We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Alpine Feel with doorstep skiing once your find your 'doorstep'.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil

Save Saved
You added Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Plagne Soleil, Macot-la-Plagne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Droitwich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Traditional Alpine Feel with doorstep skiing once your find your 'doorstep'.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Positives - location, apartment facilities, resort skiing, resort facilities (as long as you are not looking for a wild night life). Thank god we were given an apartment for 6 (2 adults, 2 teenagers) otherwise we would have been very tight on space. The bedrooms were lovely and cosy with comfortable super king bed in the ensuite master bedroom. The twin had a separate toilet and bathroom. The kitchen area was well equipped. If you are British, bring a portable DVD player with adaptor leads to fit into the TV as English stations are almost non existent. This works v well and keeps the family happy if you want a relaxing night in. It IS ski in and ski out BUT no one tells you how to get down to the back door via 2 lifts without clambering down icy steps with skis. Once you work it out, it's easy, although the complicated lifts and access from reception to your accommodation can be bewildering especially when you arrive with all your bags. However that's an irritation that's offset by a quiet nights sleep as you look out onto the slopes and no noisy traffic or drunken partygoers. Shops in Plagne Soleil - minimal but a decent Spar Supermarket - expensive though. We took a few tins and cooking basics - what saddos but felt smug that we did! Some nice restaurants though and if you can be bothered to get the shuttle bus at night you can head out to Plagne Centre or the other villages.
Negatives: It did seem weird that the Reception wasnt open between 1-4 and closed again at 8pm. The code to the swimming pool door malfunctioned and we couldn't get in until Reception opened again at 4pm. We were running around the buildings and smelly carpark and corridors trying to find a way in as Reception had switched off the direct access lifts until they reopened.

However the Reception staff were very kind - we lost one of our room keys on the first day - BEWARE - you only have 2 keys and if you lose one it costs about 100 euros penalty! Fortunately someone found it after a day but we were struggling to deal with different ski arrangements and arrivals back to the apartment or boot locker with only one key. You couldn't leave that key at Reception as Reception closed when you needed it. Had we lost the 2nd key we would have been locked out for the night so we lived in fear whilst we were one key down.

The free Internet is a very nice facility - it doesn't always work and some say it won't work with iPads but we did get the hang of it once someone explained that once you had clicked on the link in SETTINGS, you then had to go to SAFARI to type in your user name and password. Again that took a couple of days to find out. You have to ask lots of people that you meet in the hotel to help you resolve these issues at its not always obvious.

Skiing - just awesome. You have to get a bit of a pace going on the last run if you want to come into your own back door rather than ending up down the hill near the Reception end but there is a handy little button lift - the Colossus - at Plagne Bellecote that brings you to the top end of the hotel if this is where your apartment is. In some parts of La Plagne eg Plagne Centre, you MAY end up poling it a bit between sections but intermediate skiers can get across to all the runs if you get a good pace going and look for the best route. There is a huge amount of skiing also in Les Arcs with a very fast cable car over, but some great variety also in La Plagne areas if you take the time to explore. We have been to resorts all over Europe and this one is up there for the skiing and much prettier than expected. I don't think it's the sort of place for wild boozy nights though! Too spread out. Been there and done that. Here for skiing and comfort and that's what you get in the main.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romain J, Directeur général at Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sueweston,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at Les Granges du Soleil.

I am really happy to learn that you had a wonderful time in the resort.
It is always a pleasure to receive such a nice feedback.
Be sure that your comments will be shared with the entire team in order to let them know they managed to reach your expectations.
We have new reception opening hours.
We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon at Les Granges du Soleil during a next trip in Alps.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I think Steve R must have been somewhere else...
Just back from my 4th to La Plagne in 3 years. This accommodation offers superb ski in ski out at the top of Plagne Soleil. The apartment (a7) was clean well appointed and going out the door (on lift level -2) you are jaut above to terrace bar and straight on to my skis.
No issues at all swimming in shorts in fact the staff wee fantastic. I suggested they should have a bar in reception so you could enjoy a drink in front of the warming open wood fire before heading out.
There was a bit of smell in th e general corridors which as more from damp carpets etc due to people coming in with snow on their boots/skis. I have experienced this in other places and on our first night 13th) the carpets were being steam cleaned leaving a lovely lemon smell.
It was a little warm and dry as is to be expected at over 2000m. And at -19 it was better than being cold. Just run a steaming hot bath and leave the water in over night to increase humidity.
2 important questions -
Would I recommend this to a friend?.. YES
Would I return?.. YES - already pricing for next year.

