We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Patos Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Los Patos Park to your Saves list
Hotel Los Patos Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Torrealmadena, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Northampton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were very disappointed with this hotel - it was not a "cheap" holiday, yet it felt like a two star hotel. Crowds and queues all the time - the staff seeming to feel they needed to keep everyone in line - bossing you around as if you were a child at school! The restaurant was a bit of a bun fight - noisy, and competitive to get food! If you want a sun bed you need to queue for 45 minutes until they "kindly" open the gates and let you in! It felt like being back at school in many respects. Staff seemed to favour Spanish guests, and would merrily serve any Spanish in front of the British, even if they had only just appeared and you had been queuing for ten minutes! Quite stressful on many counts. Will not return! And... they do not provide towels for the pool, so if you do go, make sure you bring yours - not quite what I expected from a supposedly 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    218
    109
    34
    31
See reviews for
330
107
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked this quite last minute, and having read some other reviews we were a bit apprehensive - however we were absolutely thrilled with this hotel. The water slides were the biggest attraction for my 2 boys, aged 7 and 10, and they made good use of them. The lifeguards were really lovely with all the kids, and very friendly. The rooms are a bit on the small side for a family of 4, but they are clean, towels are changed daily and there is plenty of hot water. We booked half board, and the choice of food was amazing - there were typically 4 or 5 meat dishes, 2 pasta dishes, a couple of rice dishes and then an enormous selection of cold meats, accompaniments and desserts. For breakfast, there was the usual selection of hot food ( with a microwave to warm it up), cereals, fresh fruit, breads and pastries. The food was delicious, and the service friendly and efficient. Another highlight for us was the Happy Hour in the bar, from 5-6! Despite what others have posted, we found the bar staff to be polite and helpful - in fact all the staff in the hotel were really great.
In conclusion, for the price we paid we thought the facilities and service at this hotel were absolutely superb. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in 403, which had a fantastic sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Los Patos Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Samantha,

Many Thanks for sharing such a positive experience on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read comments like yours which clearly show the effort we daily make to offer the best possible service.
Thanks for pointing out the good disposition of our staff, the quality of our facilities, cleanliness and our wide variety of food at the buffet.

We would be delighted to welcome you and your family again at Los Patos Park in a future holiday.

Best Regards

Soraya Brown
Quality Coordinator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

If your expecting a 4 star hotel, don't even look at this hotel.

friendly staff but this hotel is defenetly not a 4 star, it is maybe a 2 star hotel.
A hotel for elderly, they roll their eyes at the restaurant if your children making noise or taking food from the buffet.
Rooms are horrible and small, not cleaned properly, very old TV, not even working properly, I am sad that I have booked this hotel, wasted money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Los Patos Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to send you our apologies for the bad experience you had at our hotel. Although we made a strong effort in changing you to a different room but you refused to do so; then you demanded to have an extra room but you only made the reservation for one, as a result of that we couldn´t fulfill your demand.

Regarding the TV, our maintenance technician came to your room straight after you complained, (advised by myself), stating that it had to be switched on before you could see any programs and that it works perfectly. Problem solved!!

Many thanks for your kind comments about our staff, I agree that they are very efficient and also many thanks for taking the time sharing your opinion about our hotel with us.

Best Regards

Soraya Brown
Quality coordinator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Queensferry, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hotel stay 11-18 October 2013
Arrived evening with a request for as low a floor as possible as I have vertigo, only to be told we were on the 9th floor, this was soon rectified and put onto the first floor, great service.
This hotel definitely warrants the 4 stars, family of 3, spent most days by the pool, amazing pools, pool at the bottom by snack bar usually used by mature adults, second pool used everyday by my 4 year old son, fantastic pirate ship in the pool with slides and not too deep to worry about him with 3 lifeguards on duty who did an excellent job of keeping an eye on the kiddies, then onto the 3rd pool with slides who needs a water park when this is available in the hotel for free, again lifeguards on duty for safeguarding those big kids (men).
The food was good, breakfast not a varied selection but enough, we were half board - breakfast and evening meal - (we would have preferred evening meals to start from 6pm) - they start at 7pm - (but that's our personal preference having a 4 year old), thanks to Salvo for being such a great host in the dining room.
We had hoped there would be free Wi-Fi - but there is Wi-Fi available for one euro for 15 mins not too bad.
Hotel I agree needs updating but if this was done the price would have doubled, its clean and like the other reviews the maids do a great job of cleaning the rooms to a high standard.
Thanks for a lovely stay and we have recommended the hotel to everyone since coming home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Los Patos Park, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Georgina,

A Big Thank you for your review.
Reception staff was very pleased by your comments obviously.
We have a staff meeting tomorrow and I will use your review to show again how much our guests are happy when we help them during their stay.

Also I have noticed in your review that you would have liked free Wi-Fi, the things is ... We have!!!. Haven´t you noticed the Wi-Fi sign on the public area, next to reception? You only needed to ask any of us or at reception for the password and we kindly give it to you....

I hope next time you come and visit us you are able to take full advantage of it.

My best wishes for you and family and I hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Soraya Brown
Quality Coordinator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our first stay at Los Patos Park, chosen for its location (close to the airport), as well as value for money. Although it was out of the main season, the hotel was reasonably busy with a mix of nationalities.

The hotel was spotless throughout with very clean rooms and an excellent maid service. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, with particluar mention for Floren at the bar, Salva in the restaurant and Lola on reception.

The food was good with a good salad selection and a mixture of main meals (red meat, chicken, fish, paella, pasta, pizza), which was more than enough for all the family (2 adults and a 10 year old).

