also in your check in we gave you the AI plan, timetables, places and rules, so you knew all about it.
As you know AI finishes your departure day at 12 same as your check out time is.
Our pool bar is open daily only in high season, in low season only weekends.
Kind Regards. The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co. donegal ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Stayed here with my daughter and couldn't fault anything in this hotel from location to food .. Great air on in rooms and comfy beds.. Rooms cleaned everyday... Lovely pool area with two pools .. Pools quite deep ... Cleaned everyday and bar at pool serving food and drinks
Aileen and Julie ireland

Room Tip: All sea view.. We were on the 11th floor a bit scary if u don't like heights ... Prob opt for 5t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Dear Aileen & Julie,
thank you very much for sharing your experience in this web site.
For us is very important to know how our guests felt during their stay, we are very happy you enjoyed it!!!
We hope to see you soon here or in other THB Hotel.
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

So Myself and three friends stayed at this hotel recently. We booked to go All Inclusive, for four days.
1. The hotel does not allow you to get more than one drink at a time at the bar. We eventually took to hiding our drinks under the table in order to make sure that we had enough when the all inclusive ran out. We arrived late on the Saturday evening... 23.25pm, expecting to be able to get at least two drinks each, OH NO... The most vile and rude woman I have ever encountered refused to serve us. Making us wait until she had served her Spanish counterparts... Dreadful... The staff acted as if the drinks where actually being paid for out of their own wages. I woundn't mind but the alcohol is watered down anyway!
2. Rooms... Clean but old. Fresh towels everyday, maid service everyday. Empty fridges though, so don't expect a well stocked Mini Bar. Great views.
3. Restaurant - Food acceptable - just - you must like the cheaper cuts of meat and be prepared to wait for a waitress and drinks service. Breakfast I though was terrible, cheap sausage, eggs that had been standing out for ages. I stuck to fruit and crossaint. Don't expect anything nice to eat if you dont make breakfast or lunch, we were provided a rotten, old, smelly salad with mould spores, brown aging fruit and stale sandwiches. We showed this to Miguel who promptly provided us with fresh fries, toasties and fresh salad.
4. Staff - Miguel (we presumed a Duty Manager), did his upmost to help us out, but at the end of the holiday even he was sick of us! Sergio, worked behind the bar, very kind, offered us a lift to 24 hour square. Everyone else, rude and ignorant, and just shrugged their shoulders.
5. Check/In & Out- Dont expect to be able to get even a glass of water on the day you depart as your AI status runs out at 12pm, even though effectively we had at that point only done three days stay.
6. Pool area - disappointing, pool bar shut, apparently not open in 'low season'. So it was a five minute walk to the bar.
A very disappointing hotel, we were actually 'told off' for laughing and joking in the lounge area.
I seriously would not go back to this hotel, it is a good job we girls had a laugh together or else this hotel would have ruined a weekend.

Room Tip: Dont bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Dear Angewink,
thank you so much for taking your time and post your opinión about us. It is very important that we know how guests felt during their stay here in THB Torrequebrada.
Sorry about the inconvenience caused to you about the all inclusive plan details for your travel agency, they have all the info about it since the beginning of the season.
Also in your check in we gave you the AI plan, timetables, places and rules, so you knew all about it.
As you know AI finishes your departure day at 12 same as your check out time is.
Our pool bar is open daily only in high season, in low season only weekends.
Kind Regards. The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Just returned from 10 nights at the THB Torrequebrada. As everyone has said hotel is spotless and the few staff that are working there are wonderful but seriously overworked. We upgraded to a suite as got a good deal online and had a top floor room in Malaga Tower, magnificent views but room very poor. Laminate flooring very poorly laid and we kept catching our feet in the gaps in the floor all the time. Bathroom clean but very old, furniture well worn and curtains and bedcover were extremely old fashioned. We had received an email the day before departure informing us the hotel had been reduced to a 4 star but we have been in much better 3 star properties. The Best Benalmedena just down the road is a far better (and cheaper) hotel than this one! Food was never ever hot no matter what time we went for meals so ended up eating out most evenings - plenty of reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance. As we had managed to get a cheap deal we weren't too bothered about having to spend money to eat out but wouldn't have been happy if we had paid a lot for the holiday. A lot of people we spoke with had paid a lot more than us! Having said all that we did have a very enjoyable holiday, we met some lovely people and the weather was hot and sunny throughout our stay. We loved the area and resort and would definitely return but probably not to this hotel. For anyone visiting the hotel who has read the reviews stating there are no English channels on the televisions in the rooms speak with reception as one of the staff came to our room and reprogrammed the TV. This gave us 6 English channels including a movie channel. Hairdresser in hotel very good and reasonably priced - cut and blow dry 18 euros.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a suite - all rooms have sea views and appear similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORREQUEBRADA T, Director General at THB Torrequebrada Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
Dear Trabi50, thank you so much for taking your time and post your opinión about us. It is very important that we know how guests felt during their stay here in THB Torrequebrada. Every year we are closed for 3 months and by this time we do refurbish different áreas as needed. We hope to see you son with us. Kind Regards. The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to THB Torrequebrada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Torrequebrada Hotel

Address: Avenida del Sol s/n, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#16 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Torrequebrada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your best bet for Leisure and Business Ideally located on the beach-front of Benalmadena Costa, and with a sophisticated atmosphere, Hotel Torrequebrada is your best bet for both Leisure and Business. It offers a wide gastronomical variety of delicious food, peace and tranquility in its extensive gardens, Shows in the Sala Fortuna, fun and entertainment in the Casino, spacious, fully equipped conference rooms, activities and entertainment during the summer months and Wellness area for relaxation. All of this together with a relaxed atmosphere on the shore of the Mediterranean Sea and only 30 minutes from Marbella and Malaga, right in the heart of the Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your THB Torrequebrada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Torrequebrada
THB Torrequebrada Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THB Torrequebrada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.