We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rip off in an ordinary location” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Michel Chabran

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Michel Chabran to your Saves list
Michel Chabran
29, avenue du 45eme parallele, 26600 Pont de L'isere, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pont de L'isere
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A rip off in an ordinary location”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

With a cup of tea costing the earth and located so close to the road with no view this was the worst place you could choose to stop at on your way through France. The food was good but incredibly expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
39
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Booked this hotel for a one night stopover on our way south, mainly because of high expectations about the restaurant. The food was indeed excellent and the service impeccable; but the set menus are expensive. This is essentially a restaurant with rooms, but the hotel staff were exceptionally welcoming. Our room was very comfortable with a good bathroom. There is air conditioning and double glazing, necessary as the hotel is right on the route nationale. However, the traffic is not obvious from the hotel's pretty garden and terrace, where you can sip an aperitif or eat. Having eaten so well the previous evening, we simply ordered coffee in the morning. None of the (few) other overnight guests seemed to be having the full breakfast - perhaps because it is an extortionate €23.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

The staff, especially the two Antoines, could not have been more helpful. We have an old car and they made sure that it was parked safely. Our room at the front was small, but perfectly ok, but there was a problem with the cold water which ran hot for about 5 minutes before cold came through. The room was hot too and never cooled down. Dinner was good and well served, as was the wine, but at 200 euros plus drinks it was no better than many a meal we've had at a quarter the price. The final insult came when, after paying a more than hefty sum for the ordinary room, I went to settle up only to be stiffed for an additional 46 euros for what was a meagre and mediocre continental breakfast with stale bread. I have done far better in many a 60 euro B&B.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

We arrived by chance at this unpretentious hotel, not knowing quite where we were.

The charming receptioist could not have been more welcoming. As we had not booked, she showed us all available rooms,we chose a larger recently refurbished room, and were very very comfortable indeed. Although the bathroom had not had the same attention as the room, it was very functional, but spotless.

Dinner was a revelation. Never have we had such a surprise. It was fantastic. The choice is not extensive, but all the better for it. The food had a touch of flair that has nearly disappeared from most of the meals we ate in France on this holiday. We will certainly return next year.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

We stayed for one night en route to our holiday house. The position of the hotel, on a main road, isn't promising, but our room, right at the front was perfectly quiet. We had been warned that the room was very small, but it was actually a great deal larger than the Boulogne Ibis we'd stayed in the night before, very much more attractive and only one euro more!
Dinner (the cheapest 51 euro menu) was very good; foie gras, delicious lamb, sort of cheese on toast but at 48 euros for a bottle of very ordinary Crozes Hermitage (and we drink a lot of Cotes du Rhone wines) we felt ripped off, though to his credit the sommelier didn't attempt to foist a 300 euro bottle on us. 'Front of hotel' people had been charming and helpful, but the atmosphere in the dining room was distinctly chilly. No-one responded to our efforts at chatting, we were just insignificant, so an obsequious crawl around the tables by M Chabran didn't go down at all well!
Breakfast, served outside, (so complete with wasps) was all very nice and homemade and what have you, but 19 euros was just way too much.
All in all rather disappointing and certainly not living up to the eulogies in guidebooks. The Liegeoise and the Hotel Atlantic in Wimereux have this one beaten hands down on all counts, including the food.

  • Liked — It was very clean and well decorated.
  • Disliked — Up some rather steep stairs
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2006

Michel Chabran may be a decorated chef, but his maitre d' must have earned top honors at the Institut Francaise du SMUG.

While in this beautiful Ardeche area on business I stayed a cold February night at the hotel and was one of the only people at the restaurant that evening. Even so, the maitre d' went out of his way to make me feel as awkward and uninformed as possible. I realize he has probably seen his fair share of American tourists. But I am a well-traveled person who likes to blend into the woodwork without asking too many questions. Yet I have never had such a cold and snobbish reception as I received in this restaurant. This was a man who clearly, at times, liked making people feel UNcomfortable (surprising as it was from one whose job mandate is to do just the opposite).

Wine and food are not my life and the sommelier was helpful enough with wine suggestions for the fancy little fingerfood they kept bringing for two hours. But that maitre d' -- boy oh boy.

The hotel room was charming - no more or less than I needed on my business trip. It was clean, quiet (even facing the street) and well-priced. And the front desk clerk and luggage valet were courteous and glad to see me (the hotel's only guest that night).

Too bad the maitre d' can so singlehandedly undo the good efforts of his colleagues. It wasn't worth the money and I would have liked the $250 I spent on my (yes just my) dinner back so I could spend it somewhere else. Some place where the person welcoming me extended the same hand regardless of my accent, geopolitical current events or whether or not I knew that secret little language of wine and food these guys live and breath.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michel Chabran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michel Chabran

Address: 29, avenue du 45eme parallele, 26600 Pont de L'isere, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Pont de L'isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pont de L'isere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Michel Chabran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michel Chabran France/Drome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michel Chabran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.