We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get your money's worth, it's a modest and lovely hotel. well situated.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Roccia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Roccia to your Saves list
Hotel La Roccia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei MIlle 15, 07020 Palau, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Palau
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“You get your money's worth, it's a modest and lovely hotel. well situated.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is not a fancy hotel , this is a cosy hotel with a great staff. Maybe I'm bias because I got a room with a huge terrasse to enjoy but besides that fact, the staff were very sweet and super available to give us all the directions we needed for a great stay in lovely Sardenia. Walking distance to the port where plenty of boats and sail boats whisk you away to gorgeous beaches and islands. It is not walking distance to any beach but we were travelling by car so it didn't matter. A parking space is available for that. Breakfast is lovely . I gave this hotel excellent for all the reasons mentionned above. Again, this is a humble hotel , which is simply charming, clean and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
36
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

le little town of Palau , close to Olbia is really a nice place to stay, when you plan a trip to Italy and you wish to include a week in Sardinia this place is the perfect spot: it is not too crowded as Porto Cervo and Porto Rotondo, but it is still very pleasant and the sea is pristine! the hotel La Roccia is down town close to everything! the beach, the boats for excretions, the restaurants, the marina, the shops, the market place and the gelateria!! all what you need for a perfect stay "Italian style"
the personnel is friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and the price is correct, moreover the breakfast is served in a very nice room and it is on buffet.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a balcony, but on the side of the port they are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel was very clean, had a nice sized room and a balcony that was bigger than the room. Free WIFI, a private parking lot and a pretty good spread for breakfast. The hotel is right in town and you can walk there in a few steps. The staff at the hotel was fantastic and helped us make reservations at restaurants and other hotels along our journey. It is a great value if you need a place to stop off for a tour of the islands in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We are a group of engineers. In the first week of May we were by Hotel La Roccia to have a standardization meeting of IEC. The structure was able to host many delegates with their families. The hotel staff assisted us for any needs, included a comfortable large meeting room, the arrangement of transfer from Olbia airport and a support in selecting the most relevant restaurants from the point of you of high quality and convenience. We will repeat such esperience and suggest companies to use this location also for business meetings, better out of high season period (i.e. from June to middle September).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

i was pleasantly surprised by this hotel - it looks much better in real life than on its website. The location is great, just off the main street of Palau (which admittedly is not very big!). The rooms are well laid out with a neutral decor, spotlessly clean with good AC and a power shower. The staff were so friendly and helpful and gave advice on beaches, restaurants, ferries and things to do generally. Breakfast was better than I had expected: cold meats and cheeses, fresh bread rolls, cereals, fruits, yoghurts and lovely local cakes and pastries, yum!

Palau is a great base with some beautiful beaches nearby, although the nightlife was a little quiet in September and I guess most of the tourists are either older couples or young families. We did have some lovely dinners at San Giorgio and La Taverna though. I really enjoyed my first trip to Sardinia and would definitely return. We went on a day trip to La Madelena, and the highlight of the holiday was a day on a beautiful sailing boat (www.sailing-sardiia.com), exploring remote islands, beautiful beaches and snorkling in crystal clear blue waters before we dried off onboard and tucked into our freshly made pasta, local wine and cheese: paradise!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile

Well and center located, calm and neat with good view overlook the city, friendly and helpful staffs.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed at La Roccia for a week during June, and were really happy with it. It has a fantastic location just off the main street in Palau, so is handy for everything, including the local beaches, ferries and local buses. The rooms are spotless and well set out with good air conditioning. We had a terrace room, which meant we had a sitting area outside, with a great outlook over the quiet town of Palau. The breakfasts are fine and the staff are especially friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel, if you're looking for good service and a convenient location within the town.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Roccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Roccia

Address: Via dei MIlle 15, 07020 Palau, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Palau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Palau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Roccia 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Roccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Roccia Hotel
Hotel La Roccia Palau, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Roccia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.