Brilliant - thank you for a grat family holiday.

Room Tip: A7 was good for us - but request a ground level over looking slopes if you want to ski to you balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romain J, Directeur général at Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Kevin B,

Thank you very much for your contribution, I will share with all teams Les Granges du Soleil, your satisfaction make us very pleased.
Your feedback energize and motivate us.

All teams works with the best of motives to make your stay unforgettable, and give you the urge to return as soon as possible in our beautiful region!

Looking forward to welcome you again very soon in La Plagne.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

First impressions were excellent - how wrong we were!
Modern purpose built apartment complex in Plagne Soleil.
Arrived early on the saturday lunchtime & as advertised had to wait until 5pm to check in. However on entering our apartment at 5.15pm the place had not been cleaned & we then had to wait until gone 7pm for it to be cleaned. Not ideal after a 10 hour drive! We stayed in apartment A2 - a very pleasant & well appointed 2 bedroom apartment but with the most dreadful stench of raw sewage. In fact the whole chalet stunk from the day we arrived to the day we left. We complained to Reception but was just met with "we know" and not even an apology!
We were refused use of the spa/pool/sauna area as we did not have Speedo type briefs with us - only swimming shorts.
The complex advertises itself as ski in ski out - this could not be further from the truth.
Plagne Soleil is a lovely resort but this property & more so it's staff fell way short of what was expected. We have enjoyed over a dozen ski trips to France but have never experienced such a poorly managed accomodation with such uncaring & rude staff. Avoid!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romain J, Directeur général at Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Steve R ,

We apologize greatly for the inconvenience and lack of customer service you received during your stay in our Resort.
We thank you for your feedback and the necessary corrective actions have been taken with the front office & management staff. The person you are talking about is no longer working with us and a new Manager is on duty since the end of February.

We hope that you will consider to stay again in our beautiful Resort in the future, and should you choose to do so, please inform us in advance and we shall update your reservation to offer you a complimentary service on your next stay.

We hope that your next experience with us will be excellent.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Fab holiday in La Plagne! Fantastic ski area, we ski hard and still didn't do all the runs we wanted. I have never had a whole week of sunny weather and good skiing. Ski school was good if a little brusque although perhaps our children are too pampered (french ski instructors do not pick children up if they fall down or go easy on critisism!) The accommodation is good, fantastic ski in/ski out, apartment was attractive and very clean. The childrens bedroom would have been better as bunk beds as with 2 single beds in there was literally no room to move around. Pool is lovely and staff very helpful too. You can order bread every day to pick up the next morning. Ski hire shop is at the accommodation too which makes life easier and having the car garaged on site was good. Everything is in very easy reach as you are right in the centre of Plagne Soleil. The accommodation is sprawling and we took several trips to actually work out the slightly convoluted route to our appartment. The restaurants in the village are wonderful (incl the one in the accommodation. Best food I have had for ages.

