We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay, for doorstep skiing, welcoming and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Hauts Bois

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Hauts Bois to your Saves list
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Hauts Bois
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domaine de la Plagne | Le Biolet, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great place to stay, for doorstep skiing, welcoming and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We rented an apartment which could accommodate 5 adults. It was small, but we are used to this as we have rented ski apartments for the last 20 years. The service at reception was very good. We got into our apartment as soon as we arrived, and it was a joy to have beds already made up, and with decent duvets rather than the blankets you get in some places. The building had a laverie (laundry) which was easily accessible, and the ski locker room gave enough space. There is direct access to the slope, a blue run but not the easiest of blues, so I don't know how a beginner would cope.

For us it was ideal. It was easy to get to the shops for our food, but most of the time was spent on the slopes, and we skiied the whole area, including some of Les Arcs, in the week. We would certainly recommend Les Hauts Bois.

Room Tip: Ideally you should avoid having to use the sofa bed(s) in the living room. This probably means gett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    124
    37
    25
    5
See reviews for
216
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Apartment 35B on the sixth floor sleeps six: two bedrooms, one ensuite shower room, separate bathroom and toilet, large living and kitchen area. The couch in the living area has a pull-out double bed. Large, south-facing (over the car park) balcony gets the sun from morning till about 3.30pm. Perfect for two adults and two children, but I wouldn't want to be in a party that had to make use of the pull-out bed.
Ski-in, ski-out from the ski room on level –2 is about as good as it gets. An earlier reviewer claimed it wasn't for beginners. I disagree. Once you pop your skis on there's a well-skied (read a bit icy) 30m track to the learner slope and on down to a chair that connects you to the top of the learner slope and a ski school meeting point. It doesn't get much easier than that.
The Hauts Bois apartments are located just below Aime 2000, which is a pro and a con depending on how you look at it. On the plus side, it's a quiet location, away from the noise of Aime 2000. But if you plan to do a spot of self-catering, you'll be wanting to stock up with provisions. The nearest Spar is in Aime 2000, and you have to take three lifts—that's elevators, not gondolas or chairlifts—to get there. So, on foot, it takes 10–15 minutes. It's not quite getting a pint of milk from the corner shop, but not far off it.
All in all, the friendly, young staff, the apartment, the location, and the views worked for this family.

Room Tip: Strange as it may sound, ask for a south-facing room overlooking the car park and away from the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binfield, Berks
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We have just spent half term with 3 adults and 2 children in a 3 bedroom apartment. We actually had more space than expected with a room with a bunked arrangement where the kids went. A double with ensuite shower and a room with two singles, although that room does not have much clothes space some shelves but not much more.

Plenty of room in the living space and eating areas and a good size additional bathroom with a shower over the bath.

Staff were friendly down on reception and we did try the eat in meal one night, it was certainly plenty of food for us and very nice.

One frustration at times is the lack of elevators in the place one small one serviced the B side, we were glad that we were on the 4th floor not any higher so could easily take the stairs even when carrying boots and things. Otherwise it could be a bit of a wait and a very tight squeeze to get into the small lift.

Be prepared for the pool being a little cold, though the saunas and steam rooms were fine.

A couple of things

Ski in and out worked fine to get to Plagne Central out down and back up the Golf chairlift then left and down the hill. The slope by the apartments is also ideal as a learner went up and down many times with my daughter, not as busy as Plagne Central and a nice slope with some trickier areas if you want.

Take some bin bags with you as they only provide one.

The crisp function on the microwave is like a fast oven, ideal on a couple of nights for the kids to give them some quick things to eat.

The double room did face the ski slope the snow cannons and piste basher were a little noisy.

There is a Spar for buying food in Aime La Plagne best way to get there is the lift building outside the front of the apartments. Then straight over another lift and over again and a 3rd lift. That was a little chilly as going outside at the start of half term when it was well below -20!

Overall though once we worked out how to get around it was ideal for us and the children.

Room Tip: Great view from our room out towards Mont Blanc though a little noisy for the double room on the pis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We had a three bed apartment for 3 single guys... The apartment was large and comfortable and you wouldnt wish for more. The apartment did take 6 but I think you would be a bit pushed for space unless some of the party were children. We used two bedrooms as they were large and used the other one for storage. Very well equipped and extremely warm. Was well impressed this being my first skiing holiday. For experienced skiers you could ski right into the building so that was an added bonus. Good swimming pool and spa area but missed a jacuzzi which would have been nice. Superb views from the balcony. Cant really fault the place, very handy for shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: If going again I would ask for one overlooking the car park as y ou got better views and more sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

My husband and I were booked to stay at P&V Les Hauts Bois for 9 nights with my parents and brother. On arrival we were impressed - lovely plush reception and communal areas and friendly reception staff. However, once we got into the room, it all went downhill. We were staying in what is described as an eight person apartment. This was set over two floors - upstairs were three twin bedrooms and a bathroom. One of the bedrooms had a shower and sink off the room, behind a curtain.( We had to keep the curtain shut all the time as the drains were very smelly). The only storage were some hooks on the wall and shelves and above the bed. The second twin bedroom had no shower/sink and again just the hooks and shelves. The third bedroom had nothing in it except the twin beds and a window that looked out onto the main corridor. There was a cupboard in the landing though! The bathroom consisted of a WC, sink and bath with a shower attachment (but no shower curtain or screen). In all three rooms, if the beds were out together to make a double there was only just enough room to get round the edges of the bed.

