We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad considering the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Maeva Plagne Lauze

Save Saved
You added Residence Maeva Plagne Lauze to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Maeva Plagne Lauze
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Plagne 1800, 73700 Macot-la-Plagne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not bad considering the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We rented a 2-4 person studio apartment for 3 people (there were 6 of us in total, so 2 studios which were next to each other.) Yes, the rooms are really small but we were hardly there so that didn't matter too much.

The sofabeds were perfectly comfortable and after a long day skiing we had no trouble sleeping! We didn't even bother turning on the TV and rather enjoyed a week without it. We were on the 3rd floor and honestly the lack of lift did not faze us.

The kitchen(ette) had an electric hob and microwave and is complete with crockery and cooking utensils. They supply you with a box of cleaning goods (scourer, washing up liquid, etc) but I'd suggest bringing some plastic bags for the bin and recycling as they don't seem to supply you with those (only 1 bin liner for the week). Bed linen and towels are provided.

The Melezes ski lift is about a 5 minute walk downhill (with skis) - from there you can ski down to the 1800 chairlift or head up to Plagne Centre and take La Bergerie chairlift and onwards from there! You can ski back into Plagne 1800 on a blue piste and even take a short cut off-piste to bring you to about 200m from the apartments.

There are about 3 places to eat in Plagne 1800 - Le Petit Chaperon Rouge, Le Loup Blanc (our favourite) and Mamma Mia pizzeria - and a couple of bars, of which we frequented La Mine, which has happy hour 4-7pm, free wifi, and live music. For more choice, you can get a free shuttlebus that runs to Plagne Centre from the bus stop just above the junction where the Lauze reception is.

All in all the snow was pretty good and would say this is a great resort for beginners and intermediates, with the ability for more advanced skiers to head to Les Arcs for more choice of harder runs. The time we went was very busy though and often there were fairly long queues for chairlifts when the weather was good. But this accommodation was in a pretty good location and served us well for the week.

Room Tip: Going lower down might get you more noise from the stairwell (rooms aren't sound-proof) - 2-4 pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    97
    43
    13
    2
See reviews for
125
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Booked room through booking.com, which did not clarify that the studio apartment only had a sofabed. Even so, this would have been no problem, but the sofabed was laughably uncomfortable, most likely due to its age. Given this, I think it's highly misleading to advertise that the room accommodates 2 people. My wife and I had a miserable time trying to sleep in that bed. We would've reserved a 4-person room (which was also available when we booked) if they'd been more forthcoming with their information.

A "technician" came and checked the bed, but was unable to do anything. He also failed to fix the nonfunctioning wifi in our room, but concluded simply that it had been "incorrectly installed," and that was the end of it. Thank God the skiing was fantastic.

I would recommend trying somewhere else in La Plagne if you can afford it.

Room Tip: If you have 2 adults, get a 4-person room. If you have 4 adults, get something larger... The sofab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanwick, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at La Plagne 1800 Lauze......
Right...the room was ok if you want some room then this isn't for you esp if you have more then 2 people in the room...the kitchen is tiny and only have a hob and no cooker but you do have a microwave.....but as they say "you get what you pay for"

The sofa bed we had was so bad everytime you turned over you woke up as a spring went or you fell into the hole in the middle...I'd sleep on the pull out beds if you can...

The outdoor pool is ok you need some shoes to get to the pool as its frezzing up the steps....but don't let the steam fool you its not "warm"

The ski lockers got broke into the day we arrived but we always keep our boards in the room anyways because of this...the thing that really bugged us about this was it wasn't really made public this had happened....

You have to pay for everything ie washing mashine €6 and the Internet is €5 a day...but all I can say is if you can live without it i would even the "upgraded" package was as slow as a snail....the tv only shows French tv so if you can take a laptop and some DVDs.

The resort its self is ok everything more or less shuts at 730 at night and they have a siesta between 1-330 why I have no idea...if you want fresh bakery stuff get there early i went at 830 and ran out of Pain Au Chocalate....

The lifts are about 10mins walk and if you are just starting out theres a fab nursery slope just at the bottom if the lifts.....

All in all you get what you pay for if you want luxary then this isn't for you but if you don't mind basic ten go for it....

Room Tip: If you don't mind the smell of smoke then any but if you hate the smell then stay at the bottom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The accommodation is basic but you get what you pay for. I stayed in a studio apartment with my partner. We had a sofa bed that wasn't very comfortable but we didn't really expect it to be and knew that's what we would be getting when we booked. The hotel is well looked after. The kitchen area had everything you needed for a self catering stay. The bathroom had a combined shower and bath and was small but fine for us. The hotel facilities were good including a swimming pool and sauna. The pool was heated but still a bit too cold for us to stay in longer than 5 mins. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful and check in didn't take too long. Ski lockers were also well located and we had no problems with safe keeping of equipment. There is a locker in the rooms that is charged for by the week i think it was 10 euros. The ski area is excellent and the apartments are only a short walk from a lift that takes you up into the main ski area. Our apartment was near the ski hire shop which is next door to the local bakery. There is a spar located next to reception as well as a ski shop and souvenir shop. There are several bus stops in plagne 1800 so your always only a short walk away from the nearest one and the free shuttle service is really good although can be busy at times.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Well-furnished and clean apartments, with good facilities and only a short walk from ski runs. The resort run a free bus service around the local area which stops in La Plagne; 1800, Centre and Bellecote which proved a welcome relief at the end of a tough day skiing!

