We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Sol y Miel

Save Saved
You added Hostal Sol y Miel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Sol y Miel
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Avda. Blas Infante, 14 | Arroyo de la Miel, 29631 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Benalmadena B&B and Inns
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I chose this hotel because I wanted to be in Arroyo de la Miel (and not on the beachfront, which does not feel much like Spain). The hotel is very basic, but is good value for the price paid. I took a double room to get extra space and it was a good decision. The room was sparsely furnished, but it was adequate. The room was very clean. Wi-fi worked well.
The location is excellent, close to the train station and to many bars and restaurants. Not the best location if you want to be close to the beach, but you can still walk there easily (it's a climb back, though).
On the negative side: the shower is really tiny (not a big issue, though), and it was noisy on my first night there, when some guests came back at night (but no noise during the 3 other nights).
To my knowledge, there are no 3-star (or 4-star) hotels in Arroyo. If there were, I would probably stay there. Otherwise, I would not hesitate to return to Hostal Sol y Miel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    28
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
24
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed at the Hostal from the 20th March to the 26th March 2012. I booked the hostal because it was cheap at 103 Euros. The hotel is 5 minutes from the station. Cross the road via crossing and walk straiight ahead and walk up the ramp on the left
On arrival we were given our room very early and were able to refresh and get out into the sun. The staff are very friendly and speak good english. They always have a smile for you whatever time of day. The room I found was good with a large king size bed. The furnishings are sparse but adequate. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and remained so for the rest of our stay as the room was serviced each day. The downside is the shower is very small and you struggle not to soak the bathroom floor. We had a balcony which overlooked the rear bar area of the hotel. The hotel is quiet but can be spoilt by fellow guests who can make noise when returning to the hotel at night. This only happened once and can only assume that the hostal staff spoke with them. There is also WiFi in all rooms which is great when using Skype to ring home. We had breakfast of toast and tea each morning which also came with pate, jam, tomatoes, and olive oil small cartons which cost 5.40 euros.
Ibensa square is a must to visit and in particular Bar Ibensa. The steak and kidney pie and peas is to die for at 3.50 euros or the massive baked potatoes, chilli and cheese for 3.60. Both these meals would set you up for the day.
If you fancy an evening meal you cant beat the Chinese restaurants who serve set meals starting at 4.50 for three courses. Yes 4.50. We had the set meal for two and a bottle of house wine for 13.50 at the Ixang restaurant. (From Ibensa square looking at the church turn left down hill its 75 metres on the left). The beer here is also very cheap and is frequented by ex-pats who enjoy a good time. We loved it.
If you want authentic Spanish food/Tapas look no further than El Rincoin de la Paquita which is situated at the rear of the hostal. (From rear exit turn right down ramp. The bar is the last one on the left opposite Nelsons)
We spent an afternoon being entertained by the locals and a woman in particular who was singing local Spanish songs. We were given Tapas with the drinks we ordered and were also given Tapas to try free. The food, drink and great staff were what memories are made of. In particular Paco who attempted to tell us what the Tapas were in his pigeon English. I would recommend a visit here as it is old school Spain with the most friendly staff and locals. I will be visiting again most definitely.
We also visited Torremolinous by walking the Carrawaya on the beach front. We bought two cokes in the cafe Samba in the square near the station and were charged 5.60 euros which as you can imagine is a rip off.

Room Tip: We had 202 at the rear of the hostal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The location for transportation is excellent, barely a minute from the train and bus station on a very pleasant pedestrianised street. Reading previous reviews I thought I would have to be Don Blas de Lezo to use the showers but it was quite roomy enough with plenty of hot water. The staff was extremely polite and informative and the room was basic but comfortable with excellent heating / AC. The beach is a 15-20 minute stroll down, down, down whereas the port is perhaps twice as far - but both are pleasant strolls blighted only by the occasional Irish pub and assorted bastions of English cuisine. There is a café and free internet and the only problem with my stay was the requirement that the main door be not just closed but slammed shut with maximum force, at any time of the day or night.
I'd stay at Sol y Miel again - but please try not to slam the main door.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The only down points is that the shower was a bit too small. On several occasions I nearly flooded the bathroom. Free wifi and air con as standard.
It was very quiet, and the staff were friendly and very accomodating. Perfect location, easy to get to everywhere either by train or taxi.
Shame we only stayed for 2 nights. Wish it had been longer. Deffinatly going back again

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are on the lower floors, but they dont smell of stale tabaco. And request a double. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed just the one night as we had booked our flights a day early so that we could be at our holiday apartment early the next morning, rather than arrive late that day and lose almost a full days holiday. Didn't pay a huge amount for the room. It was about £47.00 so we didn't expect luxury. Suffice to say the room was habitable, the balcony rail perhaps outside, bordering on dodgy if not dangerously low ( not a place we would recommend sleep walking) but in that respect you are perfectly safe, because you won't get any sleep. Management would appear to be oblivious or again they may not hang around to listen, but there is no control whatever over "guest" noise at all hours. Possibly this establishment would suit the younger generation, and most certainly anyone who is deaf, but for the rest of us, we would suggest you give this place a body swerve. However if you still want to go, it's easily found.
Train to Benalmedena, turn immediately right at exit of station,down a few steps, turn left, cross the road at pedestrian crossing about twenty yards down, turn left at the other side of the crossing, take the first right, maybe another fifty yards or so and the hostel is on your right hand side a short distance down. Book in and insert ear plugs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I spent a week in this hotel with my partner. After reading some reviews I was a little wary of staying but there was no need to be.
It is situated in a lovely bright square.
The rooms are very basic but have a bathroom, air-con and TV and lots of space for storage. My room was very clean- it was cleaned every day and the towels were replaced regularly. The bed was very comfortable with crisp white sheets. I had a little balcony, which was nice too.
The staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The bar is open 24 hours and the drinks measures are very generous!
The location is perfect for sight-seeing. The train station and bus stop are 1 minute away so very convenient for getting around. Local taxis are also available at all hours.
The beach is a little walk away- 15 minutes but it is quite a scenic route, especially if you walk through the park.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Sol y Miel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sol y Miel

Address: Avda. Blas Infante, 14 | Arroyo de la Miel, 29631 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Sol y Miel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol y Miel hostel is situated on the center town of Arroyo de la Miel (Benalmádena). Very closed to the train station, taxi stops and bus station. 15 minutes walking from the beach and Puerto Marina. All the rooms are full equipped with Air conditioned, terrace, heating, TV DVD LCD, private bathrooms, free wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hostal Sol y Miel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Sol y Miel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Sol y Miel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.