We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Polynesia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Polynesia to your Saves list
Holiday Polynesia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Sol (antigua CN-340) P.K. 215,6, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Me and my husband went with our daughter who is almost 2yrs. We all had a fantastic time. The free water park next door was fab! Our daughter loved the entertainment and the games room! Because the weather wasnt great we went out and about which was fun, including a dolphin show :) towards the end of the week it did get pretty busy, but the hotel is massive so didnt matter. We would love to go again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    548
    253
    92
    48
See reviews for
901
270
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Polynesia

My wife and I are just back from a week long break with our 2.5yr old son. Personally, I wouldn't recommend or return to the Polynesia but that's not to say the place is terrible, rather that its just simply not good enough.

THE HOTEL
Spectacular decor throughout, including the rooms themselves, but much of it needs a freshen up such as wobbly sinks and bathroom fittings. The pool is OK but nothing impressive. I experienced a number of annoyances as well, such as our room key ceasing to function on three separate occasions (all after the maids had been in), understaffed reception desk, paid for WIFI didn't extend far enough to the sitting room of our hotel room and the code only works on 1 device (so 12euro per device, per week) Our aircon hadn't been activated. A cot wasn't supplied on arrival and our room wasn't ready. I also got ripped off by a number of malfunctioning machines in the amusement arcade.

There's a charge for the safety deposit box in your room, a charge for wifi and a 15euro deposit per beach towel.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere and part of a group of hotels and a free to use waterpark (which is big and very good). Its a 15euro taxi trip to Benalmadena marina or into the middle of Fuengerola or you can get a bus for approx 1.50 euro

FOOD & DRINK
A major let down. Food is on a par with what you'd expect from a works canteen or motorway service station. All inclusive drink is limited to local (unheard of) brands such as the comically named Jerikoff vodka. Even if you want to pay for booze the selection is very limited and expensive.

ENTERTAINMENT
Karaoke, bingo, kids disco, flamenco dancing, hypnotist and magic show. All predominantly in Spanish with hard to understand English translation.

CONCLUSION
We had a decent holiday but only because we didn't rely on the hotel and are happy to do a lot of walking. If you're happy sunbathing all day and don't mind drinking the kind of spirits you might expect to find in your local branch of Lidl or eating in the equivalent of a Spanish Little Chef, then you may be happy with what the Polynesia has to offer.

For us, the hotel architecture and decor as well as the friendly staff were the only redeeming qualities it had to offer and I've stayed in much better hotels for similar money.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We arrived 5th May 2013 for 7 nights with my husband and 2 children age 3&5 and was blown away with the first impression of this hotel it really is amazing!!
Food was great and HOT, sea view room (free upgrade) was very spacious and well equipped. The bed was very hard to lay on and woke up everyday with a bad back.
The cleaners come everyday as requested to give clean towels and make the beds but forgot to clean the floor for the whole week (very dirty)!!
Entertainment wasnt great but as I believe we were a week to early but kids had a good time in the games room bring plenty of euros for that!
Free bus down the hill to the beach club was fantastic and so is the beach club.
We got a taxi on a number of occasions to visit selwo marina, beach , marina etc these were very reasonable and great service. Pools were freezing cold :(((
If you buy from the shop in the hotel or buy anything outside the hotel it's very expensive!!
Overall brilliant!!we will def be going next year

