We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, Unhelful, Not Secure” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Le Cervin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Le Cervin to your Saves list
Residence Le Cervin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Plagne, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dirty, Unhelful, Not Secure”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Having stayed all over Europe Snowboarding you almost accept it you want to go on a budget you are going to stay in very sub standard accommodation this is most prevalent in France. if you want luxury you are certainly going to know you have paid for it.
Although I was surprised at state of this "hotel" with unhelpful staff, cramped dirty rooms the place insisted on you putting a deposit for 300 Euros for which you have to complete a room itinerary which is barely legable and anything you miss off you will be billed for, lost key to be charged at 40 euro, towel and sheet deposits deposits at 7 Euro per person and TV rental in addition.
The location is isolation with no Apre Ski and if you are foolish enough to venture away from the only tiny bar getting back is an absolute nightmare as the Taxi refuse to run, the buses stop before midnight and any hotel shuttle will simply lie and drop you off somewhere with no intention of returning.
The icing on the dirty unhelpful massively overpriced cake was, we left two boards outside my room for 10 mins (yes I know) and they were gone, after going to reception we found from other guests we were the second people in 2 days, I was enraged by the attitude of the staff in this crisis and the fact with the amount of money they rake in not a single solitary penny had been spent on Hotel Security such as a single CCTV camera.
All in all don't go here the fact it seems cheaper at base cost is an illusion and there is no value for money in these resorts but simple racketeering.
Only Positives, the owner or Monca's Bar and Cafe is a good guy and you can Ski in/out.
Oh and the Holiday was booked with Direct Ski who reps were good guys and we landed in Grenoble possible the worst Arrivals and baggage area in the developed world.
And by the way I don't even complain ordinarily about stuff...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    10
    11
    17
See reviews for
19
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have seen a lot of low cost self-catering apartments in France and I have never had any complains. App in this residence was the worst that I have ever seen and deserves a negative review.
We were first guests in the season. Apartment is listed as 5 bed apartment, 25 m2 and we knew that it will not be comfortable. But we did not expect that we will find kitchen with dirty dishes full of hair. We did not have any tee or milk cup, only some small 1dcl cups that are useless. Small useless glasses and unappropriated 1 liter pots made this kitchen really hard to use.
On the check out they counted every peace of dishes and cutlery, literally, and demanded to clean every spot in bathroom and kitchen. That would be acceptable in case that we have found it clean.
It is a place on a great ski in/out location but it needs to be renovated, on other places that I was before "low cost" does not mean that it is dirty and not maintained.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Package Booked though Thompson, Actually looked after by Crystal

Just 5 of us dropped off at Apartment @ 16:00

Took over an hour to queue & check in - freezing cold. Large reception area upstairs was full of people - Just 1 staff member & Manageress to check in 40+ other guests.

We were accused of arriving 2hrs to early! (We were actually delayed 1hr at Chambery, whilst the luggage backlog was sorted)

Not given the room we'd booked.

It was so small, that with sofa-bed out it actually blocks the doubleroom door from opening out (recommend a sliding door here!) - Anyone inside wouldn't be able to get out at night if nature called (no joke, should have taken a photo)

No Water or Blankets - reception wouldn't believe us, despite repeatedly telling them for 4 hours. Went for food @ 19:00 - hoping it would be sorted when we returned.

Reception finishes at 21:00. Still no water, but at least we'd been given blankets! Told by reception\manageress to use toilets in one of the restaurants!!!

Technician arrived just after 21:00, unable to resolve water. Returned with tools - still unable to resolve & then disappeared - not to be seen again.

Crystal Rep got room changed - different lay out. Had water, blankets and twin room that was accessible @ 23:00 (7hrs after we arrived)

Shouldn't have taken the Rep to sort - Hotel should have done this!!!..." Sybil!"

Mould in twin room & Bathroom wall - How can this be acceptable? (see pics)

Window vent broken, Freezing cold air in bedroom - had to gaffer tape it up the following night.

Er....Positives!!!???.
Ski to & out of door,
Shop (Spar) & 2x Skiset hire part of both complexes.
Public toilets & info centre next to Spar.
Ski lifts : a quick shush down the slope (La Bergerie lift)

Top marks to Crystal - Our rep spoke fluent French!!!. We certainly got value from him - from this check-in shambles and then a fractured shoulder on the penultimate day.

Our group = 1x Couple (Borders), 1x single guy (Skier), 1x Single guy (Border) & 1x single Gal (Border).

Paid under £400 each , following week (half term) would have been £700+

The Ski area itself was superb, great conditions

As a proficient & experienced skier the runs were consistent & flowing- very enjoyable.

The day trip over to Les Arc needs an early start.

We were self-catering, if you aren't - there are only seemed to be two restaurants in the complex - You'd probably need to go to La Plagne Centre or Village to eat with any sort of variation.

