We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but should still be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Des Deux Domaines

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macot-la-Plagne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Des Deux Domaines
Belle Plagne, Macot-la-Plagne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good but should still be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Went skiing in the second week of the Easter holiday with two daughters who had never skied before. Our kids really came on with their skiing and i'm sure that had a lot to do with the excellent Esprit childcare staff helping out alongside the traditionally surly French ESF instructors. The weather was interesting, with an unseasonal mix of heavy snow and glorious sunshine, but the result was that we had some absolutely perfect powder conditions at times as well as some slush at others. Overall, the skiing was very good even if the most immediately available runs were a bit easy and might bore better skiers. This is very much a place for family skiing.

In terms of the hotel, we really can not say enough good things about the staff and the location but we were still left with the abiding impression that this is a three star hotel not the four star hotel it claims to be. There are quite a few little things that could and should improve to really hit the standards that one would expect for the money. These include:

- proper beds in both rooms in the suites (our double bed in Room 405 was a glorified sofa bed that had seen better days and was desperately uncomfortable as both parties rolled into the sagging middle);
- toiletries in all bedrooms (really surprised there weren't any)
- wifi in rooms, please
- wifi that does not require a fresh webpage login every time
- breakfast hot food served on hot plates, please, so that it is not cold when it arrives
- a warmer swimming pool (to be fair, it was warm at the start of the week but never recovered after presumably being drained following a "sanitation incident")
- better "free" wine (please bear in mind that we have paid for this in the whopping great holiday price so we expect to be drinking better than EUR5 wine; if you must, charge EUR 50 per head more for the holiday and spend EUR 10 per head more per night so that we don't have to drink this de-icer any more)
- lighter, healthier options on the food and more use of local specialties (we do not need 3 course of really heavy, stodgy comfort food every night - though I should say that we were pleasantly surprised to see that some of it was really well cooked, eg perfectly pink lamb and venison)

Overall, we had a really good time but there are some easy wins that would make it even better next time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    28
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
109
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond upon Thames
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Having been on three Esprit skiing holidays (Kaprun, Selva val Gardena and St Anton), I had pretty much decided not to book another one, as so many elements of the holidays had been a big, and annoying disappointment. However, two friends of ours had been to La Plagne, to this, Esprit's Flagship hotel, and had told us it was great. So we were persuaded, and the three families headed off all together for a week's skiing on 7 April 2013.

We had a family suite, which was incredibly spacious, with two balconies which overlooked where the children gather each morning to wait for their instructor, so great for waving to the kids while you finish getting ready. The children had their own bathroom, a separate loo, and the room had a fridge (not needed, but nice to have) and a TV with a DVD player. Their bed was a sofa bed that was very bouncy - fine for a 9 and 5 year old but as an adult I wouldn't have wanted to sleep in it.

Our room was also spacious, with Austrian twins (or perhaps that should be French Twins?) and an additional single bed, with a lovely ensuite with bath and twin basins. The bath had a waterfal shower over it and water pressure was good, lovely, lovely shower. The beds were surprisingly comfortable - possibly the first time ever I have not had to ask for an additional duvet to try and make a plank like mattress more comfortable. Rooms are equipped with ample wardrobe space and an actually quite decent hairdrier (though I wished that I'd known this before I packed, bit of a waste of time bringing my own....). We also had a TV/DVD player and managed to get several English language programmes including BBC4! Bonus.

The rooms were immaculately maintained, there were bathrobes provided, and towels for the pool and spa area. No toiletries apart from a bar of soap, though this doesn't bother me one little bit as toiletries are usually a bit rubbish anyway.

The lounge area downstairs was good - spacious, with a nice, well equipped bar. Afternoon tea was served here too - I managed to resist it most days, but I have to say the cakes and biscuits were excellent and plentiful (and soup too).

The food was very good, there was only one night where I couldn't find a main course I liked the look of. I wouldn't bother with white fish as it was served twice and was dry and flavourless both times but everything else was lovely. Starters especially were great, and there were some cracking canapes served too. My one serious criticism involves the pre-dinner drinks. It is NOT a Kir Royale or a Bellini if it's served with still white wine (yuk, yuk yuk). I really think they would be better off to just offer a choice of red or white wine, which was adequate and there was plenty of it at dinner.

Breakfast was pretty much what you'd expect, a French type buffet with the addition of some hot food - porridge (not hot enough but well made), cooked breakfast (didn't have this but it looked ok) and crepes (excellent). One day I asked for a hard boiled egg, and was served a cold egg from the fridge. The next day I asked for a six minute egg, cooked through, and was served a very runny egg (I can't deal with runny yolk), so I stuck to porridge after that. Be aware that the restaurant cannot accommodate all the guests and their kids, so there is an overflow room for breakfast, or you have to wait. Waiting is better as the overflow room is not well staffed and there is a great lack of stuff - teaspoons, butter, bread, milk, water, juice, you name it, they didn't have it when we went. We made sure we were early for breakfast after that.

The childcare is excellent, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and my children really enjoyed the cocoa club, including the treasure hunt. I wished I'd known about the disco as I didn't bring the appropriate clothing (fortunately my friend had plenty and we were sorted!).