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We loved our stay in Holiday Polynesia. Large rooms with a spacious balcony. Nice and clean. Various choice on the all inclusive buffets. Only thing to complain about was waiting time for getting drinks in the restaurant, the waiters were really busy, so when you had received your first glass of water or wine, you really had to wait for the possibility to order more to drink during dinner or lunch. I also missed the opportunity to have coffee in the buffet restaurant (after dinner) or in the disco (when going to the minidisco after dinner). No big deal, but I was surprised that it was not possible to order coffee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is definately one in which i would go back to again & again. We arrived in Benalmadena on 5th April 2013 for one week stay. we were meant to be a party of six but due to unforseen circumstances became a party of 4. On arriving at the polynesia we were told that we were booked in the Holiday Palace across the road much to our disbelief. After toing & froing on the friday through to saturday with jet 2 we were transfered back to the polynesia which was much appreciated. The hotel itself is outstanding, from the place itself down to its staff nothing was ever to much trouble.We stayed in a Junior Suite sea view which certainly had a fabulous sea view & pool view. The rooms were lovely with a kitchen equipped with the usual kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge, Dining area table & chairs, large lounge, flat screen tv, bedrooms are very nice with patio doors onto balcony (as did the lounge) & huge wardrobes & a safe. Bathrooms are quite spacious with walk in shower & toilet, bath & two sinks. The balconys on the junior suites have patio furniture & are quite large for a hotel. The hotel also do suites which have sun loungers & a HOT TUB on & these look fabulous but have to say was quite disappointed to be told by jet 2 staff that these are self catering only & we had booked all inc. The rest of the hotel will not disappoint, the pool area is spotless & clean as was the bar & snack area. Toilets are placed all around & staff can be seen all the time cleaning these areas. Entertainment good & also they have a disco which opens at 11-30pm for those who want a few extra hours without going out of the hotel. What can i say about the food at this hotel, well i would have to argue with someonre who says the food is terrible because its far from it, its lovely well prepared, well presented & loads of choice even for the pickiest eater. Kids have a fabulous choice & as for deserts looovely!! You will also find at this hotel that they serve premium drink ie: Bacardi, Smirnoff, JB Whisky & these are all part of the all inc. Across the road down the hill from this hotel is there own water park fantastic for kids with again a bar & resturant so no need to go back to the hotel for food & drinks. There is a bus that runs from the hotel down to the waterpark at the bottom & is totally free & runs every 15 mins( it saves your legs walking back up after your day out). There are buses that run from bottom of the hill to benalmadena harbour which was beautiful & well worth a walk round for only about 1 euro 50 & the same the other way to fengerola. these buses do get busy & you can be stood for your journey. it was quicker & more comfortable to get a taxi for 8 euro. Also if like us you booked transfers with your tour company you may like to take a taxi from the airport as these were 28 euro but took you straight to your hotel instead of like ourselves sat on the coach dropping at all hotels & having a journey that lasted 2 hrs when the hotel is 20mins from airport. All in all i will definatley go back without a doubt to the polynesia, a lovely week s holiday.

Room Tip: Book a junior suite with sea view, you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We checked in to the hotel for a week on 22nd of April. We arrived around 10pm so didn't have to queue for check-in. Thankfully we didn't get hit with the "you are actually booked to stay at our sister hotel across the road" which is the Holiday Palace, because I had read several reviews on here where this did happen to people. It turns out that people who book this hotel through Travel Republic are on what they call a "roulette system". However people I spoke with said that if you stand your ground firmly and produce your documentation, they eventually let you stay in the Polynesia. Some people I spoke with had to go as far as phoning Travel Republic to prove their booking. Only the weak people end up in the inferior Holiday Palace.

Overall, hotel was lovely, a lot of work has been put in to the decor and the rooms are like small one bedroom apartment with large balconies. Room appears clean, but on further inspection they could have been cleaned better. Cutlery in drawer needed washed before use as did the glasses. Bathroom was clean and tidy with a few niggly things like shower door being dirty and a few of the fixtures being loose. Beds are comfortable as is the couch, and if you do like to watch a bit of tv at night, they have bbc 1, 2 & 4 as well as itv 1 & 2 and channel 4. I had a code that allowed me to switch the tv from hotel mode to normal mode which allowed me to tune in more british freeview channels, but I don't feel it's right to disclose that on here. Google will help you though, I am just a tech geek.

Pool was freeeeezing, but it was April and the weather wasn't great. Hotel also had a bowling alley which was pretty cool, it also had numerous pool tables and quite a large arcade, so plenty to do for kids. This hotel is ideal for a family hotel, but unfortunately we had 3 hen party's and 2 stag party's staying while we were there. An Irish stag party especially made a bit of a show of themselves in the bar, but it only really happened once. They weren't all inclusive so went out most nights. Plenty of Spanish families arrived at the weekend, and you could see them looking at some of the all inclusive Brits in disgust. Guys that were on a golfing trip got themselves so drunk they could hardly walk EVERY NIGHT. Some of the couples we met were a bit odd also. I think this hotel may attract some snobby type Brits that walk around looking down on people because they are in a nice fairly expensive hotel, however it is Spain after all, and no matter how nice your hotel is, your still in Spain.

Hotel was beautiful with nice rooms, some of the residents put a dampener on our holiday plus the weather wasn't great. The hotel is also well out of the way and the taxis at the bottom of the hill are a complete rip off. There is a bus stop across the street. We didn't use it but I believe it is cheap.

We enjoyed our stay, but don't think we would go back because of location. Excellent place for families in my opinion.

Room Tip: Try and get a pool view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend from 19th - 22nd April and cannot complain at all ,hotel was fantastic,food was good and rooms were excellent ..our only complaint would be wish the weather was bit better .

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Polynesia

Address: Avenida del Sol (antigua CN-340) P.K. 215,6, 29630 Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#11 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Polynesia 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Polynesia Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Holiday Polynesia Hotel Benalmadena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Polynesia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.