We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chalet holiday Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Marmotte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Macot-la-Plagne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Marmotte
Save Saved
You added Chalet Marmotte to your Saves list
Le Foret, Plagne 1800, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Chalet holiday Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Fantastic! Barry and Jill our hosts greeted us with smiles and enthusiasm (not what you would expect for the last week of the season) They were attentive professional great hosts, nothing was too much trouble, The food, so much food, they catered for the whole group of adults and children with vegetarians fantastically (imagine the potential with a larger kitchen).
I have been taking Chalet holidays for 25 years in the Alps and this has been the best experience yet I think mainly due to the fantastic treatment we received from our wonderful hosts.
Thank you Barry and Jill. "Thank you"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

What Ed11111 said! This was a great chalet experience, made so by Barry and Gill who took it upon themselves to ensure we all had what we needed. They made everyone welcome and ensured we all got to know each other, creating a relaxed atmosphere in which everyone got on - essential in the relatively small dining and communal area.
It isn't quite a ski in, ski out chalet. Even with snow on the track (it had melted after first couple of days), there was still a fair walk up hill either way and the climb up or down to the village was a slog.
The SkiFrance rep & manager, Franky and Murray, were a great help, particularly when both my girls were injured early in the holiday, ensuring we had the correct documentation for insurance/flights (including getting extra legroom on the flight - thanks to Monarch as well).
Our next trip will depend on where Barry and Gill end up next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first experience of being in a chalet and Barry and Gill the hosts, made it very memorable. They we're considerate and enthusiastic despite it being the end of a long season.
The four bedroom room was quite spacious with just three of us in it. The food was excellent and
the cakes to die for!!! Ski France made the holiday run smoothly. And we found La Plagne an ideal resort for all various abilities with it numerous wide pistes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having booked our stay at Chalet Marmotte less than a week before leaving we had not set high expectations, but they could not have been more highly exceeded, thanks to our wonderful hosts.

The chalet itself has a lovely rustic feel, with cosy lounge areas plus log fire, wrap around balcony and a nice social dining area. When you arrive back from the slopes there is a big heated boot rack which can also be used to dry wet things and a sauna with shower room which was a very welcome addition! The chalet was always very clean and made to feel cosy and welcoming.

The double/twin room itself was fairly small although there was more than enough storage space and hooks for clothes etc. The separate bathroom was huge, and included a shower and bath (a great alternative option to the sauna!) and heated towel rail.

The service we received from our chalet hosts was brilliant. The chalet was always clean and had a very welcoming homely feel. The food was also wonderful, including a range of breakfast options, home made cake in the afternoon and evening canapés followed by a 3 course meal, additional cheese board and even a night cap! The food itself was delicious, and always plentiful, with Gill and Barry regularly checking we had everything we'd like! The vegetarian options in particular were delicious, and really inventive thanks to Barry's dedication to food perfection!! On the whole Gill and Barry continuously went out of their way to ensure their guests comfort and were always so kind and friendly - absolutely nothing was too much trouble. Gill even made a 'hot toddy' when a couple of us got the sniffles at the end of the week!! Their dedication and brilliant company absolutely made our holiday and stay at Chalet Marmotte!

The resort itself was also great. We didn't know too much about La Plagne before we booked and again, were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The chalet itself was a small walk to the slopes, or alternatively a very short ski down the lane to the bottom slope and connecting chair lift. The ski area was very large and set up well for both beginner and experienced skiers, with some easily accessible off piste skiing and beautiful tree slopes. Plagne 1800, was fairly quiet, with basic amenities including ski hire, restaurants, bars and shops. Plagne Centre the next village on has much more going on, and is very easily accessible thanks to the free bus shuttle with the nearest bus stop only a very short walk away.

We look forward to the 2013/14 season, wherever Gill and Barry end up!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Ski France's Chalet Marmotte is relatively comfortable, has a charming lounge area, a sauna and 'prestige catering', but it's most important asset is the couple who run the chalet - Barry and Gill. They create a calm and welcoming atmosphere, provide excellent food and seem to genuinely enjoy making people happy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We've just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable stay at Chalet Marmotte and would return in a heart beat. As a complete beginner (never being on a skiing holiday before) and my partner being a seasoned skiier, we both had different expectations that were completely met throughout the week we spent in La Plagne and a massive part of that is down to the fabulous hosts Gill and Barry.

The chalet was homely, always spotless and cosy with a log fire lit most nights. The sauna comes in very handy after a full day skiing and comfortably fits 3-4 people. The food was varied, plentiful and well cooked; the afternoon tea always went down well as did the daily champagne and canapés.

It was a familiar feeling in the chalet that Barry and Gill were constantly working hard making sure we all had a fabulous week and we couldn't have been more grateful. Even on their day off, Barry and Gill helped us arrange alternative plans at La Metairie, a lovely restaurant in La Plagne Centre offering classic French cuisine. There was a birthday in the group and they went above and beyond to make it a special occasion with balloons and a delicious chocolate birthday cake - very thoughtful!

Location wise, the chalet is a 10 minute walk to Plagne 1800 which is very handy if you're taking ESF lessons, just be careful of the stairs if you're walking down in your ski boots. We rented a locker in the centre of 1800 for 35 Euros for the week which we would recommend as it saves a lot of hassle in the mornings and afternoons!

Our room was basic, always tidy and we were lucky to have a very large bathroom to ourselves with a lovely bath, shower, heated towel rack etc.. Communal areas were cosy and the dinner table was fine for 11 but any more would have been a squeeze.

Overall, a very lovely stay and a great skiing holiday. We were lucky to be with a fabulous group of people and were blessed with excellent weather! We do hope that Barry and Gill decide to host another chalet next year; they made the week one to remember - thank you for everything!

Sarah & Ali

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

A good value lovely rustic Style Chalet set in the trees. Nice ambiance and views. Log fire lit most nights. Sauna.

This is a great place to stay in the world-class ski resort of La Plagne.

This season the Chalet is fortunate to have motivated hard working hosts Barry & Jill. They ensure everything runs smoothly with the group and they work hard to make the Chalet and catering are top rate.

There are two downsides (a) the beds are not as luxurious as a hotel and (b) there is a short walk to the village facilities and piste, so would not be so convenient with small children.

I have been skiing for many years, nearly always using budget self catering. Chalet Marmotte compared very favourably!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Marmotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Marmotte

Address: Le Foret, Plagne 1800, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Will-I-Ski? Chalet, Chalet Marmotte sleeping 14 guests is situated in Plagne 1800. The Marmotte is a lovely traditional chalet with a warm and welcoming atmosphere. It has close proximity to the ski bus stop and you are within 2 minutes of the heart of La Plagne centre. This gives you access to slopes, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Marmotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.