We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most hospitable hotel for a mountain getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Regina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Regina to your Saves list
Hotel Le Regina
74 Avenue de Miage, 74170 Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A most hospitable hotel for a mountain getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

I have just returned from a week staying at Le Regina Hotel. It was clean, comfortable and the rooms were spacious. The hotel is situated conveniently on the edge of the town centre within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. It is also a level 10 minute (or so) walk to the cable car and only a short distance to the Mont Blanc tramway. The road outside the hotel can be busy at certain times of the day but I found that I was not disturbed by noise and slept well. The views of the mountains and the town from my room were breathtaking.The continental breakfast was excellent with a good choice and variety of food. Kirsten and Gavin could not do enough for me to make me feel welcome and at home. So much so that I feel I have made new friends. I would thoroughly recommend a stay at Le Regina for a good value holiday in the french mountains at anytime of the year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin and Kirst... G, Owner at Hotel Le Regina, responded to this review, November 2, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

As one of the last guests to stay in the Le Regina at the end of the summer season, we enjoyed three fabulous nights at this gem of a hotel in Saint Gervais. As advised by previous reviewers, the rooms are spacious and clean, with lots of little things thought of to make your stay comfortable (like a full length mirror!) We had rooms 4 and 5, with 4 being light and spacious overlooking the courtyard and 5 darker and quieter (perfect for my teenage son). I have seen a previous negative review about this room and have to disagree on all accounts. It was a great room, although missing a view.
Kirsten and Gavin were fabulous hosts and give this place a home away from home feel. The breakfast is the best I have had, and there is plenty of it. We were directed to some stunning walks in the area and a brilliant local restaurant. We had a great day for going up the Aiguille du Midi (a must if weather permits) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quietest but don't have great views. I loved room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin and Kirst... G, Owner at Hotel Le Regina, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Le Regina and hope the rest of your travels with your family around Europe are fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We booked this hotel as it had excellent Tripadvisor reviews, but we left extremely disappointed. We were given a room (we were told it was an upgrade) just opposite a building site with demolition works. The pneumatic drills were very noisy. This was not our idea of quiet holidays in the mountains. We asked if we could have a room at the back, and we were given such room with an apology that they don’t currently use it as it has broken TV. But TV was not the only problem of this room – it was dated, the bathroom needed serious upgrade or at least a proper paint, the bath was tiny (about 1.2 meters long) and the lock of the bathroom was broken. The view from our room was of a flat roof and a wall, nothing else - probably the ugliest hotel view I’ve ever seen. And we could still hear the building site. In general the hotel is not in a quiet place as you would think from the hotel’s website pictures or from looking on the map, as it is just off a very busy roundabout. We wanted to leave immediately, but the owners said that if we do, they will still charge us for all 4 nights (238 Euros.) They claimed that we booked an advance rate and we therefore have to pay the full amount. I can see their point that the building site is not their fault. They cannot expect guests to come on holidays to a building site. They need to take the matter with their town council, who gets most of their money from tourism, and who chose to demolish a concrete building in the middle of holiday season.

The last straw was when we noticed big ants parading on the bed, as well as on the walls (see our pictures), but the next morning the owners fortunately agreed to keep only the deposit (so 1/3 of the 4-night stay) and let us go. That made it the worst value for money for a 1-night hotel stay that we ever paid for, but we were just happy to be out of there, and we easily found a much better and quiet hotel nearby. To be honest, the hotel does have some positives: breakfast was good, our bed was comfortable and everything seemed clean. But lots needs to improved, especially honest customer service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin and Kirst... G, Owner at Hotel Le Regina, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. As we mentioned when you left, we were very disappointed that you did not want to complete you stay with us. As mentioned, we are not responsible for the building work opposite and hence we moved you to a room on the other side which was not as nice, but which you believed was a better option for you as it was quieter. It is therefore difficult for us that you complained so strongly about a room which you agreed was what you wanted.

