We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fonda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fonda to your Saves list
Hotel La Fonda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Santo Domingo de Guzman 7, 29639 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

smashing little hotel in great surroundings -lovely cosy rooms and everything had a nice Spanish feel.Sun deck on roof for relaxing plus nice pool,Wonderful al fresco breakfast- we both said probably the best buffet breakfast we've ever had!.staff we're very nice and helpful.The pueblo is great for eating out al fresco-try Pepe's just a 100 metres down the road - very good.Wi Fi we thought very good especially in our room-don't hesitate if you want a really good time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
91
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
G and rach in the frew
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Convinced my wife to go here for a long weekend and we had a great weekend. Having spent a few stag weekends in Benalmadena I did not know what to expect of our location as we were set away in sleepy Benalmadena Pueblo up the hill and away from the madness below.
We contacted the staff beforehand to arrange transfers and were greeted at Malaga airport by a friendly driver in a rather plush Audi A6 - great start. We arrived to meet the lovely nevita behind the reception and were shown to our modern and spotless room situated within a courtyard with swimming pool the focal point. A roof terrace with modern loungers and even a bed meant a few chilled days spent in 28 degrees sunshine and mojitos at happy hour made my day. Breakfast each morning out on the terrace in the sunshine was delightful - continental fare although the friendly staff always offered bacon and eggs of your choice each day too.

The short 20min journey from the airport took us to this beautiful part of Benalmadena which consisted cobbled streets of pristine old white washed buildings and an array of colourful plants,fruit and vegetation on display outside. A matter of yards from the hotel led us to a beautiful old church in one direction and a square in the other comprising a handful of restaurants - my favourite the restaurant la fuente!

There are a number of small bars and restaurants within a short walk and the place is peaceful and tranquill with great views of the ocean and town below. Indeed if you are looking for a livelier stay you should look at accommodation down the hill closer to the beach as this is definitely not one area for clubbers, albeit I'm sure you could get a taxi to and from. This is a region where you are but a short drive by car or bus to something different every day if you liked. I will be taking in a Malaga CF game next time and a wee round of golf if i'm allowed to lol.

My only gripe I had was the location of our room next to the cleaners staff room, as we were situated in a courtyard the noise of the cleaners talking and opening/closing doors was very frustrating. However the plus points definitely outweigh the minuses and this is one hotel we will definitely return to in the future.

Room Tip: Avoid room 207 due to location nextdoor to cleaners staff room. They begin their day very early and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Superb rooms and nice surroundings. Great breakfast which was included in the price. Nice balcony with a great view over the sea.
Their WiFi lacked a bit of coverage though.
Good value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenavy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Hotel La Fonda, Benalmadena, Pueblo, 7th to 13th September 2013, this hotel is an absolute hidden gem, which I would have no hesitation recommending to anyone. I have stayed on many hotels during my working life and whilst on holiday, yet I can honestly say this hotel rates highly among t every best of them.

The cleanliness, service, food were exceptional and the hotel has a real personal touch and ambience about it. This is not something you get you come across in multi national hotels, but is something very much reserved for a family run hotel.

The hotel is situated in Benalmadena, Pueblo (village), thankfully far away from the hustle and bustle of Benalmadena Costa. Here you can experience real village life among the native families of Spain, in a peaceful and traditional; village environment.

Only 15 mins from Mijas by bus and likewise to Benalmadena Costa. 20 mins from Malaga airport.

The views from the hotel are amazing, looking over Benalmadena Costa and Fuengorola.

The local restaurants in the village square (Plaza De Espana) are very good and offer a fine range of foods of various traditions. at the other end of the street, Meson Pepe offers some excellent food also.

However, the key focus here is the hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the hotel itself provides a very serene, relaxing, high quality hotel experience, which you tend not to find too frequently in a holiday location.

I most certainly will be going back to Hotel La Fonda, probably the best hotel experience I have ever had throughout the course of my working life and whilst on holiday!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Yorkshire, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Reviews are subjective to individual tastes but Hotel La Fonda was perfect for our requirements. We are a middleaged couple who wanted a quiet central location away from the hustle and bustle of the coastal areas to just chill and what a lovely stay we had. I splashed for a room with terrace which was on the top floor - It was spotless with subdued decor and all the trimmings. Sadly there were two single beds together rather than a queen or king bed and this would be my only gripe.
The hotel is of unusual design and on many split levels but we loved it. Breakfast is served on the lowest level in a bright restaurant and terrace with a fantastic view and almost all tastes catered for. theres is buffet plus cooked to order eggs, omlettes etc.
There has been mention that the pool is too small, however, it was ideal for our needs - It is effectively in a courtyard surrounded by rooms so I could see that if there were noisy kids splashing and playing it might be an issue.
Location is everything and the hotel is a 30 sec walk from the Plaza with several great bars and restaurants. Benalmadena Pueblo is a typical small spanish village with narrow windy streets so expect some steps if you are exploring.
The staff couldnt have been more helpful
In all
Fantastico

Room Tip: 401 has a balcony /terrace overlooking the whole area. Best way to get here is by Train from Malaga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in a stunning location, we were pleased to discover the pretty street outside and highly recommend Meson Pepe at the top of the hill opposite the church. After reading other reviews we were worried our toddler wouldn't be welcomed by other guests, but there were many other families with little people and they were well accommodated. The free parking and fridge helped to make our stay comfortable and we were pleased to find we had arrived during Feria. We found a lovely little cove a short drive from the pueblo and visited the Castillo Colomare, butterfly park and Buddhist Stupa - which were all within walking distance. There were plenty of restaurants and a few supermarkets in easy reach, including takes away options. We spent lots of time on the playground in the gardens near the church with stunning views all around. The pool area was never inaccessible and there was a lovely calm atmosphere, the towels provided by the hotel for swimming and great shower room allowed us to carry in using this area after checkout too. All the staff were friendly and spoke many languages - overall a great place to stay - just wish the cooking school restaurant had been open as it looked lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A fantastic location with high spec finishings in sumptuous surroundings. We stayed here for our honeymoon having married in nearby Mijas. The hotel is beautiful but communication is problematic as the room was two singles.

Room Tip: seek view of the coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda

Address: C/ Santo Domingo de Guzman 7, 29639 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Fonda 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fonda Hotel is situated in front of Mediterranean and in the most charming village of the cost of Málaga, Benalmádena Pueblo. Designed by famous artist Cesar Manrique canary, with which we can experience the sensation of being in an oasis La Fonda Hotel is your starting point to discover this charming Andalusian village, the mountains, sea and all the peoples of the coast. After a full restoration and decoration with the most advanced techniques, your new property has got a magical hotel. The use of wood, the harmony of spaces and the soothing sound of her sources have created an atmosphere present in every detail of the hotel, this is complemented by personalized service is key to his philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Fonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonda Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fonda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.