We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cheap, but you get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Le Cervin

Save Saved
You added Residence Le Cervin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Le Cervin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Plagne, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 34 hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very cheap, but you get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

The location of this residence is just fantastic. You are basically on the slopes and you can ski in and out. There is a large ski locker room in the basement, which arrives directly on the slopes. It is not heated though and the lighting is quite poor in there, so they leave the door open to the slopes in order to get some sunlight in.

I would say that overall the residence is very old and needs a complete refresh. Rooms are bad, and might even be considered dangerous with the electric panel sitting right next to your head on the bunk beds and making a humming sound all day & night ! At least ours was clean when we arrived, but I suppose that is more up to luck that your predecessor cleaned it well, as the staff is certainly not cleaning anything.

If you are accustomed to back packing and not afraid to be tight, I'd say go for it. Otherwise, I'd avoid this residence.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    9
    11
    17
See reviews for
17
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

You get what you pay for. This hotel is 'shabby' and in a small village with nothing to do, but the price you pay reflects that. It is shabby, everything is out of date and old, the mattresses have holes in, the wall paper is ripped, and you have to hold the shower. More youth hostel than Apartment. But it's still cheap. Depends what you want, if the above things don't bother you, and you HAVE to eat in every night, and buy beers from the shop then it's fine. If you are wanting a nice place with nice furnishings, a receptiion that's open (when we arrived the reception was closed, our room door was open but no keys, so couldn't lock the door all night) pay more, and don't stay in Soleil. There is one restaurant, one pub, one pizza place and the shop. €7.50 per pint in the Pub, and the food everywhere in France is overpriced (except Scotty's). The nice thing about the 'hostel' is the ski in/ski out, straight down to the lift, then you can go anywhere in the resort. If you like things to do at night, stay in Plagne Centre, much more to see and do, and Scotty's is nice and cheap.
Would i stay in this 'apartment' again. No. Will it be full each season, yes, because it's cheap. If you want luxury, you have to pay for it. Max 1 star.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Whilst this place is fabulous for ski in - ski out, that's about the only high point.
The staff are rude, the accommodation is filthy and run down and the facilities in the room are extremely basic and unclean.
You are required to clean the room before you vacate (to leave it the condition you found it!) and whilst we did this and left it cleaner than when we arrived, Le Cervin subsequently charged a €50 room clean charge. No idea what for.
It's interesting to see all English travellers have rated this poorly, yet the French were more than happy. Say no more!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

At the Beginning of your stay you get a form to fill in to see if everthing is in good state.
We found partically no problems except for 1 cupboard door that didn't close that well. they said it was okay.

The room was okay. for the cheap price we got we didn't spend much time during the day so we only were there to prepare diner and eat our breakfast. the area brought us straight to the ski-course so our week couldn't get any better.

At the end of our trip we couldn't leave until the room was checked. we were up early to vacuum and clean the all the rooms and the kitchen of our studio. Only 1 of us went in as we assumed it was a done deal. As we were waiting for his return another group of hotel visitors had problems with cleaning their room. it was taking upto 20 min. but our friend has not returned yet. as the other group was from the same region as we were I went in for a look. turns out our friend was cleaning the whole studio again. including the cupboards, from teaspoons to the windows. one thing we had to pay was a used plank we used to cut Tomatoes and Paprika on. we all know how those juices can leave stains. we cleaned it in the Washing machine but it came out as pink as Teletubbie.

Damn it was a perfect skiing trip left with a disgruntled mood in the 8 hours drive home.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

The check / crib sheet provided on arrival simply was not big enough to fill in all the defects in the appartment, dents, scrapes, staines, scratches and chips everywhere. it would have taken a couple of hours to record it all properly.

The appartment was filthy upon arrival, with the dust thick enough to form matting on the carpet around the furniture.

Most of the furniture looked to have been recovered from the local tip, the varnish was almost completely worn away from the dining table.

The mattresses were as thin as camping matts but no where near as comfortable and the bed frames were so flimsy it was like sleeping on a water bed. the sofa bed in the lounge was the same construction and thus just as uncomfortable to sleep on or sit on.

The bunk bed was six feet from the ground with an utterly useless ladder for access.

wiring hanging out the light fittings six inches form the bunk bed pillow.

The standard of maintenance was dreadfull.

The only two good points were the location and leaving.

This was our first Odalys residence and we will not use then again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

the place was so dirty,filthy,the toilet seat was yellow,the blankets and pillow dirty.
i wodnt let my cat stay there.....at the end we had to stay with our friends at a different hotel...with no refound...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Contarary to other reviews the room was spotlessly clean when we arrived. The furniture was a bit bashed around but everything was intact and worked. Beds firm but comfortable. Kitchen equipment clean and all worked OK.
This is an "on the piste" location and you could literally ski from and back to the door to the ski locker.
A previous reviewer moaned about doing an inventory. It took us about 15 minutes on the first night against the possibility of losing our 300 Euro deposit this was time well spent. Everything was there and undamaged. We noted a few of the things that were slightly damaged in the room like a stain on the carpet and a curtain hook missing.
The room was warm even with the heating turned right down and it was easy to dry things overnight if required although we never really got wet.

Now the down side.
Reception does not open till 15:00 on a Saturday so there was a big queue to check in.
To hire a towel pack containing a bath and a hand towel cost 14 Euros so that was 28 Euros spent before we even got to the room.
TV was 40 Euros for the week so we did not bother.
There was nothing except a vacuum cleaner to clean anything. We had to buy washing up liquid, and dish cloth and used one of the hand towels as a tea towel.
Although positioned well for skiing the hotel is not in a great place for nightlife.

My wife and I are over 50 years old and have learnt that you pay for what you get. We knew what to expect and were not dissapointed. We come to ski (7 hours a day for 6 days) and nothing else really matters as long as room is clean and comfortable.

I don't know what people expect sometimes from a relatively (note I said relatively) cheap self catering skiing holiday.

Based on our experience I would recommend the apartments but don't expect luxury.
Bring own towels and a few bits and pieces to do the washing up as they cost a fortune in resort.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Le Cervin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Cervin

Also Known As:
Odalys Residence Le Cervin Hotel
Odalys Residence Le Cervin Hotel Macot-La-Plagne
Address: La Plagne, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Le Cervin 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Residence Le Cervin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Le Cervin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.