Room Tip: It would have been more interesting to have a room overlooking the actual slopes and mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay over the Uk half term. We chose this residence based on previous stays at MGM apartments in various French resorts over the past few seasons. We have never skied over half term and we were a bit unsure how busy everything would be.
We arrived on the Saturday at about 2.30pm and thankfully our apartment was ready as the reception was full of people waiting to go & check in. Check-in was quick but felt there was no guidance as where to go etc. Went to park the car in the garage (50euros - always feel ripped off) but after 10 mins could find no way to our apartment from the garage so drove out thinking there must be another garage. Ended up going back to reception who informed us there was no access but we could park for 5 mins out the front to unload. Anyone driving on a self catering holiday knows how many bits you have ! It took 4 of us at least 5 trips up and down the lift - other residences have had trolleys.
The apartment was a 2 bed sleeping 6 although there was only 4 of us. It was nicely furnished but just inadequate for potentially 6 people ! 1 settee didn't even fit 4 of us. 1 toilet roll for the week is just rubbish for £2500 accommodation only. Other apartments we have stayed in had a mid-week change of towels & re-stock of soap, loo rolls etc. Charged 8 euro each to hire a bath robe ! No pool towels so one towel each had to do for bath and pool etc. As stated in another review the apartments are very stuffy. There seems to be constant air-conditioning that you can't control that drains the rooms of any air. We closed the shutters and left the window open but it is a very dry atmosphere.
The jacuzzis weren't working 2 days out of 6 and there always seemed to be a steam room or sauna not working. The heated boot warmers did not work the whole week. The journey from the apartment was through a 2 metre high snow drift that was very icy and was not cleared the whole week despite 24 hrs of snow. My son slipped quite badly on sheet ice when the snow melted then froze - needed some grit/salt.
The apartments were ok but husbands thoughts were ' they have just done the bare minimum in terms of clearing paths etc'. Didn't find the reception particularly helpful and found it was easier the find things out ourselves. Seemed odd that the reception closed at 8pm as pool table etc was in reception and you don't stop needing info at 8pm.
Access to the slopes was across the car park and up a steep path - not great carrying skis etc.

Overall the skiing was good with lots of variety of runs. Access to the lifts (especially in Plagne Centre) can be a pain with lots of taking off skis to walk between lifts as they can be uphill !

The apartments were a disappointment but maybe we have just been spoilt at other apartments. Just think for £2.5k you can expect more than one loo roll, things to work, bath robes etc.

Would not return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Wonderful work of concierge service really helps you during your stay. An outstanding wet area (pool and baths) let you to relax and compensate difficulties in skiing.
But not everything was so good. The cleanness of the rooms doesn’t correspond the level of the hotel. Dust was everywhere. It was easy to leave the place on skis but not easy to return.
Resulting of the heating system work it’s very, very dry in the rooms. Had to hang wet towels everywhere to humidify the air.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We had a very nice apartment with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with views up to the mountains. The apartment itself was very well designed and had everything we needed for the week. The only problem we had was in stopping the apartment getting very stuffy without freezing!
The swimming pool is relatively small and the water was not too warm but it is pleasant enough. the sauna and steam rooms are very nice, as is the fitness room.
The layout of the building is very strange - to get to our apartment from reception we had to walk through the underground car park and up 3 different lifts!
The boot room cupboards are spacious and have boot heaters in the lockers. And wherever you are in the 4 chalets it is very easy to get out on to the piste.
It is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil

Address: Plagne Soleil, Macot-la-Plagne, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Macot-la-Plagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Space as far as the eye can see, sunshine to bring the flowers out and enough snow to plough your furrow - Paradiski, one of the finest ski areas in France, is the perfect place to cultivate your happiness in the open air.All the more since at its gates our résidence Les Granges du Soleil can offer you superbly equipped apartments as well as a swimming pool, sauna, steam bath, cardio-training room, billiards, a restaurant, ski shop and a magnificent treatment centre - all it takes to build a collection of wonderful memories.Opposite Mont Blanc and the massif du Beaufortain, snow is guaranteed and the atmosphere assured. A palette of activities for those who love riding and thrills.To go with the wealth of outdoor activities, the Granges du Soleil offers you the chance to recharge your batteries with the swimming pool, the spa and the fitness centre at the heart of the résidence. Holidays to help you rediscover your well-being.With its 6 high altitude resorts and 4 authentic villages of various styles, la Plagne cleverly combines the vast ski area Paradiski with an astonishing diversity of architecture. From the Bellecote Glacier to the pine and spruce forests, you don't need to take off your skis. There are 425 Km of marked pistes awaiting you this winter as well as an immense unmarked area to take you to the great off-piste runs like the north face of the Bellecote summit.La Plagne was established in 1961 and is known throughout the world thanks to its famous red ski hat, a symbolof its welcoming and traditional spirit. It's that spirit that attracted CGH Résidences and confirmed our choice of location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Granges Du Soleil Hotel Macot-La-Plagne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence CGH Les Granges du Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.