We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authenic German Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zur Autobahn Restaurant

Zur Autobahn Restaurant
10668 SH 22, Meridian, TX 76665
254.597.2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Meridian
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: German
Good for: Romance
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Authenic German Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Zur Autobahn is a wonderful little German restaurant in the middle of no where. However, the Google maps location is bogus as it shows it on Hwy. 22 right near downtown Meridian, Tx. In fact it is about 10 miles southwest on Hwy. 22, almost in Cranfils Gap. It is easy to find as it is about the only thing on the road between those two Tx. small towns. This is not one of those faux ethnic restaurants, but the real thing. The owners are from Germany and have brought some wonderful recipes to Tx. The dining room is very small but inviting. It wouldn't hurt to make reservations if you are staying nearby as it only seats 30 people. However, if you are just driving by and they are open stop in. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granbury TX
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Authentic German food in Texas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Once again, after riding my motorcycle(a German Make), to eat at Zur Autobahn south of Meridian, Texas, I left with a great feeling. Authentic German food in the middle of no-where can sometimes be a crap-shoot but not at Zur Autobahn. The food is excellent and the desserts are even better.

It looks like a German Restaurant that you would find in Germany. Set in a beautiful Texas setting it is truly a place you will remember. The German owners had a dream of living on a Texas Ranch and this dream is special to all of us. Check it out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delightful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Small , cozy setting with delightful food and service..
..Family owned and operated.... a feeling of perfection.
We felt we had walked into the German countryside
and enjoyed the finest meal ..with a family that truly
cared..

.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Texas
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“Wunderbar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Zur Autobahn German Restaurant, Meridian, TX is definitely worth the drive along beautiful Hwy 22. The restaurant is quaint with a welcoming feel. The service is attentive and friendly. I would recommend asking your server her recommendations from the menu and you'll be pleased with the descriptions and suggestions. Of course most important the food at Zur Autobahn is quite tasty and will most certainly keep you coming back to try many if not all of the diverse German appetizers and entrees featured on the menu.

On the evening my wife and I dined at Zur Autobahn we took the advice of our server and ordered the Roulade with Rotkraut (Rolled Beefsteak stuffed with pickles, onions and bacon with fried potatoes and red cabbage) and Schnitzel-Bratwurst Platte (Plate with one schnitzel with mushroom gravy and one bratwurst, served with fried potatoes and sauerkraut) and without question there was more than enough food for both of us to share and compare.

The Roulade with Rotkraut was well-prepared with a perfect balance of savory beef gravy that accentuated the tart pickles. The red cabbage was firm and sweet with the right amount of acidic bite to balance the fried potatoes. The Schnitzel-Bratwurst were also well-prepared althought the bratwurst stole the show from the plate. While the schnitzel was certainly good it was a bit too salty for our taste. The bratwurst on the other hand was absolutely delicious and paired well with the fresh sauerkrat.

The only disappointment for the evening was Zur Autobahn does not sell alcohol. What? No German beer at a German restaurant! Oh well, fortunately we had our own in the truck and the management welcomes BYOB. Another party at an adjacent table were enjoying a bottle of wine that they brought for their evening meal.

Zur Autobahn German Restaurant, Meridian, TX is a definite winner and should be a destination dining experience when wandering through Central Texas and near the "Top of the Hill Country."

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Family operated German farm diner - Sure Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is not the easiest place to find, and when you do fine it , they are not always open. But if you are lucky enough to get there when the family is cooking, this can be a treat. Small, only about 8 tables, and the chef is often the server and cashier. But this family is really German, having come over only a few decades ago. The food is fresh, authenic and reasonably priced. No liquor license, but they invite you to bring your own. That keeps the price of the evening down!
I recommend you call ahead if possible to see when they are open.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zur Autobahn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zur Autobahn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zur Autobahn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.