We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but small apartment for skiing holidays” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Maeva Plagne Lauze

Save Saved
You added Residence Maeva Plagne Lauze to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Maeva Plagne Lauze
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Plagne 1800, 73700 Macot-la-Plagne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice but small apartment for skiing holidays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were with our three children (teenagers). We had a two-bedroom apartment so one child slept in the living room. The apartment was quite small. Kitchen had everything in place. It is about 500 mts walking to the nearest ski-lift. The supermarket was just across the street so was also the busstop to visit the other parts of La Plagne. Downside was that you have to pay for WiFi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    97
    44
    13
    2
See reviews for
126
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Anyone who has ever been on a ski holiday with a tight budget will know what to expect. Plagne Lauze apts are probably the smallest i have been in, but clean and modern. the usual small kitchen area with a kettle, hob and microwave (no toaster!), decent sized bathroom with shower and a toilet (this one did allow the door to be shut). Sleeping quarters consisted of an "L" shaped living / dining area, with a double pullout, single sofa bed with a pull out underneath. Also a decent balcony overlooking the swimming pool, and plenty of room on there for our skis, as we didn't bother with the locker room.
I travelled with my 2 teenage sons, another male adult friend couldnt make it, which would have meant 2 of us sharing the double bed.
1800 is a fairly quiet part of the Plagne villages, I think 2 bars although we didnt go on drinking trips, gift shop, ski shops, Spar, and Mama Mias pizza restaurant which also do take away pizzas. The prices are the usual ski resort extortion, about 12 euro for take out pizza, and add an extra 20% or so to anything from the Spar compared to buying in Moutiers before heading up the mountain. Previous experience meant that I took washing up liquid and cleaning stuff, but it wasnt needed as a welcome pack was provided (washing up liquid, dishcloths, scourer-sponge, dishwasher tabs for the not-yet mentioned dishwasher and tea towel. also 1 toilet roll)
Internet is available in the apartments, paid for on-line by card, I think our was 25 euro for unlimited use for up to 3 different devices.
Skiing in La Plagne is awesome, with loads of wide, easy blues for beginners - intermediates, lots of quiet out of the way areas, again with nice wide blues, there are plenty of reds and blacks for the more experienced, but all the blacks are un-groomed so usually full of leg-busting moguls. Having skied in Les Arcs last year, I prefer La Plagne, just for the sheer range of family-friendly blues available.
Overall, a great experience, great skiing, the accommodation was cosy, but clean and modern, and if I were to return with a group of 4, I would probably opt for a larger apartment to gain a little privacy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just retuned from a week skiing and we managed to squeez 5 full grown men into a 1 bed apartment. Was very cosy but be managed it. Only thing was that the toilet was so small you couldn't actually shut the door whilst you were sitting on it because you knees wouldn't fit in so we had to leave the door open. In this scenario a can of air freshner is definitely advised and luckily enough we were able to purchase one at the local SPA. As with all of the other reviews I would just echo that it's very basic but for the price, what do you really expect? Would probably stay here again if I was on a budget but when skiing I would say that Chalets are the way forward!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at the Lauze apartments in La Plagne 1800 during the second week of March. I was unsure what to expect having read some of the reviews but I was pleasantly surprised by the standard of accommodation. I stayed with 4 other guys, all prepared to slum it for a week of skiing. With 5 of us in an apartment it was always going to be a bit cosy. It was however remarkably spacious. There was a double bedroom, a twin, separate loo, separate shower and separate bathroom on the upper floor. The lower floor had a well equipped galley kitchen, dining area and 2 sofa singles beds. Plus, there was a separate loo, small lobby area and a balcony on the lower floor. The furnishings and decorations were all of a high standard and spotlessly clean. Some reporters have commented on the sofa beds being uncomfortable but I had no such difficulty (at 6’1’’ and 100kg I tend to find faults in beds if they exist).

