We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Turquoise

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macot-la-Plagne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Turquoise
Belle Plagne, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

called in for lunch and was very pleased. good value pleasant staff and several guests told me that they had stayed there before. One having been for 4 skiing holidays. hopefully will be staying there next year. the ski in and out is great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    22
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at their bar for a short afternoon hot chocolate stop after a days skiing. We were the only ones there and we know why, we tried to be chatty with the bar staff but they were just not interested in making any conversation. We were with a dance group and we asked them about staying at the hotel in the future and whether they had a dance floor, but they just weren't interested in making any positive dialogue between us. We even had to go and ask for our change after paying.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have just returned from taking a school party to the hotel. We found the hotel to be excellently located for some of the best skiing any of us have ever experienced. A wide variety of runs of varying difficulty made it ideal for our party of mixed ability skiiers.

As for the hotel, besides its excellent loaction, we could not praise the staff and service highly enough. Keith, the manager, could not do enough for us and his excellent attitude was reflected in every one of his staff. They were excellent with our students and showed a real interest in them and their day.

The final highlight was the food. Each meal was freshly prepared and cooked and extremely tasty, with the opportunity for extras at every meal, an offer taken up far too often!

Would definitely like to return here next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel earlier this season. The location is superb, literally ski in and out. Food was great and complimentary wine was a bonus. The rooms were very clean and large in size with fantastic view from the balcony.

The real highlight of this hotel is the staff, although the manager did seem to have a crush on Dilf, he was friendly... Rose, Caitlin, Amy, Oli and all the rest were absolutely fantastic and helped us out whenever they could.

Highly recommend going to this Hotel, don't listen to the complaints about the walk, if you're fit enough to ski then you should be able to walk well enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

All in all a very good skiing holiday. Arrived early January 2013. Hotel staff very pleasant, an English establishment. Management very good, rooms adequate but no double bed, just twin room. Nice views. Food was nice, simple buffet breakfast and 3 course evening meal. They even went to the trouble of meeting our dietary requirements one night, by buying us halal meat instead of having to have the vegetarian option. Great location, right on the slope for skiing (ski to the door, no annoying lifts of long walks). Up the lope, a few meters walk away our some pleasant shops, with a useful Spa shop for food and snacks (great crisps!) The staff even came and took our bags when we arrived and walked us to the hotel. Had some trouble with the internet connection but got there in the end, small bar with English TV. The skiing was amazing as well, beautiful weather, blue skies, and snowed heavily for last few days. Great choice of runs and getting a pass which encompasses all the area is probably better as Les Arc is also a great skiing area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have just returned from a ski trip with my friends. The ski resort was fantastic one of the best in france that we have been to, we go every year. The hotel staff and management were absolutely excellent, considering his staff had only been in place for four weeks Keith had done a particularly good job on their training. Prior to the evening dinner they would make the time to ask how our day had been and tell us what they had been doing. Nothing was too much trouble if a requset was made then it happened. The food was first class and the ski servicing facilities excellent, prompt and completed in a professional manner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We've just returned from a fantastic week in this hotel. The staff, under Keith's management were excellent and really attentive. Keith, himself deserves particular praise as nothing was too much trouble for him and he made our stay a very enjoyable one. As far as the location is concerned, it's really top drawer. Just clip into your bindings, turn left down the hill and you are immediately on the terrifically well connected Paradiski circuit. The ski in, ski our location has now somewhat spoiled me as messing about on buses and long walks to lifts is not really what a skier wants. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel and location to anyone.

Neil

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Turquoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turquoise

Address: Belle Plagne, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Turquoise Hotel Macot La Plagne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Turquoise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Turquoise to your Saves list