In regard to the issue of the so-called giant ants, not only have we never seen these ants, no other guest has ever seen or mentioned the ants either. What bemuses us is that the photo you posted was clearly not taken in our hotel, which may explain our inability to locate these reportedly conspicuous giant insects.

We at the Hotel Le Regina continue to strive for excellence in our guest service and in accommodating all our guests needs. It is unfortunate we could not accommodate your needs in this case, which is why we gladly refunded the remainder of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and were very pleased with what we found. The hotel is easy to find in St Gervais, we parked our car across the road in the opposite free public car park (I wondered if this would be a problem if it were really busy, but we never had an issue with finding a space). We were greeted by the owner who was very welcoming and accommodating checking us into our room on the 2nd floor. The room was a good size, large actually, clean and tidy and included a TV with built in DVD player, attached en suite bathroom with bath and shower. The room was on the road side and so we could get a small view of Mont Blanc behind, but also meant that you could hear traffic noise although was not an issue and did not disturb us. The hotel itself is in an old building and could be with some modernisation, I believe the owners are intending to do this over the coming years. The shower in our room was not very powerful which could be improved but the bed was very comfortable and the room warm. It was also cleaned and changed each day. Breakfast was included and served in the dining area that has a small courtyard garden (although we didn't use this due to the weather), again this room could do with modernising. Breakfast itself was the 'continental' style i.e. no hot food, but had a good selection of bread, cheese, yoghurts, cereal etc. Croissants and pain au chocolate were also organised fresh each day. The owners were very helpful and provided excellent service and had a good knowledge of the local area. The hotel had a small bar area that we did not use and WiFi was available in the communal areas but we struggled to get a reception in our room which was a little annoying. We borrowed a DVD from the owners extensive DVD collection and I also stored my bike in the ski/boot room that was available and was of a good size. Overall very happy, good value and brilliant service. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin and Kirst... G, Owner at Hotel Le Regina, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are continually restoring our 150 year old hotel but as you can imagine it is a labour of love. We hope you notice all the new improvements in your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend whilst house hunting. The hotel is very clean and conveniently located near the centre of town. The owners are super nice and helpful and having a bar available is definitely a bonus. Will definitely stay here again! Very healthy breakfast available.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin and Kirst... G, Owner at Hotel Le Regina, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are looking forward to you becoming Saint Gervais locals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We thoroughly recommend this delightful small hotel and its charming owners Kirsten and Gavin. It seemed as if nothing was too much trouble for them. Excellently located, spotlessly clean--- and homely. Great value too.The breakfast was ideal starring homemade birchermuseli, good quality croissants and excellent cheese.We look forward to staying again. Joan and Steven.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GavinandKirsten, Owner at Hotel Le Regina, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again at Le Regina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Gavin and Kirsten made us feel right at home as soon as we walked in with the offer of a much needed cup of tea! The room was bright and spacious with a view across the valley to the mountains. Their tips for a day out (Mt Blanc Tram) was exactly what we wanted as were the restaurant tips. Continental breakfast was plentiful and varied. We had originally planned to stay in Chamonix but St Gervais and Le Regina were much more what we wanted. An ideal spot in winter or summer, I wouldn't look anywhere else in St Gervais for our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GavinandKirsten, Owner at Hotel Le Regina, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thanks for the great review. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay at Le Regina. Good luck with your next adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Regina

Address: 74 Avenue de Miage, 74170 Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Regina is a 150 year old, friendly, Australian owner-run chalet/hotel in the heart of the beautiful resort town of St Gervais Les Bains, just 60 minutes from Geneva airport. Our 12 comfortably furnished en-suite bedrooms, fully licensed bar and courtyard offer traditional French charm and character combined with first-rate service. Le Regina is in the centre of St Gervais within easy walking distance of shops, bars and restaurants.We are only 5 minutes walk from the Indoor/Outdoor public pool with its beautiful saunas and spas. In winter enjoy the vast 445km of the Mont Blanc Massif, in summer, mountain bike, cycle, climb, walk and paraglide around the valleys and spectacular mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Regina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Regina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.