We chose the all inclusive option and this was good value for both meals and the bar. The selection of drinks was good and the all inclusive was available from after breakfast through to midnight.

As things were a little quieter we didn't have to queue at any point and service was very good all round. The lifts were ok but I can understand why this may be a problem during busier times.

The waterpark was very good and provided entertainment throughout the day for all the family. This is a great feature and we used it everyday during our short stay. The hotel is around a 5 minute walk to the beach and 20 minutes to the main areas.

Overall a very good stay and we hope to return again at some point.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Los Patos Park, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Short but Sweet !! Thank you for your very kind words.

It´s always great for the team to see that all their hard work is recognised!!

Best Regards


Soraya Brown
Quality Coordinator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have just this minute returned from our 4th holiday at Benalmadena this year and the 2nd holiday at Los Patos!
Everything was excellent....definitely 4 stars!!
We had a brilliant room on the 8th floor and had amazing views and a good sea view from our balcony. We had an initial problem with the door not locking and after we had mentioned this to reception....within the hour there was a knock on the door from maintenance to fix it which they did no problem!! Such was the efficiency of how this place is run!
Our room was cleaned every day. Our bed was made everyday and we had clean towels everyday. The cleaner worked her socks off and our room was always immaculate upon our return from a day out exploring!!
The food was excellent.We chose half board which was more than adequate. Breakfasts AND evening meal always lots to choose from and buffet type. We were spoilt for choice. The deserts were excellent!!!
Evening entertainment every night until 11.30 kept everyone entertained and not bad either!!.
The Waterpark within the hotel.....you have to see this to believe it...it is amazing..YOUR KIDS WILL LOVE IT!!! Whats more it is completely free!! It was in the throws of being built when we visited Las Patos in May and it was nice to return to see the waterpark finished. In the hotel there are 4 pool areas with 3 designated for the kids...and 2 within the water park....Lots of kids enjoying the park with the pirate ship and the chutes....lots of kids very happy with smiling faces having loads of fun whilst their parents were able to relax in the sun on loungers . No problem with sunloungers...always lots of them.
This is an exceptionally well run and well managed hotel and all the staff are extremely polite, helpful and professional.
The beach is about 10 mins walk from the hotel
We had a lovely time at Los Patos and our weeks holiday was simply not long enough!
We will definitely be returning in the future!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Los Patos Park, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
What an amazing review!!

We rely heavily on word of mouth so we would like to thank you for sharing your positive experience.

Can´t wait for your third visit where we will certainly be pleased to show you our new improvements to our hotel.

Best Regards

Soraya Brown
Quality Coordinator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone , N.I.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our pleasure at getting a rooftop terrace was marred by a smell , apparently from the sewer system , which was present there throughout the week . The antiquated tv didn't work at all for 24 hours and then only provided muffled sound and a grainy picture on two English-language channels . Room was small , lacked a bathrobe or slippers ( this is supposed to be 4-star ) , and I was surprised that there was a charge for using the safe . Food was poor : at least from a vegetarian viewpoint , but the menu seemed to change remarkably little for anyone from night to night . So every morning it was chips and beans for breakfast ! In the evening what vegetables there were , were almost always ruled out by the addition of miniscule amounts of meat , and dishes that might have been suitable were not labelled as such . Cleanliness and location , while not a major problem , were just fairly good . We didn't pay that much and if they were only claiming 3-star status , I might be less severe .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Los Patos Park, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear customer,

I would like to apologize for your disappointment with the room you were allocated. We do have a rolling programme of refurbishment for our bedrooms starting on the 1st of November aiming an improvement of our standards.

Regarding our buffet, I accept that we don´t always get it right and that we will never please everybody but I am confident that on the whole we offer a quality product and service; however this is a department where we are continuously working on and has already shown a great improvement.

Should you be willing to give us another chance in the future then please contact me directly at the hotel and I will personally ensure we provide you with a more positive experience.

Best Regards

Soraya Brown
Quality Coordinator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Patos Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Patos Park

Address: Calle Torrealmadena, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#9 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Los Patos Park 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Patos is a modern hotel situated in the residential area of Benalmádena Costa, 200 metres from the beach, totally renovated in 2007.It is composed of 274 rooms, all with terrace, complete bathroom, hairdryer, air conditioning, satellite television, mini fridge and safe. Spacious lounge, cafeteria, games room, boutique, Internet point, mini club, entertainment day and night. A large garden with a solarium, outdoor pool, children´s pool and heated pool. Recreation areas for adults and children´s playground. Daytime activities and evening entertainment including dancing nightly, cabaret, shows and weekly Andalucian evening with Flamenco. New Pirate themed Mini club for children (5 to 12 years). With our newly opened water park this summer 2013 that is fully operational, we have expanded our range of leisure with an area of 3,000 m2 and a total of 4 swimming pools, offering fun guaranteed for the entire family and an unforgettable holiday.Our water park consists of a lake children’s pool of irregular shape and 750 m 2 of water surface, with water games for children: pirate Galleon with a double straight slide, extra wide chute and a slide tube with giro, masts, sails and diffusers water cannons and sandy beach. For the enjoyment of the little ones, there are a snake marina and a shark slides, a mushroom shower, and a tower with two slides and a tipping bucket.One swimming pool for adults of rectangular shape with 300 m2 of water surface with one waterslide multitrack (4 tracks), a tube slide and 3 curved open and enclose body slides in a themed area and a rock garden with Palm trees. To complete our water park, by the pool bar area there are a swimming pool for adults and another children’s pools with 300 m2 of water surface.Parking outside and garage. Excellent catering, show cooking, buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Los Patos Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Patos Hotel
Hotel Los Patos Park Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Patos Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.