We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gastro restaurant in St Gervais” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Le Serac

Restaurant Le Serac
22, Rue de la Comtesse, 74170 St. Gervais les Bains, France
+33 (0)450938050
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
St. Gervais les Bains, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gastro restaurant in St Gervais”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Fabulous food and great service. Been here a few times. They have a very reasonable menu for under 30E per person for 3 courses and you won't be disappointed. The recent decor update has been a great success too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    65
    19
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A real Gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We discovered this lovely restaurant towards the end of our stay and after having an extremely disappointing meal for Christmas Day in a nearby restaurant we were slightly apprehensive. We were blown away by the friendly staff and amazing food. Our well behaved 7 year old daughter came with us and staff were wonderful with her, getting her extra mash as she loved it so much. What a very pleasant end to our stay in St Gervais Les Bains. We are going back again this Christmas and will be booking Le Serac again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartres, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“one of our top 2 dining experiences in Savoie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We went twice to "Le sérac". First for dinner and then for lunch just the day after as we had been so pleased with our first experience that we did not want to leave the region without having tasted a dish that we missed out on our first meal! What made us come back is the technical perfection (e.g. pigeon melting in the mouth, fish of the kids cooked just right...) combined with a small original touch added to each dish (e.g. the ginger with the pigeon or the the "griottes" cherries with the veal kidney). Menus are not cheap when you take into account supplements (29€ for the simple menu, 45€ onwards for the gastronomic menus). However, this is compensated by a very reasonably priced wine list and wine suggestions and fully justified by the quality of the products.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“good, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Nice setting with a view on the green hills outside, service smiling and efficient, the menu is varied and for all tastes, nice courses presentation. We've had 2 menus at 45€. The entrance (a seabass ceviche) was great. The main course , the scallops in a local sauce , much too bitter unfortunately, very disappointing. The beef was good. We have to add 4€ for each desert not in the menu! Good deserts. Plus a 55€ (good) 2006 Crozes Hermitages, so a 150€ bill at the end: pricy for the good-but-not-outstanding food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best restaurant ever but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

The service is great and they are really nice people. What let the restaurant down was that the portions were a little big, it was very expensive and most of all the atmosphere wasn't good because one minute it's very loud and then it all goes quiet so it makes you feel like everyone is listening at what you say. But over all it was great it strongly recommend it.

P.S I am 10

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Serac also viewed

St. Gervais les Bains, Haute-Savoie
St. Gervais les Bains, Haute-Savoie
 
St. Gervais les Bains, Haute-Savoie
St. Gervais les Bains, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Restaurant Le Serac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Le Serac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.