We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped but handy for the slopes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Pierre & Vacances La Marelle et Le Rami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Pierre & Vacances La Marelle et Le Rami to your Saves list
Residence Pierre & Vacances La Marelle et Le Rami
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Les Coches | Bellentre, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
ENGLAND
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Cramped but handy for the slopes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed here through Crystal Ski at the start of the year. This is a very low lying resort so there was little snow around. However it is linked to La Plagne and Les Arcs with huge areas of piste within easy reach. we were lucky and had some great days skiing over at both La Plagne and Les Arcs before it got too icy and worn.

If there had been reasonable snow then the location of this apartment complex would be great as you could ski down to a lift at a lower resort and then ski back at night. The apartments themselves are very small and basic. It was an apartment for 4 but there were only two seats in the 'living' part.

The checkin for these apartments is very limited and we had to wait 2 hours till they opened.

Crystal were absolutely terrible, sorry to have to say that as we have had good experience in the past but they had no rep on coach or to meet us. We were 'locked' on the coach for a while till we would persuade the driver to open the door - not a good start. And their info was out of date so we missed several events that we would have liked.

For a last minute booking when you know there's snow this would be an option as you can get incredible deals but seriously consider the higher resorts for more facilities and better snow conditions.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    30
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
42
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

We booked a 1 bedroomed apartment last minute and paid £270 per person for flights from Gatwick, transfers and accomodation . For that price we didn't expect much but got so much more:

Clean, modern, well equipped apartment
Good soundproofing
Daily bakery delivery service
Helpful staff
Ski in ski out - (well almost when there is decent snow) onto the Montchavin red slope

It is 5-10 minutes walk to the village centre where there are a few shops / restuarants / a pub and several ski hire shops. There is a free shuttle to Montchavin which is a little lower down the mountain.

My only (minor) issues were:
Lack of English channel on the TV
No WiFi

But you could argue that this is a good thing and certainly wouldn't stop me going back again. All said very impressed, especially considering the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Super views from the front apartments. Quite basic but pleasant, staff are very helpful and speak good English. A low resort, but is ski-in and ski-out, and wih excellent access to La Plagne main ski areas.

7 of us stayed in a 7 person apartment, it would be better with just 5. There is only one toilet! Good facilities in the apartment.

Very good price, because it's not in Belle Plagne or Bellcote. BUT, the village is more friendly and attractive than the larger villages in the area. Highly recommended resort and apartment.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

My family and I stayed at La Marelle for the first time this year and found it to be the best Ski accommodation we have stayed in over the past few years of holidays in the Alps.

I usually travel as part of a group and as such the accommodation we normally stay in is usually quite large and basic. We have stayed in many Pierre & Vacances accommodations, this was the second in Les Coches.

5 of us stayed in an apartment for 7 (2 bedrooms) and I would say this was a good choice as the extra space was nice. 4 others that travelled with us were in a 4 person apartment and it was certainly not as comfortable. I'd suggest if you didn't mind spending a little extra, the additional room is worth it.

The apartments are well equipped throughout. Kitchen has all you need to cater for yourself and there was a good dishwasher as well. There are TV's in all rooms and they are equipped with plenty of inputs to hook up your Video Camera or DVD Player.

The apartments are situated at the most outer part of the village but Les Coches is very small so it is only a short walk to the village centre. In peak season you can easily ski to your door but unfortunately for us travelling in the spring the snow had disappeared from the run directly behind the apartments leaving us a short walk back at the end of the day.

The skiing in Les Coches and La Plagne is great for intermediates and beginners and the link to Les Arcs means that the "Paradiski" Pass will keep you entertained for a good 6 days skiing. Glaciers at both resorts means all year round skiing and even in the heat of April there was still an abundance of great snow over 2000m.

Les Coches itself is a quiet village with a small village centre that has all the usual amenities. All restaurants serve a decent quality of food so you can't go far wrong if you are a food lover, but if you're looking for a lively resort this is not the place for you, the skiing/boarding is what you really go for.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Only one toilet in a 7 person apartment!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Pierre & Vacances La Marelle et Le Rami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Pierre & Vacances La Marelle et Le Rami

Address: Les Coches | Bellentre, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Pierre & Vacances La Marelle et Le Rami 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Pierre & Vacances, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Pierre & Vacances La Marelle et Le Rami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Pierre And Vacances Les Coches La Marelle
Residence Pierre & Vacances Les Coches La Marelle Hotel Macot-La-Plagne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Pierre & Vacances La Marelle et Le Rami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.