The apartments are grouped in blocks just a short distance from the main hotel reception. The free ski bus which can take you to the other villages stops about 50m away. I travelled to the resort from Geneva airport via Bens Bus. The service was efficient and cost about £75 return. The only problem is that they only operate a few buses each day so expect a long wait at the airport unless you coordinate your flight in advance. Bens Bus drops off right outside Lauze so it is very convenient.

Lauze is situated about 200m from the nearest chair lift, which takes you to Plagne Centre in just a couple of minutes. We rented a ski locker at the Sport 2000 shop at the bottom of the hill to save carrying our skis and boots back up the hill each day, it cost about 30 euro for the week for a 6 man locker. The skiing conditions were the best ever the week we were there and we covered all of the runs in La Plagne from this location, which is quite central to the whole area. If you are considering venturing to Les Arcs, then it may be worth staying a little closer to the Vanoise Express at Montchavin to avoid the bottleneck at Plagne Bellecote, or you need to set off early. The journey from Plagne 1800 to Montchavin takes about 1 hour at a gentle cruise.

Plagne 1800 is very, very quiet. There are a couple of bars The Mine (quite lively) and Bobsleigh (good happy hour après bar) but that is it. For a night out you need to take the bus up to Plagne Centre. However, after a hard day on the slopes there was enough to entertain 5 middle ages guys for a few nights.

For provisions there is a small Spar supermarket located under the hotel. It stocked a reasonable selection of stuff and even sold Marmite and PG Tip tea. You can get all you require for a week of self catering and it was open from 7.30am for fresh baguettes and croissants. There are a couple of restaurants in the village, but the only one we tried was the rustic pizza and pasta place (I can’t remember the name) situated by the Spar shop. The food was great, really good value for French ski resort and the owner was very hospitable. We enjoyed large quantities of genepy (a drink akin to schnapps) on the house which made it all the more worth a visit.

Overall, I was very impressed with the Lauze apartments. The location is convenient to the slopes; it was well equipped and spotlessly clean. It was probably a little too basic for a trip with our partners but for a lad’s crash pad, it was more than we required.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We travelled with Crystal Ski and staying in Lauze Apartments and stayed for a week from the 2nd of March in a Type C studio - sleeping 2-4 in the Digitale block which is the 2nd last of the apartments down the hill away from the Reception block.

The apartment consisted of a main living area with 1 double sofa bed, a wardrobe, 2 cabinets, tv stand and a dining table with 4 chairs. There were also bunk beds in another room separated by a sliding partition door and there was a cupboard in the corner, plus the door to the balcony. The kitchenette was well stocked with cutlery etc and despite the sink being absolutely tiny, it was perfect for self catering. All of the beds were perfectly comfortable, although the usual brown fleece blankets were pretty moth eaten and could do with being replaced.

The apartment was heated by 3 electric radiators, (1 in main room, 1 in bedroom and 1 in bathroom). They were very effective and our apt was very cosy. It was also very nice having dry warm towels all of the time. There was a clothes hanger supplied as well which was absolutely perfect for hanging over the living room radiator and dried our snow clothes out very nicely.

We received a complementary box with cleaning liquids, scourer, a dish towel and dish washer tablets which I thought was a nice touch and a first for me having stayed in 3 similar self catering styled apartments in other resorts. One important feature of the apartment which I was completely unable to research pre-travel was the inclusion on a room safe in the living room cupboard (also contained a vacuum cleaner). Although we did not pay for the use of this, it’s useful to know that it is available for laptop/valuables etc!

Another improvement on other apartments that I have stayed in is that the bed linen had been delivered and was waiting in our room and there were towels supplied which was unexpected. On leaving, you are asked to chuck all bedding and towels in the bath. Also, room cleaning at the end of stay is included as a service and they only ask that the kitchen is cleaned. Again, this is another plus and most appreciated when your bus collection is at 0520!