However on the 4th day in the apartment, New Years day no less, we entered the ski lockers to a scene of devastation. No less than 27 locker doors had been ripped clean off their hinges and only common and/or child's skis had been left. This was obviously a well organised gang, they had smashed the lock on the outside of the apartment which stupidly advertises the fact that it is a ski locker room, they knew that only five police patrol the entire La Plagne area and that Pierre Vacance Residences are severely lacking in security. We were one of the first groups down to the locker room in the morning and headed straight to the hotel reception where we explained the situation to the receptionist. She told us she would send a technician and turned away to continue her other tasks!

We couldn't believe it, we told her she needed to call the police as it was a large theft. As it turns out locker rooms are prime targets for thieves and thefts are nothing unusual, but that should not mean that hotel staff should not offer any sympathy for what was an extremely infuriating situation.

The hotel states skis MUST be stored in the locker rooms but then in the small print take no responsibility for skis that are left there! 3 days later and the hotel have still not sorted out the locker room, the only improvement is that some of the doors are up off the floor!

Lesson learnt, from now on we will store all ski equipment in the apartments!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

Self catering ski apartments in France are never spacious. As veterans of Pierre & Vacances shoe box sized accommodation in various resorts, we always pack light and expect something very compact. La Lauze accommodation in Plagne 1800 through Crystal his year was a very welcome exception. Booking a 5 person apartment for 4 gave us the usual 'kitchenette' with a dining table in the living area, a pull down double bed /sofa and single sofa bed all in one big living space. A separate room with 2 single beds, a toilet, proper bathroom with shower over a bath and a small balcony with a terrific SW view completed the set. A built in wardrobe, freestanding wardrobe and deep underbed drawers meant that everything could be unpacked and luggage stored away - pretty much a first for our usual accommodation. The living area was so large that we left the pull down double extended for the whole week and still had plenty room to entertain several friends in the evening. By the way I'm 6ft 3 and my wife 5ft 9 and the pull down double was plenty big enough, so no compromise with smal furniture - definitely full size. The Crystal rep mentioned that these apartments were in danger of being ditched after the 2011 season but the refurb meant Crystal kept them on - good decision. Kitchenette had full sized dishwasher, hob and microwave - pretty standard fare.

Check in and out was smooth - helped no doubt by our early arrival and late departure (and room was ready when we arrived at midday).

There are several apartment buildings - we were in Eperviere - all looked the same and none were far from the main reception (with pool, sauna, games room, bar and restaurant). The only thing compact was the resort.

As for location - its a 350m walk to ski school and the nearest meaningful lift. Not too far, but not ski in ski out. We were on the 3rd floor down from the top entrance and therefore 3 floors up from the boot room and bottom entrance. There is no lift, but these are built on the side of a mountain and our gear stayed in the boot room so a few stairs were not really a problem day to day. A bit of a pain lugging bags around on arrival and departure day, and yes, a lift would be nice, but I've had a lot worse. If you don't do stairs, are you really cut out for a ski holiday ??

La Plagne 1800 is quiet - one Spar shop and a small bakery is all there is for food shopping, but a handful of bars and restaurants were adequate and the free bus between all the La Plagne villages gave good access if looking for more variety.

All in all spacious accommodation - great holiday.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Plagne Lauze has a difficult job on it's hands. Coachloads of skiers arrive en masse every Saturday night and have to be quickly squeezed into their apartments; trusted to behave themselves, and relied upon to tidy the rooms before they dash away the following Saturday. And there's only a couple of hours to check everything before the next lot arrive. Not easy.

And there's a lot to recommend these apartments to be honest. While compact, the apartment is well equipped, the bathroom is clean and modern, storage is adequate, you get a ski locker and you're reasonably close to the slopes. The compact size was not a problem for the two of us (though I can't imagine fitting another two adults in here).

And there were some very pleasant surprises. The Spar mini-supermarket just across the road is brilliantly stocked and very reasonably priced. You get free use of a sauna and outdoor (heated!) pool, which is fantastic (if a little crowded at times). Your apartment has wi-fi. And reception were always polite and friendly.

So why an Average rating? Well, the Ryanair mentality was an irritant. Charging for wi-fi - fine. Charging for cleaning equipment - well alright. Paying to use the safe in the room for your valuables? Come on....really? The lack of elevators was also a bit of a nightmare. After a day's skiing and the fairly long trudge up a hill to the ski lockers on the ground floor, I was near collapse. Having to climb 5 flights of stars to reach our room darn near killed me. And while the broken heater in the apartment was replaced fairly smartly, we were chilly for the first 48 hours.

But the real problem? Our apartment reeked of smoke when we arrived - the room, the curtains, even our pillows. We raised it immediately with the front desk. No room change possible, not even a change of pillows or a can of air freshener to tide us over. It took 2 days for them to send someone up with a can of Febreze, which only took the edge off. We still spent the week in a room that smelt like a 90's nightclub and spent a small fortune on air freshener from the Spar shop.

Which is a shame as it's not really their fault - it's the previous occupants'. And I know that this isn't 5 or even 4* accommodation, but it's still unacceptable.

Would I stay there again or would I recommend it? Well, yes, if I had to. At the end of the day it's a budget ski chalet and it did it's job with some good bits. I'd just spend more time on the stairmaster before going, and pack the Febreze.

Room Tip: choose the lower floors to save your legs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Maeva Plagne Lauze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Maeva Plagne Lauze

Address: Plagne 1800, 73700 Macot-la-Plagne, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Specialty lodging in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Maeva Plagne Lauze 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of “Paradiski” ski area Board payable when booking A renovated residence on the edge of the forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Pierre & Vacances, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Residence Maeva Plagne Lauze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maeva Residence Plagne Lauze Hotel Macot-La-Plagne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Maeva Plagne Lauze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.