We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't count on knowing what you're eating!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Corral

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Corral
1902 Towne Centre Dr, Mesquite, TX 75150
(972) 613-7050
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 210 Restaurants in Mesquite
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet
Terrell, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Don't count on knowing what you're eating!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have eaten at this location two times in the last 6 months. Each time, food was mislabeled. "Pork BBQ" sign over what turned out to be taco meat, "Pinto Beans" for black-eyed peas, etc. Now I can tell the difference between egg salad and tuna salad when that is mislabeled as it was. I can't figure out what is the origin of mystery meat without some help. This seems to be an ongoing pattern.

This time they had a few, hard as a rock sugar free cookies on the dessert table which is a slight improvement. I didn 't see the old, previous nasty manager so perhaps he is long gone with good riddance. Hence, the improved rating but they still have a few more kinks to work out.

I must give them a 5 for the way they handled the crowd on November 12, 2012, for Veterans Day. My husband was in the navy submarine service so we went on that day. I'm just a straight up senior citizen so I paid that rate which is still a bargain.

It was good to see some improvements over the previous visit. The carved roast beef and pot roast were exceptional. We both liked what we had selected. The salads were very fresh and tasted good. The cornbread was older than I am, LOL, but I smothered it with black-eyed peas that were labeled "Pinto Beans" and it all worked out fine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    5
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great for Seniors (and others)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This restaurant has become our Monday must-do for lunch. A very reasonable price for good food. This is not gourmet fare but there is a lot of variety and it is well prepared and tasty - and plenty of it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrell, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Misidentified foods and a horrible manager”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

During our most recent visit, food items were incorrectly identified, the ice cream machine was mislabeled and not fuctioning properly. The cold salad bar was okay, the dessert table lacked any sugar free desserts and the Italian and Asian food groups were mixed up. When I pointed out these discrepancies to the manager, he did not think it important to label the items correctly.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

love the chocolate fountain!!!! only problem is that some servers take long to fill up drinks!!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wills Point, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I just love golden corral buffett and the choc fountain is yummy. the one in mesquite is so clean and always full of food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

 

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Corral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.