We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel with Outstanding Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fonda

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Fonda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Santo Domingo de Guzman 7, 29639 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 hotels in Benalmadena
Westlake Village, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quaint Hotel with Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this charming hotel and enjoyed the wonderful view from room 401 which has its own sea view terrace. The room has marble floors and attractive decor. The bathroom has shower and tub (the shower heads are stylish but not practical). The hotel is located in old town Benalmadena with its authentic old Spanish charm on a tiny cobblestone street - do NOT drive up to hotel - the streets are VERY narrow. Park at one of the parking lots the hotel recommends - walk and take the elevator up. It has a beautiful view over the roof tops and the coast line. The breakfast buffet is superb! Select from the buffet or allow one of the happy waiters to cook you something to your liking. My friend eats only gluten free and they had gone out and purchased gluten free items just for her! We walked about 25 steps to the little Plaza and had dinner at La Fuente Restaurant (another gem) almost every night! I will stay at Hotel La Fonda again next time I go to this area. I have stayed at many large hotel resorts and this time I wanted an authentic Spanish experience with a high level of happy service - Hotel La Fonda, Benalmadena exceeded my expectations!

Room Tip: I recommend room 401 which is a superior room with private sea view terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
70
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have stayed in Benalmadena a few times and last year we spent a week in the Aleysa on the coast. It does have a fine spa but apart from that, there is little to chose from La Fonda which is half the price. Both have unheated pools which are useless at this time of year and both do a comprehensive buffet breakfast. After this the similarities end. La Fonda has excellent hill top views over the coast, especially from the excellent all glass breakfast room. Here the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The bedrooms are very warm and comfortable (average temperature during the week we stayed here was about 8ºC!) There is a good bar for late night coffee and large brandy (about €7) The restaurant does not do dinner but as the hotel is part of the Commune's catering and hotel school, it is open for an excellent popular lunch. For a treat go for one of the daily fixed price three course lunches (€31) and a bottle of fine and reasonably priced local wine. A great way to spend a couple of hours on a wet and windy day being served by lovely and enthusiastic trainees. This is top of the range cooking at "normal" prices - the added little surprise amuses bouches and tid bits are a bonus too.

The hotel is just off Plaza Espana with good nearby restaurants - La Nina and La Fuente as featured on Trip Advisor as well as cafes and bars near the bus stop. We did try the Long Horn steak restaurant too and see my review - a bit pricey compared to these others.

This is a really nice hotel in an elevated but easily accessible position in the Pueblo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for a romantic weekend away somewhere hot but just for a few days so not too far. My Spanish friend recommended Benalmadena Peublo and we certainly weren't disappointed.
We only took hand luggage on the plane so it was really easy to get off the plane then cross the road and get a train straight to the centre of Benalmadena. It was then an easy bus ride up to the Pueblo which is a typical Spanish village.
When we arrived there was an African market throughout the village which was fantastic, the whole village was alive with food and drink and dancing and stalls for most of the day and well in to the early hours of the morning. At the end of the weekend, when the market had gone it transformed back into a quiet Andalusian village, just gorgeous.

The hotel is an beautiful oasis in this wonderful little village. The entrance is breath taking as is most of the hotel. The pool is adequate but if you want to get a serious tan you will need to go to the roof terrace or be prepared to move with the sun as the pool is at the bottom of a courtyard. The views from the roof terrace are amazing and you can see right over Benalmadena to the sea.
Our room was comfortable, very clean and well decorated with a lovely sea view. The only slightly strange thing was the shower and sink are in the corner of the bedroom without a door so who ever your sharing with can see you in the shower....but the toilet and shower were modern and kept very clean.
The breakfast room was lovely if you're brave enough to sit out in the Spanish sun there is a terrace or you can go into the air conditioned room. The breakfast food was wonderful, we ate far too much because there was such a lovely choice every day. Fruits, pastries, toast, cereals
and you can have eggs and bacon cooked if you wish.

The staff are extremely helpful, though their English wasn't the best but, hey your in Spain.

If you're looking for a nice quiet romantic get away and you're not that fussed about being near a beach (though it is just a bus ride away), then this is the place to go.

I definitely recommend the La Fuenta restaurant on the square in the pueblo, we had the most amazing tapas lunch there with wine that was so reasonably priced we thought they had got the bill wrong. If you like pizza the restaurant on the main strip in the village (can't remember its name) did really scrummy pizzas, perfect for lunch.