Room Tip: (Wouldn't say good room).....Hope your room has a water fault and get moved. Never enough ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I booked a week long stay at Odalys Residence Le Cervin before reading the reviews on here and needless to say I was a little concerned about what we were about to let ourselves into. This underrated residence more than lived up to our expectations. Unlike many other reviews have mentioned, the staff were very good, friendly and extremely helpful on arrival, and got us sorted and to our room very quickly.
The room itself was spotless when we got there, so no complaints there. If all rooms are this size then expect it to be small. We were a group of five sharing one room, which made it very cosy....definitely no room to swing a cat, even when there is nobody in the room, so if you like your personal space then this is not a place for you. Cutlery, plates, glasses are all provided, and anything that wasn't on the inventory was noted and replaced within hours of handing it in to the reception. It has to be noted though that there is no oven/grill, or kettle, just a filter coffee machine and a dishwasher. Also mugs are very small (little espresso coffee mugs) so suggest you bring your own if you like large amounts of tea/coffee for breakfast. Similarly with glasses, they are also very small but we used plastic ones from the shop which did the job.
Rooms were warm, and we only had one night where there wasn't enough hot water for us all to shower but other than that no dramas. Each room also has its own ski locker metres away from the piste which is very convenient and provides security for your skis as well.
The Residence is located in Plagne Soleil, which is very small and has a handful of bars and restaurants, and a Spar supermarket (suggestion buy your food in the valley before driving up if you can....much much cheaper) so apres-ski is virtually non existent. Plagne Centre is a 10-15 minute walk down the hill, which would almost certainly be a 20-25 minute walk back up, but there is a Lift that runs until the early hours (Telebus) that can transport you from to the centre and back in minutes, (€3 for 2 trips) of the half-hourly free shuttle bus that can do the same. both end up within 300m of the residence.
On departure cleaning the room was straightforward, used the vacuum cleaner provided etc, and the staff came to inspect as soon as we told them the room was clean, and hey presto, our deposit was returned without any qualms and we were on our way.

Space can be an issue with this room, especially if you are used to a house with enough space to land a jumbo jet inside, or you are travelling as a family. As long as you don't expect too much from this accommodation then i really don't see the problem...you can sleep, cook, eat, and wash yourself, and rest of the time you would be skiing anyway, so its everything you need and nothing more. Furthermore, its very cheap, so you get what you pay for, but what you get is not of poor quality.
You rarely hear the good things in these reviews so I hope this has brought to light the good things about this residence. Maybe it will balance out all the bad things that have been said, because the reality is, is that is is very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Saw some negative reviews before going, but got a good deal on a Crystal package and went anyway and had a good holiday.

These are pretty similar to other basic apartments in French ski resorts (and better than some I've used). It doesn't set out to be luxury apartments or a hotel so don't go there if that is what you are looking for.

Great location, convenient for the pistes but also near the small local supermarket and bars. (Can also either bus or walk to Plagne Centre if you want more places to go). Room always warm and plenty of hot water when we were there.

The apartments are small - we had 3 people in an apartment for 'up to 5' and didn't have much free space. Equipment and furnishings limited but adequate. French apartments often have no kettle - there is a coffee machine . Surprised by no microwave though - hob and oven/grill.

I've rated it "very good", this rating is relative to the price charged. If the 'hotel experience' is an important part of your holiday, go elsewhere. But if you want a budget apartment in a good location and can live with some rough edges, this place is fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I read the reviews and expected the worst as ThompsonSki had forced us there as the apartment we had booked was overbooked. Decided to go with it as it was cheap. To be honest it was very basic but we weren't too disappointed. Then we realised that there was no kettle. There was only 100 litres of hot water (in a tank) per room for 5 people. We only had 3 peopl but still not enough water to shower unless we managed it really carefully, turning it off as we soaped etc. Then one night they turned all the water off in the building from 7-12 citing "maintenance work." Should the y not have done that out of season. Finally, they took a VISA card deposit in case the room wasn't cleaned (you have to do it yourself at the end). We left it immaculate, better than we received it and took photos. We filled out the inventory too at the start and handed it to the reception as requested. However, we had to leave for the coach at 6.50am and the desk opens at 7. They would not check our room the night before and so we had to "trust" them not to charge the deposit. There was nothing they could have charged us for. Returned home to find 80 Euros taken off my card. I am livid and trying to sort this out.

Basically, do not visit this place. The staff were friendly, unlike some reviews suggested, but it's not a hotel so you have very little need to interact with or want anything from them. When we asked about the water limit they laughed and said it takes 4 hours to refill, we will have to just wait.

The blankets smell musty and are not washed, although you get fresh sheets. The beds are hard. There is no kettle and the shower was mouldy when we arrived. The shower did not fit the holder on the wall and just fell out of it. I could go on....

I am sure Thompson overbook their better apartments and "reshuffle" people to this place as nobody would willingly stay here. I've traveled a lot, every kind of standard accommodation, even at the price this is NOT value for money.

Room Tip: I can't think what would make this place better that you could do before you arrive. I epect mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

The location of this residence is just fantastic. You are basically on the slopes and you can ski in and out. There is a large ski locker room in the basement, which arrives directly on the slopes. It is not heated though and the lighting is quite poor in there, so they leave the door open to the slopes in order to get some sunlight in.

I would say that overall the residence is very old and needs a complete refresh. Rooms are bad, and might even be considered dangerous with the electric panel sitting right next to your head on the bunk beds and making a humming sound all day & night ! At least ours was clean when we arrived, but I suppose that is more up to luck that your predecessor cleaned it well, as the staff is certainly not cleaning anything.

If you are accustomed to back packing and not afraid to be tight, I'd say go for it. Otherwise, I'd avoid this residence.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Le Cervin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Cervin

Address: La Plagne, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Le Cervin 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Le Cervin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odalys Residence Le Cervin Hotel Macot-La-Plagne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Le Cervin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.