We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation for budget ski week!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence le Grand Panorama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Residence le Grand Panorama to your Saves list
Residence le Grand Panorama
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   950, Avenue du Mont d'Arbois, 74170 Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Great accommodation for budget ski week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

5 of us stayed at the le grand panorama apartments for a ski week in January 2015. We booked with peak retreats who I highly recommend! They were really efficient, professional company who I wouldn't hesitate to book through again. The booking was done with ease. They communicated with us really well and got a great price on our apartment. We booked our travel separately. As for apartments we were not disappointed knowing this was budget accommodation we didn't have high expeditions but were pleasantly surprised. Fully equipped kitchen with a double bedroom down stairs a Twin room upstairs and two twin beds on the landing which was described as in an alcove. There was also sofa beds in the living area if needed along with balcony, dining table and chairs, TV etc... Best of all was the location - right by the fonder let ski lift which takes you to bettex. It's also about a 10 minute walk into the quant French village which has some great restaurants including 4 epics! Supermarkets, pizza take away etc.. Everything you need so close by. As for the ski resort itself it's great for beginners like me and intermediates. Not too busy and is beautifully decked with tree lined runs. We loved it!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

The apartments are perfectly located for skiing as they are just a 100 yards for the Gondola; they are also only a short walk away from the town centre. The rooms are quite basic, but the big downside for us was the fact you have to pay extra for the basic essentials e.g. towels, sheets, even the TV, and even when you hire towels you have to pay extra if you want to change them. Toilet rolls are not provided and you even have to clean the room yourself before you leave or pay a 60 euro cleaning fee. There are no safe's of any kind, even in reception, so be careful with your valuables.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Been staying in these apartments for the last 8 years. they are well located next to the main gondola and easy walking distance to the town the apartments are well equipped and reasonably priced the staff are very helpful. there is plenty of free parking as well. the only downside this year was a large party turned up and were a bit noisy this wont stop as from returning as we have never had this problem before all in all great place well located nice town with some good restaurants and superb skiing even though there was a lack of snow this time looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: we have the apartment that sleeps 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacances Mont-B... V, Responsable réception at Residence le Grand Panorama, responded to this review, February 24, 2015
Thank you for your comment. We will be happy to see you the next year, and we are still sorry for the sound that is inhabituelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

I was competing in the UTMB in Chamonix and I used this apartment as a base for four nights. There were three of us and the apartment style accommodation was great for what we needed, it had a double room and a sofa bed which was located in the kitchen/dining area. The small kitchen was useful to prepare meals etc before the race. The kitchen had a four ring electric hob, microwave, fridge/freezer but no oven. The apartment would be ideal for a couple but a little tight on space for a second couple having to use the dining area as their bedroom! All rooms have a balcony, which have great views of the mountains. The hotel has a nice pool and was great for kids, there is also a pool table in the reception area. There are sauna and massage facilities on request.
The only negatives (positives if you're looking for a cheap basic room) were that everything extra comes at a cost, this meaning bed linen (€8/pp), Wifi (€5/day and only accessible around reception area), Sauna (€5) and don't forget the local tax has to be paid. There is a cleaning fee or you can choose to clean the apartment yourself as we did. We were slightly worried as we had to leave at 6am and this meant our room wasn't inspected by the staff but we had no problems and got the full deposit back.
Location wise it is a 5-10 min walk across the bridge to center of Saint Gervais, which is a lovely little village with some nice restaurants/shops. The ski lift is right beside the hotel, we didn't use it but it seemed to be running on a limited timetable during the summer.
All in all, a great place for a couple or family looking for good value in a highly priced location. Clean and friendly hotel, ideal for summer hiking and skiing in the winter.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

March 2014
Booked on line 5 days prior to ski weekend- very good price and on arrival, very warm welcome from reception. Allowed to enter Appartmeny early 9.00am. 5 males 2 bedroom with twins and sofa bed - ideal.. A great view up the mountain also
Telecabin 100m, Bar 100m , town a gentle walk 800m. Plenty of free parking.
Only issue - patio door was cracked from a prevoius user - how long unknown

All in all a very nice clean comfortable placeto stay in a great ski area

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacances Mont-B... V, Responsable réception at Residence le Grand Panorama, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your message, we are looking forward to welcome you again in our Residence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence le Grand Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence le Grand Panorama

Address: 950, Avenue du Mont d'Arbois, 74170 Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence le Grand Panorama 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist Residence in St. Gervais les Bains, Le Grand Panorama welsomes you in one of its 91 apartments, fully and nicely equipped: - Outdoor swimming pool in summer (weather permitting) - Living room with fireplace and billiards - Free wifi at reception - Linen hire service - Daily cleaning service, mid stay or end of sta ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence le Grand Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurogroup Residence Le Grand Panorama Hotel St. Gervais Les Bains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence le Grand Panorama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.