Downstairs consisted of a tiny kitchenette that only had space for one person to use at a time, a dining table with a bench on one side and chairs on the other, and a 'sofa' that could be converted into two single beds. There was a sliding patio door that led out to a balcony that overlooked the piste. This had a great view. Downstairs also had a WC and coat cupboard.

On arrival the apartment was stiflingly hot and we had to sleep with all the windows and patio doors open. This meant however that everyone was woken up during the night, either by the piste bashers or people walking down the corridor outside - the floors are stone and it is very loud.

The apartment was really let down by the lack of living space and poor layout - there was nowhere comfy for anyone to sit - the 'sofa' was rock hard and could only fit three people on it at a squeeze. There was plenty of space for sofas but for whatever reason the hotel do not seem to think that they are needed - a shame as there are some lovely comfy sofas in reception that they could have used for inspiration. We considered trying to get them into our room but decided that we might struggle to get them in the lift!

The kitchenette was too small to allow cooking to be a joint effort and it lacked a proper oven (it only had a microwave with oven/grill settings). The only glasses provided were small brandy galsses and tiny tumblers. We ended up using a measuring jug as a drinking cup so you could get more than a mouthful.

The hotel did have positives though - being able to order fresh bread everyday was good and the swimming pool, sauna and steam rooms were a fantastic facility to have. The hotel aso has free WIFI - although it did not work for the first 3 days of our stay.

It is such a shame that the layout and furnishing of the apartment let this hotel down quite so badly. In fact it was so bad we left several days early.

All in all, we won't be back

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Hauts Bois, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay in Les Hauts Bois. We are pleased to hear you found our staff friendly on check in, and enjoyed the facilities including the swimming pool, sauna and reception, and the fresh bread every morning. We regret to hear the negative parts of your stay with us. Firstly we apologise that cleanliness of the apartment was not up to our usual high standards. We are also sorry that you were disappointed with the furnishings and size of your apartment. Our website and brochures outline room dimension, sizes, furnishings and equipment available. We do encourage that larger groups to be generous with the size of rooms they book to ensure they have enough space to be comfortable. We also encourage customers who are unhappy with their rooms to speak to our staff in the resort to ensure that problems can be rectified as soon as possible. In regards to the noise level, we do have a "no noise after 10pm" policy at our residences but regret that disturbances can still be caused by exterior noise. We have logged your review and passed your feedback on to head office and our management teams. We are committed to improving all aspects of our service and accommodation so we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

In Aime-la-Plagne for a ski weekend with friends and couldn't fault Les Hauts Bois - great service from the moment we arrived: friendly, welcoming, helpful staff. The rooms were comfortable and perfectly adequate (by ski hotel standards), and the facilities were nice (pool, sauna, etc.). Having breakfast (croissants, etc.) delivered to reception was a bonus.

Aime-la-Plagne itself is nothing to write home about - a purpose built ski resort, it really does feel as though a bunch of concrete blocks have been dropped on the hillside, and it has none of the Alpine charm of other purpose built ski resorts (e.g. Avoriaz).

However, if it's skiing you're after, it's great: fantastic location, right on the piste, easy access to the rest of the village, and to La Plagne itself, and the ski hire shop on the ground floor.

We had a great weekend and even the piste basher waking me at 4am (our room overlooked the piste) didn't dampen spirits!

PS: favourite restaurant find was L'Harlequin in the main commercial centre. Good food but fantastic service from George and his team. Well worth a visit - we went back twice!

PPS: don't bother paying for parking - there's plenty free (albeit outside) adjacent to the property.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

I'm not going to complain about the hotel, eventhough there are lots of things to..

My brand new skis and also some other skis and ski boots of my friends got stolen from our locker in the hotels ski room!! There is a sign says the hotel is not responsible of the belongings but, i've never seen or heard such thing before in a ski resort. Being under the same roof with some thieves is very irritating. The hotel didn't do anything ofcourse, they said they're not responsible for it. The hotel doesnt even have a security camera system.. They should have investigated the incident but they didnt bother to.. If you're planning to stay at Les Hauts Bois, keep your ski equipments with you all the time..

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Hauts Bois, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you for your post. We are so sorry that you have had such a negative experience while staying in La Plagne. Regrettably theft of ski equipment is a common hazard in the majority of ski resorts whether this is in the hotel or in the resort itself. As a result the majority of our ski residences across the Alps do offer locked ski lockers for each apartment and for those that do not we communicate that equipment is left at the individual's own risk. It is unfortunate that our staff could not be of further assistance concerning the loss of your equipment but as theft is a serious crime it is a matter best dealt with by the local authority. We do hope that the incident was sufficiently dealt with by the local police during your stay. That said we have logged your feedback and and will pass on to head office and our management teams to ensure that we offer full customer support in issues such as this in future and thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Hauts Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Hauts Bois

Address: Domaine de la Plagne | Le Biolet, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
#8 Family Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Hauts Bois 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart oh the domaine ParadiskiDoorstep skiingA residence offering relaxation areas and ‘Deep Nature Spa' by Algotherm services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Pierre & Vacances, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Hauts Bois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Hauts Bois Hotel Macot-La-Plagne
Pierre And Vacances Premium Residence Les Hauts Bois

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Hauts Bois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.