We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fonda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fonda to your Saves list
Hotel La Fonda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Santo Domingo de Guzman 7, 29639 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at La Fonda. We were dropped off by the mini bus at the bottom of a hill and told to take the glass lift up and when we stepped out it was like walking into another world, spotless white bulidings with teracotta rooftops. The hotel was amazing our room on the 3rd floor had beautiful views and a terrace to sit out on, it was well worth the extra few pounds. As everyone else has said the breakfast was lovely freshly cooked eggs everyday and friendly efficient staff looking after everyone. We will definately be recommending La Fonda to friends and hope to return next year. We booked our transfers with malaga shuttlebus again a great service for 14 euro's each return. You can get a bus to any of the nearby resorts for 1.55 euro's, they run regularly from the top of the road or 10 euro's in a cab if you prefer.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sun terrace are definately worth the few extra pounds. robes and slippers in room and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
91
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a beautiful hotel , wish we stayed longer . The staff were all really nice and really cared about you having a good stay. Wow to the breakfast and the service their. We have never seen a breakfast buffet like it, everything was lovely and fresh. The rooms were very spacious and clean and comfortable. The roof top sunbathing area was lovely and comfortable with great loungers. Thankyou to La Fonda for a lovely few days.

Room Tip: Room 205 overlooking pool lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My friend and I found this wonderful hotel whilst we were at the restaurant La Fuente last September, and decided to give it a try this year when we were back in the region. Were we disappointed? No way it was perfect, our room on the 4th floor had rooms with views to die for, breathtaking. The room itself was very tasteful, and we had a bottle of champagne and a nice plate of fruit, and chocolates, probably because of a bit of a mix up in bookings by one of the staff, which was very quickly rectified, when they discovered the error. The dining room was very nice, and the food excellent, and very well laid out too its best advantage. In fact I would say the Croissants there were even better than Bettys Cafes in Yorkshire, and they take some beating. The very nice young man who came to our table asked If we wanted anything cooking fresh, ie Full breakfast, crepes, omelettes. We will definatley return there. Everything was wonderful, oh unless like me you've got bad knees and not good on the stairs, no lift to 4th floor!!! Only one minor hiccup .

Room Tip: Fourh floor for spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

smashing little hotel in great surroundings -lovely cosy rooms and everything had a nice Spanish feel.Sun deck on roof for relaxing plus nice pool,Wonderful al fresco breakfast- we both said probably the best buffet breakfast we've ever had!.staff we're very nice and helpful.The pueblo is great for eating out al fresco-try Pepe's just a 100 metres down the road - very good.Wi Fi we thought very good especially in our room-don't hesitate if you want a really good time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G and rach in the frew
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Convinced my wife to go here for a long weekend and we had a great weekend. Having spent a few stag weekends in Benalmadena I did not know what to expect of our location as we were set away in sleepy Benalmadena Pueblo up the hill and away from the madness below.
We contacted the staff beforehand to arrange transfers and were greeted at Malaga airport by a friendly driver in a rather plush Audi A6 - great start. We arrived to meet the lovely nevita behind the reception and were shown to our modern and spotless room situated within a courtyard with swimming pool the focal point. A roof terrace with modern loungers and even a bed meant a few chilled days spent in 28 degrees sunshine and mojitos at happy hour made my day. Breakfast each morning out on the terrace in the sunshine was delightful - continental fare although the friendly staff always offered bacon and eggs of your choice each day too.

The short 20min journey from the airport took us to this beautiful part of Benalmadena which consisted cobbled streets of pristine old white washed buildings and an array of colourful plants,fruit and vegetation on display outside. A matter of yards from the hotel led us to a beautiful old church in one direction and a square in the other comprising a handful of restaurants - my favourite the restaurant la fuente!

There are a number of small bars and restaurants within a short walk and the place is peaceful and tranquill with great views of the ocean and town below. Indeed if you are looking for a livelier stay you should look at accommodation down the hill closer to the beach as this is definitely not one area for clubbers, albeit I'm sure you could get a taxi to and from. This is a region where you are but a short drive by car or bus to something different every day if you liked. I will be taking in a Malaga CF game next time and a wee round of golf if i'm allowed to lol.

My only gripe I had was the location of our room next to the cleaners staff room, as we were situated in a courtyard the noise of the cleaners talking and opening/closing doors was very frustrating. However the plus points definitely outweigh the minuses and this is one hotel we will definitely return to in the future.

Room Tip: Avoid room 207 due to location nextdoor to cleaners staff room. They begin their day very early and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Superb rooms and nice surroundings. Great breakfast which was included in the price. Nice balcony with a great view over the sea.
Their WiFi lacked a bit of coverage though.
Good value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenavy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Hotel La Fonda, Benalmadena, Pueblo, 7th to 13th September 2013, this hotel is an absolute hidden gem, which I would have no hesitation recommending to anyone. I have stayed on many hotels during my working life and whilst on holiday, yet I can honestly say this hotel rates highly among t every best of them.

The cleanliness, service, food were exceptional and the hotel has a real personal touch and ambience about it. This is not something you get you come across in multi national hotels, but is something very much reserved for a family run hotel.

The hotel is situated in Benalmadena, Pueblo (village), thankfully far away from the hustle and bustle of Benalmadena Costa. Here you can experience real village life among the native families of Spain, in a peaceful and traditional; village environment.

Only 15 mins from Mijas by bus and likewise to Benalmadena Costa. 20 mins from Malaga airport.

The views from the hotel are amazing, looking over Benalmadena Costa and Fuengorola.

The local restaurants in the village square (Plaza De Espana) are very good and offer a fine range of foods of various traditions. at the other end of the street, Meson Pepe offers some excellent food also.

However, the key focus here is the hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the hotel itself provides a very serene, relaxing, high quality hotel experience, which you tend not to find too frequently in a holiday location.

I most certainly will be going back to Hotel La Fonda, probably the best hotel experience I have ever had throughout the course of my working life and whilst on holiday!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda

Address: C/ Santo Domingo de Guzman 7, 29639 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Fonda 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fonda Hotel is situated in front of Mediterranean and in the most charming village of the cost of Málaga, Benalmádena Pueblo. Designed by famous artist Cesar Manrique canary, with which we can experience the sensation of being in an oasis La Fonda Hotel is your starting point to discover this charming Andalusian village, the mountains, sea and all the peoples of the coast. After a full restoration and decoration with the most advanced techniques, your new property has got a magical hotel. The use of wood, the harmony of spaces and the soothing sound of her sources have created an atmosphere present in every detail of the hotel, this is complemented by personalized service is key to his philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Escapio, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Fonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonda Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fonda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.