Benalmadena is a short ride on the bus and worth a visit. We ate at the Marina a few times and the Japansese restaurant was superb, it was the first teppanyaki we had had and I will definitely be having another one, so much fun.

Will definitely be going back one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in 5 hotels this trip and only this one had the sort of service one hopes for. It is evidently not easy for hotels to have staff who are considerate to their guests. One does wonder why you would be in this game if customer service does not come naturally. Thankfully almost to the man everyone at La Fonda was very kind and to top it all its a lovely hotel. This also was the only hotel that included a breakfast and a great breakfast at that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This place is lovely if you like peace & quiet..
Hotel is new, well maintained, tastefully designed, a cute little villa feeling.
Location is superb if you do not like the high-rise, crowded, touristiccy feeling of Torremolinos and Fuengirola, but do like the sun that comes with the south of Spain.
Just a 20 minute drive from Malaga airport, next to a cute square with 4 restaurants with great tapas and live harp music, this place is lovely for a relaxing non-noisy stay.

Room Tip: Take the deluxe rooms with terrace: lovely view of the see. For example: room 404
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed at Hotel La Fonda during the first week of October 2012. Debated whether to give it a 4 or 5 rating and settled on 4 for the following reasons.

Positives - Very clean hotel and has obviously been refurbished with a lot of care and attention to detail. The rooms are great with excellent bathrooms. The cleaning staff keep the rooms immaculate. The breakfast is first class as is the location and decor of the dining room. You can sit in or out doors and the staff will make you a breakfast to order or you can use the buffet table.

You need a car to get to the hotel and explore the area. The hotel is set in a beautiful old spanish village and whilst it might be remote for some we considered it to be idyllic. It was a joy to walk the clean, safe streets surrounded by locals without the usual brits abroad that you can find in this part of Spain.

There are a number of restaurants very close to the Hotel and we never had a bad meal (in fact we had some great ones). The Hotel and nearby restaurants are also very well priced. We holidayed in Italy in the summer and this area was a lot cheaper but in my opinion also better quality.

Negatives - Its very hard to find and the directions on the website are not the best. Parking is a real issue and staff direct you to a nearby 'free' car park where you get fined if you leave your car all day. This was not explained at check in and after receiving a fine was told first of to just ignore it and then that it was my own fault for not reading the Spanish signs. At no point was it the fault of the staff for directing you to the wrong car park in the first place. (there is a free one slightly further away).

There is also a very nice iron stair case within the hotel. Whilst it fits in with the surroundings it can be very noisy if your room is adjacent to it (ours was). As a result we bought ear plugs to block out the sound during the night.

Final negative point. All staff bar one were first class. The main english speaking receptionist was a nightmare and resolved any complaint by repeating herself over and over again. On the last day we could not have the room extended but were offered the use of a communal shower. Like all parts of the hotel the communal shower room was extremely clean and more than adequate. This was fine until we asked for a towel only to be told that we could not get a fresh bath towel and would have to use the pool towels that we had lay on all day. Thankfully another guest gave us towels from their room to use. Very poor service.

I appreciate its a bit unfair to focus on the negative (particularly one member of staff) when the rest were very good and the overall hotel experience was excellent. Despite one member of staff neeeding some customer service training we would definetly go again.

Room Tip: Do not be fooled by the term balcony when booking a room. This refers to a small Juliett balcony wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Staying here as I type, fantastic hotel very friendly staff, little difficult to find but you will not be dissapointed when you do find it. Near a lovely square with nice restaurants. Most relaxing hotel Ive been to.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda

Address: C/ Santo Domingo de Guzman 7, 29639 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Best Value Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Fonda 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fonda Hotel is situated in front of Mediterranean and in the most charming village of the cost of Málaga, Benalmádena Pueblo. Designed by famous artist Cesar Manrique canary, with which we can experience the sensation of being in an oasis La Fonda Hotel is your starting point to discover this charming Andalusian village, the mountains, sea and all the peoples of the coast. After a full restoration and decoration with the most advanced techniques, your new property has got a magical hotel. The use of wood, the harmony of spaces and the soothing sound of her sources have created an atmosphere present in every detail of the hotel, this is complemented by personalized service is key to his philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Fonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonda Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fonda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.