We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time camping and unlikely to get any better!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camping Les Domes de Miage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Les Domes de Miage
Save
You added Camping Les Domes de Miage to your Saves list
197 route des Contamines, 74170 Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“First time camping and unlikely to get any better!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is an absolutely fantastic venue for camping.....the facilities are 'hotelesque'....toilets and showers are v clean and private and the location and views of Mont Blanc are incredible. The owners are extremely accommodating and the on site shop stocks every essential you coud need for a quality camping experience.
I would definitely recommend this campsite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
32
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a first class campsite where nothing is too much trouble and all amenties are outstanding!

The people who run it will try to accomodate your every need and with a bakery delivery in the morning you cannot get better! The small shop is also well priced!

We asked for a shady, peaceful spot which we were given and our mornings were spent having breakfast in a peaceful location with incredible scenery. The walk into town takes around 30 minutes but there is also a free bus from outside the site which means you can park the car for a few days and still explore

Dont think about it - book it! It is well worth the few extra Euros!

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet ask to be on the top level of the site - a longer walk to the showers bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the site in July 2013 for 5 days it was perfect, the views are stunning, the site is extremely well kept, very clean toilets and showers, the staff are always cleaning them.
The couple that own the site are Stephan and his wife, they are very helpful and have good knowledge of the area, if you talk to them about the Mont Blanc tunnel they have a pass which they will lend you for a small price, it saved us 20 euros, Stephan has a very dry sense of humour, and just does a great job of making sure you enjoy your stay, nothing is to much trouble. You can order fresh bread and croissants daily, make sure your order is in the evening before.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This has to be one of the best campsites we have ever stayed on! The amenities were plentiful - never having to wait for a shower; and so spotlessly clean! We stayed at the beginning of July and although the site was quite busy, it was very quiet and peaceful. The owners were extremely pleasant and helpful; even helping me jump-start my car due to a flat battery! The views of the surrounding mountains, including the Dome de Miage are spectacular. I can't say enough about this 'site; or praise the owners higher. Hopefully, we'll be back next year as there's still so much to see and do!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights at beginning of July, we received a very warm welcome from Sophie and Stephane and language was not a problem as they speak excellant English as well as Spanish and French (of course). You select your own pitch, the size is generous and there are a few with shade but this was not a problem for us as, although the weather was good it was not blazing. There is a road outside but we were not bothered by noise at all.
I do not think I have ever stayed on such a clean site, the ladies who clean work very hard every morning and are delightful. At first I was a bit perturbed by the lack of toilet seats but Villeroy and Bosch loos with disinfectant in every cubicle worked very well for me. Hot water was always available and the showers were very spacious with a dry area including hooks and a small shelf and a shelf.
There is a play area for children which was well maintained and very popular, a good meeting place for the little ones staying on the site.
As for the views over the Dome de Miage - absolutely stunning and I loved the Area of Serenity with deckchairs set out for anyone to use. I couldn't recommend this site enough and would definitely like to return and stay here again.
Oh yes you can order (before 7pm) fresh bread which is delivered the next morning from the local boulangerie!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked to camp on this site for 7 nights at the beginning of June 2013 (a little chilly at night unless you cuddle up) - two tents with our daughter, son-in-law and Dumper - a human dynamo of a grandson celebrating his 3rd birthday.

This is a first-class site with truly excellent amenities (including a great playground), easily accessible, flat well-drained pitches for both large tents like ours as well as backpackers and mobile homes/caravans; wonderfully situated below Mont Blanc (Mont Pink during sunset), close to the neat town of Saint-Gervais les Bains, surrounded by some of the most amazing places to visit in the Alps and managed by just about the most helpful owner-family we've come across in over 20 years camping around Europe.

We had intended to move on but extended our stay to 14 nights - the final decision having been left to our youngest camper who had quickly adopted the whole site as an extension of his garden.

The run down from Calais is an easy but not cheap 550 miles on motorways - tolls totalling around £130.

There's no doubt that it's going to be busy during school holidays - so you'd be advised to book well in advance.

Room Tip: The views are amazing wherever you pitch your temporary home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We emailed prior to booking, as we we knew it would be hot, and wanted to ensure we prebooked a shady pitch. It was over 30 degrees during our stay, and couldn't have found a better campsite overlooking Mont Blanc. However, on our arrival the campsite area with the shady spots at the back of the site were closed, as it was low season, and had no option but to pitch up in a part of the site which was 100% sun and roasting until at least 5pm. This, we weren't impressed with, especially when we had asked twice for a shady spot, and told it would not be a problem!!!! Be careful....if you want shade, there are only 3 or 4 shaded pitches. Other than that, the whole site was quiet, clean, and well cared for. Not the type of site for large groups, as people were there as they liked the piece and quiet and whole natural feel of it. We would go back but would definately make sure it wasn't too hot, or made sure we were guaranteed some shade.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping Les Domes de Miage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Les Domes de Miage

Address: 197 route des Contamines, 74170 Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 150

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping Les Domes de Miage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.