We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good eats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
3903 Towne Crossing Blvd, Mesquite, TX 75150-6121
972-686-0555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 226 Restaurants in Mesquite
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Mabank, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The staff was nice and the meal we choosed that night was excellent! We had the blooming onion and the 4 course meal of soup/salad/steak and cheese cake with tea.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Garland, TX
1 review
“No! Never, never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Husband & I had dinner there Sun night. ALL of our food was so
salty, overcooked. Steaks which were supposedly 'wood-grilled'
were greasy, greasy. Was that butter w/bread? I doubt it. Tasted
margerine-y to me. My burnt 'grilled' asparagus was tough and
reedy and looked so. Couldn't believe waitress could serve it like
that! Requested tea refill twice before it came so service was less
than exemplary.

Have never written restaurant review before, but feel folks should
not waste their money here. Have noticed, however, that salt is
used too freely @ most restaurants. This meal was far beyond that.
Foods just tasted like salt. Outback menu says steaks have 19 spices:
All 19 are SALT!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just ok...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Went to Outback Steakhouse with husband on March 31 (Saturday evening). I thought the wait would be long, but was seated within 5 mins. My husband is an avid steak eater, and was looking for a casual restuarant when not in the mood for the fancier restaurants. We kept seeing the commericals for Outback Steakhouse and decided to give it a try. The steak didn't taste as though steak was this restaurant's specialty. The steak was not seasoned at all. The mashed potatoes were just, ok. the vegetables were also just, ok. Although the service was really good, we probably will not be making a second trip to Outback.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011 via mobile

I visited outback last night and was pretty disappointed. The steak was just ok. The shrimp was just ok. Even the baked sweet potato wasn't quite cooked correctly. However, my daughters hamburger was actually very tasty and so was the potato soup. For the price, it's not worth it. In my experience, Texas Roadhouse is much tastier.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Ugh”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Well, once again, I'm not sure why anyone thinks this place is good.

Terrible food. If I could rate this place any lower I would!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.