We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teleferico Benalmadena

Teleferico Benalmadena
Explanada del Tivoli, s/n,, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
952 57 77 73
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 117 things to do in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stunning ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was the highlight of my vacation, a truly stunning ride on the cable cars up to the top of the mountain. Great views and walks and then a falconry show that alone was worth the price of the ticket. Awesome

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    267
    66
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Never ever again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We visited the top of this mountain at the end of Feb this year. We used the teleferico last year to ascend/descend the mountain. Having looked around then we decided that next time we would climb the mountain and use the cable cars to descend.
So at the end of Feb we duly left Benalmadena and followed the paths (not very well signposted) and eventually reached the cable car station near the summit. We had been looking at the cable cars ascending/descending all morning and hoped to reach the station before they finished for the day. In the event we were there by 3.00pm really looking forward to sometihing to eat and more importantly --- a drink. There were some people in and about the kitchen/dining areas, some were eating, but they told us that they were CLOSED and refused to even give us a drink of water from the kitchen.
Next the man on the cable cars said that we could not use them, come back tomorrow was all he would say. So no food --- no water -- no cable car. Will we return? a very definite NO.

It probably took us another 3 hours to make the descent, in a hot country this was unforgiveable!

As regards the normal facilities expected from an attraction like this, well were none -- even the toilets were not made available to us although they are there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Benalmedena Teleferico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A good lengthy journey to a great spot where one can enjoy the views, falconary or take a walk on one of the many trails. It would be good if they could sell a good detailed map of the walks. We used an old map and still got lost coming down as things have changed. Well worth the visit and good value for money. There is a good cafe at the other end.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire, uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Third time lucky!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

After trying twice before to try to go up on the cable cars, both on this visit and a previous visit, have finally managed to make it up the mountain, and have got to say that it was well worth the trip!! The views are fabulous, just make sure you have your comfy shoes on!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Having vertigo I wasn't sure I could handle the ride up and back, but it was actually quite nice. It provided excellent views that I am glad I didn't miss! Would go again!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teleferico Benalmadena also viewed

Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Teleferico Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teleferico Benalmadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.