There was endless hot hater at all times of day. One point mentioned in a recent review was noise and the apartments not being sound proof. We were on the ground level and our apartment backed onto the main stairwell. There was quite a bit of ski boot clomping to be heard but it was perfectly tolerable and only went on around the end of the skiing day. We didn’t hear much noise at night time and were not disturbed.

For my wife, 7 yr old son and I, the apartment was absolutely great and I would stay there again without hesitation. I wouldn’t consider staying in this apartment with any more than 2 adults though!

We did not use the pool/sauna facilities which are only open from 1630 – 1930 each day, although they look very nice. There is a Spar mini-market within the reception complex and is only a few minutes up the hill from the Digitale apartments. It is very well stocked – although I’d be careful when buying their meat products! There is a nice little bakery 1 minute down the hill from Digitale, but get there early (8am) if you want pain au chocolat/croissants. Their baguettes are much nicer than the Spar’s though…

All in all, we had an amazing holiday and our wee apartment did it’s job very well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We rented a 2-4 person studio apartment for 3 people (there were 6 of us in total, so 2 studios which were next to each other.) Yes, the rooms are really small but we were hardly there so that didn't matter too much.

The sofabeds were perfectly comfortable and after a long day skiing we had no trouble sleeping! We didn't even bother turning on the TV and rather enjoyed a week without it. We were on the 3rd floor and honestly the lack of lift did not faze us.

The kitchen(ette) had an electric hob and microwave and is complete with crockery and cooking utensils. They supply you with a box of cleaning goods (scourer, washing up liquid, etc) but I'd suggest bringing some plastic bags for the bin and recycling as they don't seem to supply you with those (only 1 bin liner for the week). Bed linen and towels are provided.

The Melezes ski lift is about a 5 minute walk downhill (with skis) - from there you can ski down to the 1800 chairlift or head up to Plagne Centre and take La Bergerie chairlift and onwards from there! You can ski back into Plagne 1800 on a blue piste and even take a short cut off-piste to bring you to about 200m from the apartments.

There are about 3 places to eat in Plagne 1800 - Le Petit Chaperon Rouge, Le Loup Blanc (our favourite) and Mamma Mia pizzeria - and a couple of bars, of which we frequented La Mine, which has happy hour 4-7pm, free wifi, and live music. For more choice, you can get a free shuttlebus that runs to Plagne Centre from the bus stop just above the junction where the Lauze reception is.

All in all the snow was pretty good and would say this is a great resort for beginners and intermediates, with the ability for more advanced skiers to head to Les Arcs for more choice of harder runs. The time we went was very busy though and often there were fairly long queues for chairlifts when the weather was good. But this accommodation was in a pretty good location and served us well for the week.

Room Tip: Going lower down might get you more noise from the stairwell (rooms aren't sound-proof) - 2-4 pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Booked room through booking.com, which did not clarify that the studio apartment only had a sofabed. Even so, this would have been no problem, but the sofabed was laughably uncomfortable, most likely due to its age. Given this, I think it's highly misleading to advertise that the room accommodates 2 people. My wife and I had a miserable time trying to sleep in that bed. We would've reserved a 4-person room (which was also available when we booked) if they'd been more forthcoming with their information.

A "technician" came and checked the bed, but was unable to do anything. He also failed to fix the nonfunctioning wifi in our room, but concluded simply that it had been "incorrectly installed," and that was the end of it. Thank God the skiing was fantastic.

I would recommend trying somewhere else in La Plagne if you can afford it.

Room Tip: If you have 2 adults, get a 4-person room. If you have 4 adults, get something larger... The sofab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Maeva Plagne Lauze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Maeva Plagne Lauze

Address: Plagne 1800, 73700 Macot-la-Plagne, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Specialty lodging in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Maeva Plagne Lauze 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of “Paradiski” ski area Board payable when booking A renovated residence on the edge of the forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Pierre & Vacances, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Residence Maeva Plagne Lauze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maeva Residence Plagne Lauze Hotel Macot-La-Plagne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Maeva Plagne Lauze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.