We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Ever Disappoints” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nirvana Restaurant

Nirvana Restaurant
Altos del Higueron, 29639 Benalmadena, Spain
+34 952568564
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 467 Restaurants in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Situated on a slightly elevated walkway, close to a number of other small retail outlets and bars, with parking close by,and wheelchair access.The interior is traditional Indian style with seating for approximately 40 people inside. The outside, partly covered, has seating for another 20 people.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Never Ever Disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I, along with any visiting family members and friends, have been frequenting Nirvana ever since it opened close to Benalmadena Pueblo. A trip to Spain always includes a meal (or two) in this fabulous restaurant. Having just about been through the whole menu there is not one dish that I could recommend over another, all are equally delicious and well prepared. Spicing can be adjusted to your preference, which I don’t necessarily agree with as I am a great believer in “A Korma is Korma strength and a Vindaloo is Vindaloo strength” although it does mean that everybody’s spice tolerance is catered for. I can honestly say that I can’t remember having experienced Indian cuisine of this quality in any restaurant, even taking into account that our home in England is close to a town boasting around 80 Indian restaurants. Unlike other establishments which I have tried where all dishes appear to derive from exactly the same mass produced curry base, all dishes are cooked fresh to order and each one is immediately distinguishable from the next. If I did have any gripe at all it would be that there is a wine list. What for? Surely only beer will match a curry!

Our first, and probably last, meal out on our next, and each subsequent trip to Spain will almost definitely be at Nirvana.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expertgates, Public Relations Manager at Nirvana Restaurant, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are very please that you tried our restaurant so many times, and that you found the experience enjoyable and had the time to give us such a good review.We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area and fancy a curry.
Meena and Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    12
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Authentic Indian food in Malaga!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was very surprised to be eating such delicious Indian food in Malaga, Spain! The owners are a husband and wife team who make you feel very welcome the minute you arrive. My children are fussy about spicy food, and the chef Meena, came out to chat with them and discuss how much spice they wanted, if any at all. That was amazing, as they polished up their food! I particularly enjoyed the sizzling king prawn dish, the tarka daal, and the cheese and garlic naan bread. If you are traveling to Malaga, Spain and enjoy Indian food, this is one not to miss!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalmadena, Spain
1 review
“Evening meal at Nirvana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We live in Benalmadena and this is our favourite Indian restaurant. We have been here a few times, with our Spanish friends and they all loved it. The beauty of this restaurant is that you can personalise your meal, how hot you want it, what you don´t like etc. Meena is excellent and the meal is always perfect. The waiters will help you select the meal, we love the lamb pasanda and the Goan chicken. We have also ordered vegetable curries and they are all very tasty. The food is always clean, not oily like some of the other restaurants. Very friendly staff and excellent food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dinner at Nirvana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

A thoroughly enjoyable evening meal, excellent menu choice and we particularly appreciated being able to select the varied strengths available for each dish. Very friendly atmosphere and very good service. Standard on a par with some of the best Indian restaurants we have visited in UK.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Family run absolutely excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We arrived 1hr early before the actual opening time but the owner was very accommodating and opened up for us.

There were 9 in our party and although the surroundings were not the best (quite basic) we were made to feel welcome and so stayed to eat. You must see wood for the trees in this instance!

The food was absolutely and utterly authentic and extremely tasty and within 7 days stay in Spain we ate with this restaurant 3 times!

If you like indian food you must visit this place when in Spain, you won't be dissatisfied.

We all left the holiday with memories of this restaurant and its food - we really can't speak highly enough of this place and I've never given full marks for any restaurant but this food is how it SHOULD be done.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nirvana Restaurant also viewed

Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Nirvana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirvana Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.