We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way to spend an hour or so” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Park of Benalmadena

Butterfly Park of Benalmadena
Calle Muerdago, s/n (Beside Buddhist Temple), 29639 Benalmadena, Spain
951-211-196
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 34 Attractions in Benalmadena
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend an hour or so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have been to several butterfly parks and this one rates the best in my opinion. It is small compared to ones I have been to, but had many more butterflies to see up close. The plants there are very pretty too. It also has two large iguanas that you can get quite close to along with a wallaby. Very good opportunity for some close up photos. They also have a search sheet for children. We had not planned on going to it, but noticed it while we were at the Buddist temple. Fortunately it wasn't crowded that day and not too hot outside. Don't know how it would be if it was crowded.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    95
    27
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Flutterbies aplenty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I love butterflies anyway so this was always going to be a time of pleasure but it proved to be so much better than expected. The local bus stop is just near by, it's easy to see when to get off as the Buddhist Temple, next to the Butterfly park is clearly visible. No queue to get in, you have to be over 65 to qualify for senior, made me feel good even if it cost more! One of the staff inside advised us that a brief talk in English would be starting in a few minutes, this was very interesting about the different stages of butterflies and moths standing watching said butterflies emerge from their chrysalis'.
The flora is worth a visit even without the amazing butterflies that were all around us. There were beautifully coloured little birds, a baby wallaby(!) and we saw a couple of iguanas posing for photos!
We stayed much longer that anticipated and would liked to have been able to have a bite to eat but as yet there are no facilities although it looks as if there may well be in the future. It was quite a trek (I had my 87 year old Mother with me) to the Pueblo to find a cafe and a very reasonable and freshly cooked lunch.
The views out over the coast were wonderful from by the Temple.
The loos were clean and good.
The buses apparently are rather hit or miss timewise but we were lucky in both directions.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Worth a look if your in the area would not travel far to see it.Lots of lovely flutter byes lol,you wont stay long inside with the butterflies .

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A magical place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This may be small but it is something special. Such a delight to have butterflies flying over you. There are also birds, an iguana and a wallaby.
You can come in and out as much as you please during the day which is handy as it's quite humid.
It's also right beside the Buddhist Temple which has beautiful views. We took a bus from Torremolinos which only cost €1.50 each single and it's quite a fair way up the mountain so this was very reasonble. I booked the butterfly tickets online and got them cheaper.
I would go back again and would recommend this lovely place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“smaller than expected but a nice little trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I think we spent about an hour there and had a nice time, but the "park" was smaller than what we expected. Luckily not many people were there at the same time as us. Don't expect to make an all-day event out of going :-)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Park of Benalmadena also viewed

Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Butterfly Park of Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Park of Benalmadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.