We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski in ski out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Terra Nova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Terra Nova to your Saves list
Hotel Terra Nova
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plagne Centre, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ski in ski out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Good holel, great location. Buffet breakfast and dinner good quality with plenty of variety. Green beans a bit watery.
Location right on the slopes, just step out from ski room to snow and ski away to nearest lift about 100m.
About 100m walk to La Plagne Centre with bars and shops.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Stéphane Guichet Pithon at Hotel Terra Nova, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment.

We are pleased you had a good experience and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel .

Best regards,

Stéphane Guichet Pithon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    101
    54
    20
    10
See reviews for
96
58
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Diggle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotel Terra Nova is in a great location true ski in, ski out. We stayed on a very quite week in La Plagne and were very lucky with the weather and empty slopes, however I can imagine both the hotel and piste will be busy in school holidays. The food is as in other reports starters and dessert better than mains , but plenty to choose from you wont go hungry. Not so sure as to what the scrambled egg was made from though ! Very odd
We asked for a room with a balcony but were told this was not possible.
Three things people should be aware of at the Terra Nova, on arrival you are required to leave a 200 euro deposit by credit card even if you have paid for your holiday in full . Second there is no quarter litre of free wine with evening meals as advertised on some websites . Finally there is no sun terrace to sit out and enjoy the weather. One of the reasons I picked this hotel was because a sun terrace is advertised and shown on hotel pictures. I did ask at reception but was told there was no outdoor seating, however I did see around six staff smoking on the empty and inaccessible sun terrace.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Stéphane Guichet Pithon at Hotel Terra Nova, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment which is important to us to improve our service.

We are glad you had a good experience and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Stéphane Guichet Pithon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had a great holiday at the Terra Nova.

We requested a room with a balcony and a view of the piste. We were allocated a room on the sixth floor which had a fabulous view - no balcony, but this wasn't a problem. The room was large with plenty of towels and lots of hot water and a bath which we used daily to ease our aching legs after skiing.

The food was excellent despite all the poor reviews on trip advisor. (I think that some clients pay 3* prices then expect a 5* holiday!) There was so much choice and we loved the creole evening when we were treated to the fish counter which included poached salmon, smoked salmon and even langustines!

The staff at reception and in the restaurant were very pleasant, polite and welcoming.

The ski in, ski out access to the slope was fantastic. We adore the fifties feel of the hotel and the lovely carved wood and furniture.

We would love to return next season.

Room Tip: good views from the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Stéphane Guichet Pithon at Hotel Terra Nova, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment which helps us to improve our service.

We are glad you had a good experience and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Stéphane Guichet Pithon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Had a FAB holiday at the beginning of March 2014. This was our second visit to the Terra Nova. Excellent location on a green piste/easy access to lifts. A true ski in/ski out position.

Rooms clean and comfortable with good quality safe, lots of wardrobe space and plenty of hot water always available. Satellite TV included lots of UK channels.

Great choice of food at breakfast (incl. bacon & eggs everyday) and dinner (huge salad bar, choice of main courses, large selection of cheeses, desserts & ice creams).

Crystal Reps always available, helpful and pleasant.

Top Tips: Take padlock for ski locker (or use one from case!). Choose room slope side for a great view.

Only downside: WiFi poor due to lack of capacity for size of hotel and number of guests.

We will be back !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Stéphane Guichet Pithon at Hotel Terra Nova, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Stéphane Guichet Pithon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Ski in ski out, close to the shops (although the drive way from the hotel is quite steep and can be icy - people with buggys and wheelchairs struggled getting in and out) great food - 3 course buffet every evening - wine was very reasonable about €3 for a large glass. Rooms were clean and not too small. Wifi was awful, only managed to connect once the whole week.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Stéphane Guichet Pithon at Hotel Terra Nova, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment. It helps us to improve our service.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Stéphane Guichet Pithon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel is excellent placed for ski in and ski out on an easy slope with quick access to two chair lifts. The rooms are a good size - ask for slope side room as they overlook the piste.
The dining room is large with panoramic views. The starters and desserts were extremely good but the main courses were of limited choice -usually a fish dish and a casserole type dish and pasta. The casserole dishes were not always the best option and food was not always very hot.
They cater for children and disabled people very well in this hotel. The bar was popular and well frequented. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the piste as they tend to be slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Stéphane Guichet Pithon at Hotel Terra Nova, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Stéphane Guichet Pithon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowland, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We went back for a second time. Economies are clearly being made. Room was smaller, needed a good dust, but other than that the general cleaning was good. Staff at the reception very helpful, and efficient.

The restaurant was improved with the appointment of a new chef and some new serving staff. Quality and selection of food was much better, well kept and continually being topped up. Given the number of guests and the demands made on the restaurant well run and vastly improved.

Bar staff friendly and had a good sense of humour. A very pleasant stay.

This hotel has a great location directly onto the slopes and only a few metres from 4 chairlift either up or down. A great choice of runs and something to suit everyone.

Very popular with families, so if you prefer a quite child free hotel, this is not for you, but if you don't mind, well worth a try

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Stéphane Guichet Pithon at Hotel Terra Nova, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Stéphane Guichet Pithon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Terra Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terra Nova

Address: Plagne Centre, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terra Nova 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Terra Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Terra Nova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.