We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chalet Hosts Make the Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Trolles

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macot-la-Plagne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Trolles
Plagne 1800, Macot-la-Plagne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
st albans
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Chalet Hosts Make the Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went in a group of three sharing the chalet with another group of 13 ( who were great fun - in case they read this!).

The chalet is well located, 5 mins from the ski lift, and has lots of room for ski's and boots.

Rooms are basic, but clean and functional.

The communal dining and sitting rooms are roomy and reasonably well appointed.

What makes all the difference in the chalet hosts. Sammy and Johnny (Jonny?) are fantastic. They work very hard, and have perfected the balance between professionalism and friendliness. The food is of a very high standard every night, and the cakes and tea each day are a delight.

The whole holiday works so well when you have such great chalet hosts, who are prepared to help out in many ways, above and beyond the call of duty. Including ski guiding, and helping with shopping tips and organising a trip to the Bob sleigh run ( a must if you are in the area). Ask about the "Two Dogs" mountain bar - which Johnny assures us has a dog that collects money for charity!!

I would recommend this chalet with Sammy and Johnny as hosts to everyone from individuals to large groups and families.

Room Tip: All the rooms have slightly different layouts, so talk to your agent beforehand to get the best room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    7
    6
    0
See reviews for
11
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We (my wife and I) stayed here on the 1st week of Feb and it all started badly with the disaster better known as Grenoble Airport - sitting on the plane for 90 mins waiting to get off was not the way to start a holiday and that was before the chaos of retrieving bags. So we eventually arrived at the Chalet about 10pm (2 1/2 hrs late) all a bit tired and a little fraught!.

However all the tension soon disappeared when we were quickly allocated our rooms and sat down to our first meal prepared by our welcoming hosts Johnny and Sammy. I don't think I had been there more than 15 minutes before I was tucking in to great food, drinking wine and meeting the other guests. It is amazing how you can become chilled so quickly!

Chilled, well fed, sometimes (well perhaps frequently) a little drunk is basically how we stayed for the rest of what turned out to be a fantastic week, full of fun, some great skiing, cool guests and fantastic hosts. Johnny and Sammy really go that extra mile to ensure all their guests have a good time, they deserve all the praise they get.

As one of the other reviewers said - Best Chalet in La Plagne? Probably

So what to expect:
1) Chalet was warm, friendly, spotlessly clean and with plenty of space. There is an entrance hall/room to store all your skis and even better it had boot warmers so you always had dry and warm boots to put on in the morning! There is also a Sauna - not my cup of tea but there if you want it.
2) Rooms are basic (again spotless) and a bit strange in that you have a mezzanine where the beds are and with more like a step ladder than stairs to get to them (so be careful). However once you got used to it was not bad at all and it did mean you had plenty of space. The shower was brilliant, plenty of space and loads of hot water. Certainly there was no problem sleeping.
3) Location is brilliant, about 100 yds max to the slopes and main lifts and 30 yards from the La Mine pub. La Mine pub has free wifi and is a great place to have a few beers and catch up with any emails when you come off the slopes.
4) Food is plentiful, well cooked, varied. It is not gourmet food but what you get is always very good. The cakes with tea are excellent.
5) Hosts - just brilliant. They get the balance of friendliness, fun and professionalism just about right.

PS - Please ask Johnny to announce what you are going to have for dinner, it is his favourite task of the day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had an amazing weeks stay in Chalet Trolles, Sammy and Jonny made our stay very welcoming. Food was always excellent, they made every effort to make you feel at home and looked after you no matter what! Chalet was kept very clean and clearly looked after. Holiday would not have been the same without such lovely hosts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

On the first night the rep from Ski France billed Chalet Trolles as the number one chalet in La Plagne – a tall order to meet the little voice in my head thought. But boy, did our hosts live up to the hype. All week long the food was fantastic; a varied and interesting menu, expertly prepared, and very well executed indeed. Jonny and Sammy (now in their 6th and 4th seasons respectively – I think) really made staying at Chalet Trolles a pleasure, blending just the right mix of professionalism, warm hospitality, friendly chit-chat, and letting us get on with our holiday. Every night the chalet kitchen and living space was meticulously cleaned, leaving everything ship shape for the next day. The hosts here know how it is done, and go further than most to make your stay relaxing.
The chalet itself was in good condition – not too tired, and certainly big enough for seventeen. Even if you don’t want to socialise in the shared living room, the bedrooms had a separate seating area where you could relax in private. The beds were small and don’t push together very well, but they are advertised as twin rooms so that’s to be expected. The chalet was also quite warm (good or bad, depends on the guests), but I’m sure that can be adjusted if you were to ask.

Highlights: Jonny and Sammy’s superb hosting; secret recipe Vin Chaud; Good location next to the slopes and lifts.
Downsides: ???

The best Chalet in La Plagne? Probably.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had a fantastic week in Challet Trolles whre the whole challet was booked out by our group. Excellent hosts - thank you so much to Sammy and Jonny! They made us all feel very welcome particulary as our flight was late and we arrived late at night. Food was delicious, varied menu served same time each night, very efficient, amazing Vin Chaud. They fixed the Sauna whish was much needed in the latter part of the week. The Challet itself is in a great location aprox 200 / 300 meters to the lift and lesson meeting point. Very cosy :-) great place X MD

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

this chalet is lovely! the hosts made our holiday fantastic, johnny and sammy are two wonderful chalet hosts who are charming to talk to and all the bit professional.

we arrived for a week in mid January and was a bit bemused by the chalet being behind a bar? but no noise wot soever all week from inside the chalet.

positives of the week:
1) johnny's mulled wine (vin chaud)
2) beautiful cakes and fantastic food all week
3) warm spacious lounge area, the group we where with were all very entertaining
4) 3 mins from pistes and bus service around la plagne
5) Mark the rep was charming and very knowledgeable about the resort and helped us feel welcome, looked after and very relaxed knowing everything was getting sorted.

negatives of the week:
1) the rooms are nice but they are all on mezzanines, looks nice and leaves space for you luggage below but getting down in the morning can be a bit tricky.

all in all a fantastic week, the staff made this holiday johnny, sammy, and mark!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlandsuk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I have just stayed in La Plagne and had a fantastic week, massive thanks to Sammy and Jonny the chalet hosts who were amazing and looked after us extremely well, definately the best chalet hosts I've ever had!! I have stayed in this chalet a number of times as it is in a great location (La Plagne 1800), very close to the slopes and next door to a lovely bar called La Mine, despite this you can't hear any noise from the bar inside the chalet. The rooms are big, the common area is spacious and comfortable and the food was excellent!!!
K&D

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chalet Trolles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Trolles

Address: Plagne 1800, Macot-la-Plagne, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Macot-la-Plagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Also Known As:
Chalet Trolles Hotel Macot-La-Plagne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Trolles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chalet Trolles to your Saves list