We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, modern and tasty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ringhotel Gasthof Hasen

Save Saved
You added Ringhotel Gasthof Hasen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ringhotel Gasthof Hasen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hasenplatz 6, 71083 Herrenberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Herrenberg
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Charming, modern and tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a beautifully updated local hotel and part of the Ring Hotel Chain, but locally owned. The family has owned it for years. Mr and Mrs. handle the restaurant and hotel. Rooms are up-to-date and there is wi-fi service. There is a bar in the lobby and a restaurant and a terrificoutdoor patio/bier garden. The food in all the places is great and the mango sorbet is a specialty. I have had a wonderful steak and salad. I have also been to the annual Jazz Brunch buffet which included all kinds of meats, fish, salads and a fabulous dessert table. The staff is always helpful and friendly. There is free parking in a garage. There are indoor and outdoor smoking areas. It is just a few minutes away from the old city square and a supermarket if you need it. We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
4
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The hotel is nicely located - just outside the Old Town, and it took me 5 minutes to reach Marketplace. It is also not far from train station (15 minutes walk, 1 turn).
It also has very friendly, attentive staff, good breakfast.

Two downsides for me were that
1. my room was a bit run down - the window refused to close all the way and showerhead was leaking. I admit I did not address it at the time of my stay at the hotel, but my friend was having a wedding there and I hadn't wanted to mar it in any way (as it did not bother me much). All other guests of the wedding that overnighted at the hotel were pleased with their rooms, so if my review makes you hesitate - don't, the hotel is worth staying, and I'm sure the hotel will fix this minor details
2. if you like to sleep with windows open - it gets noisy from the cars passing by

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

The Hasen has an excellent location within Herrenberg, being on the edge of the old town. The A85 motorway Stuttgart-Singen is reached within 5 minutes. Herrenberg is a pretty little walled medieval town of half-timbered buildings. Overlooking the town the Schoenbuch is a large forest with excellent biking, riding and walking options.
There are a range of rooms, some in a two storey format with a downstairs living area and an upstairs mezzanine floor which is quite unusual, others are the standard rectangle. The restaurant is excellent with a good range of food and wine, particularly good is the game. However when in Germany on the whole one is served meat and two vegetable, so while the fare here is good you cannot expect the range and inventiveness of french cooking. The biergarden is popular but does suffer a bit from road noise.
Do be careful when leaving hotel car park, you enter a 30km/h zone, and there can be speed traps.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrangeville, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

I had to stay in Herrenberg for business. I was strongly advised by colleagues from the US to stay in a large chain hotel in a nearby town, but my local contact recommended the Ringhotel Gastof Hasen. The Gastof Hasen was 100 euro less per night including a breakfast that was not included in the other large chain hotel - and was much closer to the meeting place. The room was very clean, the bed smaller than I am accustomed to, but very comfortable for me. The breakfast was extraordinary in it's variety and quality. I and local, as well as travelling colleagues had dinner two nights on the outside patio for the hotel restaurant and it was very good and an excellent value. There is a covered car park attached to the hotel that is free for guests. The staff was very courteous and welcoming. I would gladly stay there again for business or pleasure. I generally stay in Fairmont or JWM hotels on vacation, and while this hotel was not on the same scale - I have nothing but positive things to say about the Ringhotel Gastof Hasen.

  • Liked — The value, the service, the breakfast.
  • Disliked — The bathroom was small and only had a shower.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ringhotel Gasthof Hasen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Gasthof Hasen

Address: Hasenplatz 6, 71083 Herrenberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Herrenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Herrenberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Gasthof Hasen 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ringhotel Gasthof Hasen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringhotel Hotel Herrenberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ringhotel Gasthof Hasen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.