We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Deux Gares

Hotel des Deux Gares
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel des Deux Gares to your Saves list
Hotel des Deux Gares
| Le Fayet, 74190 Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Harlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend in their family studio flat which had a kitchen and balcony. The room and showers was always warm (very important when holidaying in the Alps!).
The indoor pool was small but perfect. We didnt eat there so cant comment on the food.
Location was perfect, right opposite the train station and Mont Blanc tram.
2 mins car ride from supermarkets, 20 mins from Chamonix and 1h from Geneva airport. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Located through internet and it surpassed all expectations. It has all types of rooms and lot of space within and outside the hotel to enjoy. Located few minutes from the SNCF station and also from the Tramway de Mont Blanc. Seems to be a family run business and the lady owner is very helpful. A few details were missing presumably due to lack of staff. Rooms with balcony are excellent and also those in the ground floor. Breakfast has nothing to offer and one has the option of going across the street for breakfast at the Café Richard. If one arrives late in the evening getting food may be challenging. It is definitely value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Had a very bad experience at the hotel. I had booked the hotel online and through a mail exchange with the owner I had informed him about my arrival time at about 10 in the night. The owners said it was completely ok.
When we actually reached, the place looked like a barren place. We couldnt see any lighting around the hotel. We knocked several time on the door but no help. Finally after almost 30 mins some guest came out. He woke up the owners who seemed to fast asleep.
Having said that, the hotel location is very close to the station (not even 10 steps from the station).
The rooms were very well maintained, also spacious compared to most hotels in france where there is hardly any place to move around.
The breakfast was ok, nothing too great (that's the problem with entire France) not just this hotel. We had to wait for sometime before breakfast was served.
Finally I was informed the price of room included breakfast but I was charged separately for the breakfast.
Overall, nice location , nice building, nice rooms but with little soul and poor service mindset.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

I'm a coach driver and took a group here the hotel was verry pleasant and the staff verry nice the pool could do with being a bit warmer tho rooms were ok cant grumble and the hotel is in a nice setting

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is a really nice hotel, well furnished, pleasant rooms, completely spoilt by the unfriendly and unwelcoming manner of the hotel owners. In fact, I have never visited a hotel where the owners have displayed such rudeness...... not even a hello or a smile when we arrived, just a surly explanation of breakfast times, how the locks worked in the room etc. Ignored by the owner when he passed us in the bar and same attitude when we checked out. The room rate is very reasonable, however, for good value it stops there - there is a general feeling that the absolute minimum is being provided - no toiletries in the bathroom, only a cheap soap solution from an automatic dispenser, towels provided were small and very thin, and the lights went out two seconds after you removed the key from the lock, hardly allowing you time to cross the room to exit. The hotel has a lovely indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi, but in the overall spirit of meanness experienced elsewhere, both were freezing cold. Basic breakfast at 8 euros per head was not worth it either. Would not stay here again or recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

The rooms we saw had recently been refurbished to a high standard - very clean and very comfortable. The room (suite) we stayed in in the annex had a balcony and was huge and amazing value at euros 52/night for the two of us - breakfast was an extra euros 8 each but there was a reasonable continental spread. The scenery in the area is high mountain scenery so this has to be a destination for skiers, hikers and mountaineers. The SNCF train station is metres away, as is the tramway up Mont Blanc ant the train to Chamonix. The hotel restaurant was shut but there are several good eating opportunities in the neighbourhood. Shops etc in walking distance.
This is a family establishment - we reckoned 4 generations from the baby to the great grandma. Organisation could be better but they were friendly and helpful. The public areas would be disappointing to those used to 5 star luxury and high class bars.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Deux Gares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Deux Gares

Address: | Le Fayet, 74190 Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel des Deux Gares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Deux Gares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.