Overall, staff here were so superior to the other Esprit properties we've been to I can't believe it was the same company. Staff were well trained, knowledgeable and helpful, professional and didn't appear to be students on a gap year (which was what we experienced the other three holidays we've taken with Esprit).

Everyone loved the pool. I didn't make it into the steam room but I really loved sitting outside in the hot tub and watching the Gondola sailing overhead. Completely magical.

We had amazing snow and pretty good weather. There were no queues, no crowds, this felt like a mountain all to ourselves.

If you want a ski holiday that you can enjoy as well as your kids, then crack on, it's hard to fault. Just don't book when I want to go please!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a wonderful family holiday at this excellent hotel in April 2013 and were delighted by the service we received from the Esprit team. Our room was huge (401), with great amenities, (2 bathrooms and a separate toilet), balcony with an amazing view and comfortable beds. The communal areas are very modern and more than comfortable, the bar is small but adequate and the restaurant gives excellent valley views. The swimming pool and wellness areas are again modern and very well maintained. The meals provided for children and adults were of a very good "chalet hotel" standard. The Esprit service provided by all the team was simply outstanding from the care and attention offered in nursery to our 2 year old son to the amazing fun our 5 year old daughter had in her ski lessons and snow club.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday in an excellent hotel and were looked after perfectly well by the Esprit team.

Room Tip: 401 was an excellent room, huge, well appointed and with fantastic valley views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hugely impressive solution to getting kids to learn to ski properly and giving them surrounding activities which allow mums and dads to ski all day if they want.
Rooms excellent and clean but sheets and mattresses probably due for an upgrade.

Room Tip: Floors 1 to 4 are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

9th esprit holiday and still find it hard to fault on easiness for a ski holiday with the family.

hotel is great and facilities good. very modern.

pool, hot tubs and saunas very clean and not heavily used even at peak evening time.

socialising lounge / bar area is nice but not very cosy - very much hotel lobby. you'll need smarter gear than that for a esprit chalet and slippers didnt really cut it!

food as always pretty good with esprit. bollocks rule on wine where they take away unfinished bottles after cheese course resorted to various comedy "hide the cheese games". Esprit hosts in their chalets would leave you a bottle or two extra as they left for the eve. Not here. Cynic in me says that helps the bar sales. More annoying than a big deal.

No hot breakfast on transport morning was a bit disappointing :(.

Boot room on L3 and split lifts for L4-L9 and L1-L4. That would make our rec the rooms /suites on L3 and below within easy run up stairs of main facilities.

Ski in ski out is a short skate onto a blue and if you get it right you can skate up to the door.

Dinner seating is allocated (and you can request to sit with specific people) - was good way to meet others that had travelled as only one family.

Rooms themselves very good, clean and modern, and great beds. TV and DVD in both our rooms so kids could stay plugged in. No tea / coffee in rooms was a downer.

Ski school here is ESF - definitely prefer Evolution 2. Both kids weren't as challenged and awarded medals for snow ploughs when both are better than that. (and no I'm not a pushy parent - first time I've ever had criticism of the ski school).

Staff were all brilliant and very helpful and accommodating (eg night porter got my wife a cup of tea since she couldnt slee). As usual observed various people winging about ridiculous things, some seem to think they were in a 5 star Waldorf or something.

Cocoa club was good - little girl enjoyed more and there was some PLUS activities for a few quid extra like bowling.

Overall we had great snow, great weather, met nice people and all enjoyed it with no fuss. Thats what we paid for and so thumbs up to Esprit again.

Room Tip: we'd say L1 -3 since its nearer facilities. Higher up get better views which is the trade. suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Albans England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

2nd stay at deux domaines and we will be back again next year. Two children, 3 years and 19 months in child care, they were outside morning and afternoon, painting, riding in the gondola and tobogganing having a great time. The staff make this hotel so good. The food is very good, without being exceptional, childrens meals were better than last year. We started on third floor which was useful when you are in the boot room and discover you've forgotten something.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Taking a family of 5 away skiing in half-term week is never going to be a cheap undertaking, so it is reassuring to know that Esprit's flagship hotel Deux Domaines does help to sweeten the pill. this was our second visit in 2 years and like last year the standard of the rooms, location of the hotel and the facilities do impress. Unlike last year the hotel staff did genuinely seem interested in ensuring everyone had a relaxing stay and to a person could not do enough for you. Overall the organisation of the hotel has taken a definite step up since last year, whilst the childcare team were all very approachable and endeared themselves to the kids.
Yes the hotel has a slightly idiosyncratic layout and yes it would be nice if both hot tubs could be working at the same time, but other than that a highly enjoyable stay. Beware the coach transfer journey to and from the hotel - in both years at least 2 children have been sick on both parts of the journey, early starts and long windy mountain roads do not seem to mix well.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the 3rd floor as this is where the boot room is and will by definition attract the mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Des Deux Domaines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Deux Domaines

Address: Belle Plagne, Macot-la-Plagne, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
#1 Family Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Des Deux Domaines Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Des Deux Domaines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Des Deux Domaines to your Saves list