We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in a small town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Grill

Cactus Grill
120 North Main Street, Meridian, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Meridian
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Clifton, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A real gem in a small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We plan to enjoy Cactus Grill at least once a week. The chef is brilliant, wonderful sauces, vegetables cooked to perfection, warm bread with herb butter. Every time we go we try something new - everything is terrific. He knows how to cook fish, steak and pasta equally well, never a disappointment. We can't believe its hidden in a small town but we're certainly glad it's close enough for us to visit often (we live 10 miles away). We like bringing our own wine. Great service too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hico, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing find in a small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We moved to a small town near Meridian last year. We lived in the DFW metroplex for years and moving away to a small town is wonderful, except it is hard to find good restaurants that aren't just chicken fried steak and burgers. Well Cactus Grill is the place to go to have excellent choices and awesome food. We have ate in some great restaurants all over and this small town restaurant compares and exceeds many of those places. We have been here many, many times and I have finally gotten around to letting everyone know how great it is. The food is just outstanding. Yes the prices aren't a bargin, but then again the food isn't just ordinary either. It is also a BYOB establishment, so it is nice to be able to bring a nice bottle of wine to go with your meal....one that you don't pay 3 times the price for as you do at most restaurants. Just a special place to go. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, TX
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Menu with a Nice Presentation~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have stopped several times at the Cactus Grill on our motorcycle trips through this area. The menu offers some nice and varied selections. Burger was extra good, as well as, a sandwich wrap. I give the Cactus Grill 2 thumbs up.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere, and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The food is great the service excellent. This is not your ordinary country cafe or Tex Mex joint. It has flavorful menu items, and a wide variety. The sauces are amazing, as are the steaks and fish dishes. It is BYOB, allowing us to enjoy wine that is the best we can afford to bring. Great for special occasions or just a night out with the spouse or kids.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Very good food. Great service! The menu incorporates a wonderful variety that should satisfy everyone. Love the atmosphere!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cactus Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.