We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Very Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Fermin

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Fermin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 4 more sites!
Hotel San Fermin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida San Fermin 11, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 48 hotels in Benalmadena
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value and Very Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I spent 5 nights at the hotel and thought that it was great value for money.
Id never been to Spain before and for me this was a chill out holiday as I was looking for total relaxation and some sun as I have had recent health issues.
I found that this hotel very clean, toilets spotless, and service extremely good.
I have seen comments about the food and to be fair I thought is was ok but not spectacular.
It is a buffet style. I guess some of it was a bit bland and some things very greasy but it was functional and we did have half board meals there . The last night we decided to go to a restaurant near the Marina ( well worth a visit) but of course if you do it every day it gets costly and so doing it this way was very cost effective.
There is a lot to do at the hotel if you join in with some of the things on offer and a lot of the staff were very friendly.
There is a steep walk down to the beach and I do think the walk up could be difficult for less mobile people.
The major concern with hotels is cleanliness and over the years you see and hear horror stories but I cannot fault this for cleanliness.
Anybody going to this resort or area must also do the cable car..It cost about 13 Euros and there was when I went a falconry display. The best value I think ive ever had. The cable car experience was amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    184
    98
    28
    18
See reviews for
64
211
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel was lovely for what we wanted it for! As we are a young couple who mainly use the hotel just to sleep and shower as we are out all day and night! Staff are very friendly and very helpful hotel is clean, breakfast was a little disappointing nice enough but quite greasy, I saw a few comments regarding cardiac arrests hill which made me laugh! Yes it's a slight hill but i would suggest it was the older people of athletically challenged people who struggled with it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and as we got a good deal and I was really pleased with what we got. Hotel was spotlessly clean and rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard. Pool was good size, although do agree its a bit cheeky to charge €2 to have a sun lounger, there's plenty of grass to lie on thou if this doesn't bother you. Was an easy walk to the beach and after reading other comments about the hill I braced myself for a horrendous bank, yes it's steep and probably not good if you have mobility issues but if you are able bodied its not as bad as some people have made out. Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat in the hotel. There's a nice late bar down the road called capones, which has soul nights, karaoke etc and we ended up there each night as always had a good atmosphere in there and stayed open until 4am.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

You get what you pay for! Rooms clean & basic.... Restaurant and general staff friendly but bar staff are rude and ignorant towards the English, you've been warned!! Sun beds cost €2 per day and woo betide if you want one before 10.30am as they are chained up!! Breakfast ok, again cheap & cheerful. Evening meal was €12 although we never tried it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights from 24th May to 30th. Wasn't expecting a lot as we only paid £110 each HB.
Given a warm welcome at reception and off to our room. Room was nice with lovely bathroom. Just a bed and built-in robes small table and bedside cabinets. Tele was good with British channels inc. BBC and ITV. Balcony over-looked pool and got sun from around 3 till 8. The pool area was very nice with outside seating for drinks and a lovely grassed area for beds. You have to pay for sunbeds but can also just put your towels on grass which is fine.
The biggest surprise was the evening meal. We got there on friday and the food was excellent for the next 3 nights. The quality was way above what we were expecting for the price. Sadly for some reason, the 4th and 5th nights were not so good but the 6th was back up to excellent. Breakfast was ok but the same every day.
Good location too. Plenty of British bars around the doors and a short walk to beach (down a steep-ish bank). Sadly the resort itself was pretty quiet on the nights.
One problem, which is nothing to do with hotel. The Spanish holiday makers are so rude.I won't
go on about this as, if you've been in a hotel with lots of Spanish you already know that.
All in all thought the hotel was great value for money and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a long w/e staying in this hotel. The staff were extremely cheerful, helpful and always pleasant. The poolside area we thought had lovely surrounding gardens so relaxing sit in in-between dips! Like most of the other reviewers we agree with comments concerning the food. It was adequate and there was always something you could find to eat however, the Saturday lunch buffet was extremely popular with the locals who seemed to devour everything! The hilly terrain would be somewhat of a problem for those with mobility difficulties, but once negotiated, the beach and promenade are well worth the walk, along with the marina to visit. Rooms were clean and beds comfy enough. Was baffled by the air con unit however, that seemed to blast out hot air despite our best efforts so ended up just turning it off!! I'm sure we will return, great value for a w/e visit.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in May 2013. The hotel is located close to the beach and the promenade though a short walk up a steep hill. The entrance and reception are uninspired though the staff working on the reception desk are helpful.

Rooms are reasonably sized and have balconies. We stayed at the front of the hotel with a room overlooking the main entrance. It was a peaceful location with little noise. The room was reasonably well furnished. The safe costs 2.50 euros per day with a 5 euro deposit. The bathroom was a reasonable size with an overbath shower which was fine. Beds are twin beds pushed together and were comfortable. However, the pillows were flat and very firm-not to everyone's taste.

We stayed half board and thought the food was poor. Breakfast had a combination of hot and cold food but the hot food tended to be very greasy. However, we could usually find something to eat. Evening meals were bland and uninspiring so we ate out on some nights. However, the restaurant was usually fairly full so the food must have suited quite a lot of the guests.

The area is quiet though there are supermarkets and bars close by. The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk from Bonanza Square and a 10 minute walk from the marina.

It was our first trip to Benalmadena and, having booked late we knew little about the resort. We initially found it very quiet but discovered that, once passed the marina, the promenade is busy and the walk towards Torremolinos is quite pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Fermin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Fermin

Also Known As:
San Fermin Hotel
Hotel San Fermin Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Address: Avenida San Fermin 11, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Fermin 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel San Fermin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Fermin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.